We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coolest hotel in south africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montagu Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Montagu Country Hotel to your Saves list
Montagu Country Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Bath & Kohler Street | Central, Montagu 6720, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“coolest hotel in south africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

A fantastic hotel and very welcoming owner. The hotel is all art deco and very well done indeed. The food (especially the home made bread) is wonderful. Well worth visiting and also asking to check out the owners american car collection.

Room Tip: The 'african hut' is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear LumberjackUk

Thank you for the review, I’m glad you had a good time at the hotel. The “American Dream Car” concept is becoming very popular, and we enjoy showcasing our beautiful area using the old-timers.

We wish you and your family a blessed festive season.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    70
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
48
106
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a hotel which was built in the late nineteenth century and has the charm of years gone by.
Several rooms have been renovated and the owner is in the process of refurbishing the whole hotel - step by step. The public rooms are comfortably furnished and the service excellent.

The cuisine at the hotel is known to be the best in Montagu and the diningroom is cosy but can cater for large groups.

The patio and garden is lush with greenery and there are flowers everywhere. The pool is inviting and this is a lovely area where one can relax and have a drink. A delicious "cold platter" can be ordered outside on the patio (at a reasonable cost) and enjoyed together with local wines about which the owner, Gert, is knowledgeable and will be happy to advise.

Gert loves Classic Cars and will take you on a trip down Memory Lane in his beautifully maintained American 1956 De Soto. A visit to the nearby winelands is a must and the scenery alongside spectacular mountains, rivers, lakes and vineyards is an unforgettable experience.

The route from Cape Town via Montagu and Oudtshoorn, alongside the Langeberg Mountains and Northwards towards Colesberg is known as South Africa's Sunshine Route where you can be assured of warm hospitality, good weather and excellent food.

Room Tip: Request one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear TouristGuide

Thank you for a great review on the hotel. As a tourist guide, you are obviously well travelled, making your review so much more special to us.

We wish you a blessed festive season, and look forward to welcome you back in Montagu.

Kind regards

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here one night recently. We had a comfortable stay and the hotel is in a great location but it certainly wasn't our favourite hotel in South Africa.

The art deco theme was unique and fun but at times the hotel just felt dated. The air conditioning unit was very old, the windows single glazed and the room had no fridge. We also had two single beds pushed together after requesting a double room.

Staff were friendly and the breakfast was good but again the instrumental Lionel Richie music playing in the background just made the hotel feel dated rather than art deco!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Alex H

Thank you for the review, I’m glad you had a comfortable stay. As you will see from many of our reviews, we are constantly upgrading the hotel to maintain our standard. We have replaced more than 50% of air-conditioning units already, and will continue to do so in the off season. With regards to Lionel Richie music during breakfast, you must have mistaken us for another hotel. Apart from our piano music in the evening, performed by Kosie Hanekom, we play carefully selected music fitting in with our hotel theme.

Kind regards

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Gert, the gregarious owner of this hotel, loves meeting his guests and taking them for tours of the nearby wine estates in his 1954 de Soto called Sorella de Soto. Staying in his art deco hotel reminds one of how country hotels used to be. The furniture and decor have been lovingly collected over many years, Sunday buffet lunch is a unique experience with piano accompaniment and excellent food at a very reasonable price.The two resident dogs and two beautiful cats help to create a welcoming and homely atmosphere. Montagu has some very interesting residents and a weekend just is not long enough to take part in their local activities. We attended the village market on the Saturday, an interesting art exhibition and the pre Christmas church service where the local school choirs and church choir gave an excellent performance.
I cant wait to return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the newly decorated rooms in the main building. The rooms are systematically being improved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Olga L

Thank you for your great review. We all learned from Gert about hospitality and attitude towards our guests, I’m glad you had a good time with him. I’m pleased you see our hotel as how country hotels used to be, that is exactly what we try to offer our guest.

We look forward to welcome you back, and wish you a happy festive season.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

What was so nice about this hotel is its position in the picturesque and clean town of Montagu...the hotel is central to most shops and eateries, so once you have parked your car after a long journey, you don't have to drive to see the village life. Plus ... because the hotel prides itself on being retro, the rooms are beautifully spacious, and quirky with their individual retro furniture. Very comfortable too, and big windows to let the fresh air in. There's a large and pretty courtyard to sit in with lots of cool green vegetation. We spent the afternoon hiking in a private nature reserve and came back too late for dinner and the dining room was closed, but they very obligingly offered us soup and rolls in our room, it was after nine, and a Sunday,and we were very grateful, as they do not have a room service menu. Breakfast was first class!! ..with everything you could desire and good coffee. So all in all a nice , easy stay 'back in time'!!! Thank you Montagu Country Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear vikki b

Always nice to welcome guests from the North of South Africa – we work really hard to market Route 62 as an alternative to the highways, and see more and more South Africans using this route when travelling down to Cape Town. Thank you for the nice review, quite a compliment coming from a Top Contributor.

Wishing you all the best for the festive season, and looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Wonderful hotel loved it and all the art deco features the owner was a really freindly guy, loved the bright orange and long tailed birds on the garden feeders, also the dog. food very good, had best night sleep, peaceful, and enjoed sitting in front of hotel looking along street which was very quite, and drinking the local beer. Wonderful.

Room Tip: all the rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear kyanalbi

Thank you for the nice review on our hotel. The Art Deco is a fun part of what we offer, and the birds in the garden are becoming a big attraction.
We wish you all the best for the festive season, and look forward to welcome you back in Montagu.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel in winter, but I was too ill and had to come home. Very kindly they allowed us to hold over the balance of the break until I was well, which is a perfect example of going the extra mile for the guests. When we recently returned to Montagu all the reception staff remembered us and made us feel at home. Our room was very comfortable, with a HUGE bed (I would not like to turn that mattress) and well appointed bathroom facilities. I am not sure how many people the kitchen thought were going to eat off my plate but there was more than enough food on it, and I had to leave some as we were too well fed. Good room, good food, great atmosphere, wonderful staff and there is lots to do in the area. Yes we will come back.
Few points: someone has mentioned that the rooms only have Free View TV, and PJ has promised they are working on this. Next time we go we will take our own pillows as the hotel's have seen better days, but this is not only this hotel's problem; There should have been shampoo, soap and body lotion in the bathroom. I think most guests expect these now, in this class of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Mervyco

Thank you for the review, we were glad to have you back, and in good health! Glad to hear that you had a good time, and we look forward to welcome you back. As promised, we updated the selection of channels on our TV’s, now offering one extra channel, with more to follow soon. We have Rooibos dispensers in every bathroom with bath and shower gel, and a small bar of soap as well. We replace linen on a continued basis, and I will pay special attention to pillows on our next inspection.

Have a great festive season,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montagu Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Country Hotel

Address: Cnr Bath & Kohler Street | Central, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montagu Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only original Art Deco hotel in SA. 33 bedrooms, 3&4 star graded. Restaurant serving traditional cuisine. Modern Conference facilities, Wellness centre, Wedding packages. Classical car trips to Robertson Wine Route. Situated halfway between Cape Town and the Garden Route on historical Route 62. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montagu Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montagu Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.