We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Weekend Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montagu Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Montagu Country Hotel to your Saves list
Montagu Country Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Bath & Kohler Street | Central, Montagu 6720, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Winter Weekend Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were three friends who wanted a relaxing weekend away. The Montagu Country Hotel was everything we had imagined and more! My room was clean, comfortable and with everything that I needed. The staff were friendly, efficient and the food was excellent. The hotel itself is absolutely delightful with gorgeous Art Deco furniture. The pianist who played at various times in the dining room was wonderful and created a lovely atmosphere. All in all, a lovely, lovely experience and I would go back any day!

Room Tip: Our rooms were in the indoor area which was very quiet. Some of the rooms in the main hotel are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Shotofhealth

Thank you for the great review. I can see that you had a great time here with us. Spending time with friends is special, and we're glad we could add to your experience.

Hope to see all of you again soon,

Kind regards

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    70
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
48
106
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were nearing the end of our hoiday in South Africa and we chose Route 66 as a pleasant amble back to Cape Town what a pleasant surprise , we had nothing planned and were able to get a room in the Montagu Counttru Hotel, the accommodation was lovely , dark old wooden furniture, almost french in style , lovely bathroom and a small enclosed terrace completely private, whilst the hotel is somewhat dated and is littered with 60,s memorabilia, we had such an excellent welcome, the staff were astounding, all the staff loved their jobs and it showed, we ate in the hotel and whilst the food was okay, not great in the evening, but the breakfast was super. W would recommend this hotel and intend to return next year

Room Tip: Garden rooms behind the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear margeland

We are glad you ended up staying with us, and that you enjoyed your stay so much. Our whole idea is to offer an experience different to what you would find at the next hotel, and the Art Deco angle goes a long way to achieve this.

Route 62 is a must when visiting South Africa, and Montagu is locally right in the centre, halfway between Cape Town and the Garden Route.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to South Africa.

Safe travels,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Montagu Country Hotel for a weekend winter getaway. We loved this charming hotel with its very friendly and helpful staff!! The hotel and its people are full of charater, the breaksfasts are divine and so was our dinner in the dining room.
Our room was spacious and well equiped. We loved the hot mineral roman bath, a real must on a cold winter's night.

We throughly enjoyed our stay and left Montague after 2 days feeling like we've had a months holiday. Thanks to all at Montague Country Hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Lizelle W

Thank your the great review. I can see you had great time here, this is what we would like to offer all our guests. Montagu is a destination for all seasons, you should come in spring and see all the blossoms in our garden and on the fruit farms.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

A welcome stop on a 12 day cycle from Port Elizabeth. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make the stay a memorable one. I'd like to commend the reception staff. Thank you for making that extra effort. The pianist gives his best :-)
Breakfast is always plenty and what a please to sit outside during summer.

Thank you and I'm sure to be back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Trenga-Steve

Thank you for the review. Montagu is becoming very popular with mountain and road cyclists, and the hotel aim to be cycle friendly. We have safe storage for the bikes, have a wash area, and can also help with route planning.

Stay fit, we look forward to your next visit.

Regards

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuilsriver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is much, much more than just a hotel - it's an experience of style, charm and romance. The owner and management deserve a medal for creating such a jewel in the countryside (platteland). If you want attention to detail, you cannot drive pass the Montagu Country Hotel. (And what a garden!)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear marius

Thank you the very flattering review - it's a team effort here at the hotel, and we are glad you appreciate our efforts.

We look forward to welcome you back soon, Cape Town is only a short drive!

Safe travels,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We received excellent service from the staff. The rooms and the hotel in general, are beautifully decorated. It is like stepping into another era - romantic and very stylish. In addition to the lovely accommodation, we also wish to extend our complements to the Montagu Country Hotel for the exquisite, well kept gardens. It is truly a haven of tranquility. We would certainly would wish to return in future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear 9Frans

Thank you for the great review! I'll be sure to pass on your compliments to the staff.
We are very proud of our garden, and look forward to spring and summer when it comes to it's best.

We look forward to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have been visited this hotel for a couple of years now and this hotel is still 'home from home'.
The hotel staff are really the best! The food and rooms are excellent.

Do not pass Montagu without a visit to this beautiful gem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear SouthafricaSmith

Thank you for the great review!

We are always happy to welcome back regular guests. We are busy with extensive renovations at the hotel, should be finished by August, I'm sure you'll approve when you visit us again.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montagu Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Country Hotel

Address: Cnr Bath & Kohler Street | Central, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montagu Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only original Art Deco hotel in SA. 33 bedrooms, 3&4 star graded. Restaurant serving traditional cuisine. Modern Conference facilities, Wellness centre, Wedding packages. Classical car trips to Robertson Wine Route. Situated halfway between Cape Town and the Garden Route on historical Route 62. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Montagu Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montagu Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.