We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts and place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Bay Guest House and Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Moon Bay Guest House and Villa to your Saves list
Moon Bay Guest House and Villa
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   56 Peak Road, Fish Hoek 7975, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Fish Hoek B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hosts and place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed here early Feb were met by incredibly nice host Tina and later Peter both minds of information about the area put us on to the fantastic harbour house restaurant. Very large and clean rooms with great views , lovely breakfast can't thank them enough for the hospitality we even went to their local bar would definitely stay here again thanks Patrick

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
9
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We just returned from our first trip to Cape Town. We had a wonderful time and really enjoyed Moon Bay. We chose the family unit which consists of the Lions Den and Leopards Liar. We had a small kitchen and a lounge area. It was great to give the kids their own bedroom and bathroom separate from ours. Tina and Peter are wonderful hosts and a great source of information on the area. Moon Bay is in a great location-close to great beaches and wonderful restaurants. It also has breathtaking views. I would highly recommend Moon Bay to singles, couples, and families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Moon Bay Guest House for 4 days. We were upgraded for free to an amazing room with the most beautiful views of the ocean and mountains. Tina cooked us delicious breakfasts every morning, and Peter was a wealth of general knowledge about the area. They both had great reccomendations for sight seeing and restaurants. We loved the personal messages each day :-) The House itself is perfectly located for touring, was immaculate, well lit, and even had a telescope for whale-watching! We will most definitely return!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The views are amazing, in fact stunning. The place itself is immaculate with excellent facilities and very friendly owners.

Tina and Peter complemented each other and could not do enough for us. They phoned and organised Whale and shark trips for us and we had an amazing time as a result. On one day my family took the car to get to Table Mountain, so they could walk up it and I wanted to go and see Whales, so Pete kindly drove me to the boat in Simons Town.

The rooms were excellent, with plenty of room and very comfortable. They had a computer available with internet facilities. They also had a lot of brochures about the local area and many interesting books about south Africa. My son enjoyed playing chess and there were several other games also available.

Each morning we had a different breakfast with plenty of fresh produce. tea and biscuits were to hand all day long. Tina was very helpful and friendly, whilst Pete was very informative, we learnt a great deal about South Africa. Their help and recommendations were excellent and I would love to stay here again.

It was a steep drive to the house but then you would expect that if you want to get the absolutely amazing views of False Bay and Fish Hoek. As other have said I don't think you could get a much better view or a better guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our second visit to Moon Bay and will most definitely not be our last. As soon as we drove up we remembered why we chose to return, apart from the stunning views and the beauty of the guest house it was the warmest of welcomes from two very special people Tina and Peter. It felt like
home from home and we where greated as friends. We stayed in the Elephant Hide a beautiful spacious room with amazing views from the balcony by day and the most memorable skys by night.
Tina and Peter went out of there way to make sure our trip was as good as our first one and it was nothing was too much trouble everything from maps, directions, new places to visit, the best advice on restaurants and for me the best way to get good oysters. It has to be said that breakfast time was delicious choices and variety exceptional nothing could beat Flo`s burgers, not even my own. Could not recommend more highly it's a must, thanks to Tina and Peter`s hospitality, warmth and generosity we had an amazing time and carnt wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed five days at this wonderful luxury B&B i don't know what i can say that has not already been said,if you're staying in Fish Hoek i don't think you will find a better place to stay,Pete and Tina not forgetting flo's attention to detail was just outstanding, flo's breakfasts where to die for, we have stayed in several B&B in South Afica but this was the best,to get yourself a cup of coffee and sit on the balcony with those views from Moon Bay is something i will never forget,i just hope you will be able to experience that moment! it's what holidays are all about, we will be going back very soon, thank you Tina and Peter for the fantastic time we had staying with you, you are both lovely people

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our second visit to Moonbay and was just as good as the first if not better.Peter and Tina are the most delightful people and nothing is too much trouble. They went to great lengths to ensure our visit was a success, sourcing maps and information on places we wanted to visit and giving us the best advice. The accommodation is first class and the views stunning. Their warmth and generosity made our visit very special (again) and we hope to go back as soon as possible.Special mention on the breakfasts - superb- As we were staying for five nights, Tina,ensured we had a variety of options available,something we did not encounter at the other places we stayed, Flo's beefburgers were mouthwatering-Unreserved recommendation!

Room Tip: book sea view room - you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moon Bay Guest House and Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Bay Guest House and Villa

Address: 56 Peak Road, Fish Hoek 7975, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fish Hoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Hoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moon Bay Guest House and Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a nature setting exactly mid way between Cape Town City Centre and The Cape Point being at the centre of all the Cape attractions. It boasts 4 star and Superior graded accommodation with 6 bedrooms available as an exclusive Villa, or as 2 and 4 bedroom self-catering units. Plus B&B or room only options for individual rooms. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, some with private balconies and others with patios. There is a sparkling Pool and a covered entertainment area outside with a built-in barbecue (Braai). There is a Gourmet Kitchen, plus a second kitchen in the 2 bedroom self-catering unit, plus a laundry room and 2 lounges and a dining room all with configurable furniture allowing you to set the rooms as you wish. There are amazing 180 degree panoramic views of seas' and the mountains of the Table Mountain National Park which can be viewed on the many balconies, patio's or next to the Pool Terrace. With quality linen, towels and decor and lots of special touches it will make your visit to The Cape most memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, T4B and Booking.com so you can book your Moon Bay Guest House and Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Bay Guest House And Villa Fish Hoek, South Africa - Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Bay Guest House and Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.