We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montagu Vines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Montagu Vines to your Saves list
Montagu Vines
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Tanner street | Montagu West, Montagu 6720, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Monica, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

Charming B&B in Montagu, Ursula & Campbell are wonderful & the facility top-notch. Lovely olive tree garden with a view of the mountains that is just the best (both afternoon & morning light). Great breakfast. We're happy we booked here!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
147
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We were very impressed by the general attention to detail in this B&B - from the beautiful gardens to the well presented breakfast- it was a real treat! The rooms are attractively decorated and comfortable- we found our stay most relaxing and pleasant.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royals. From the welcoming wine on the stoep viewing the mountains and olive trees. Then the resident owls welcomed us as the sun sets. The rooms were modern, spacy and comfortable. We could not ask for more. The breakfast was just as good. A wider television channel selection is the only suggestion.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballitoville, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are huge which is beautifully decorated with top quality mattress and bedding. The gardens are stunning and the property is well maintained. The rooms have wifi with good speed. The view is amazing! The breakfast is of top quality! The owner is very friendly and respect your privacy. In my opinion, Montagu Vines deserves 5 stars!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Montagu Vines was wonderful, a truly lovely place to stay. Arriving at an oasis like this when weary from our travels was just fantastic. We were a family party of 4 visiting SA, and travelling through the Western Cape. Sarah was very helpful and full of information and our hosts were very friendly and welcoming. The accommodation, breakfast, gardens and views were an absolute delight. We will most definitely be back on our next visit to SA.

Room Tip: We had rooms facing the garden and views, which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing accommodation and so clean and luxurious. Especially appreciated after the horrific night we had endured the night before (dirty room and bed and uncouth hosts). We loved the luxury, the gorgeous rooms and the cleanliness. Super breakfast too and peaceful grounds to relax in.

Sarah was fantastic a real asset to the property. She was very helpful, lovely to chat to and very knowledgeable.


If you are in Montagu DON'T THINK ABOUT STAYING ANY WHERE ELSE.

The reviews about this accommodation are reliable and honest unlike others on Montagu and tripadvisor . Look at the number of 'one' reviews on other accommodations - they aren't reliable as we found out. Don't risk it you'll regret it.


Stay here great price and lovely and clean.








Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Montagu Vines for one night on a very brief mini garden route trip from PE to Cape Town.

The setting of this guest house is splendid, fantastic views all around of the mountains and vines.

The room was gorgeous. Luxurious bedding and the bathroom was beautiful.

Sarah greeted us with a complimentary glass of wine on the lawn and gave us restaurant details. This is a really safe area, about 10 min walk to the Main Street (which is not a rocking metropolis!).

Breakfast was fabulous.

Overall a great stay, thoroughly relaxing. We wish we had been able to stay longer and explore more of the area and spend more time drinking on the lawn!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montagu Vines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Vines

Address: 2 Tanner street | Montagu West, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Vines 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montagu Vines is situated in the historic conservation area of Montagu. The main farmhouse was built between 1900 and 1910 and reflects the early Victorian influenced Karoo style farmhouse of that period. The 6 Garden rooms and 3 Farm House Rooms overlook the newly planted Olive Grove and compliment the stately main house. Following the damage to the vines from the floods of November 2008 the vineyard was removed in 2010 and replanted with an olive grove.We offer our guests a taste of old- fashioned comfort and luxury in the town of Montagu on the world famous "Route 62". You can relax in the splash pool set in the tranquil gardens with magnificent old oak and milkwood trees. Alternatively, you could lounge on the lawns enjoying the glorious views of the surrounding mountains whilst sipping a glass of Chenin Blanc. Montagu Vines is just a stroll away from the centre of Montagu with its amenities that cater for all tastes and interests. There are restaurants, bistros, historic churches and tranquil gardens for the visitor to enjoy. Montagu Vines is the perfect place for those intimate weekends, birthdays, and anniversaries or as a stopover whilst discovering "Route 62" and all it has to offer. You may be lucky and see the "resident" owls perched in the old oak tree or meet one of the big tortoises in the vineyard that visit from the adjacent nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Montagu Vines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montagu Vines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.