We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exelent venue, Highly recomended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Bay Guest House and Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Moon Bay Guest House and Villa to your Saves list
Moon Bay Guest House and Villa
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   56 Peak Road, Fish Hoek 7975, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Fish Hoek B&B and Inns
Middlesbrough England U.K.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exelent venue, Highly recomended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We have just returned home from a months vacation in South Africa, spending the last ten days at Moon Bay guest house in Fish Hoek, what a fablous ending to a great holiday ,the icing on the cake.
Having stayed there before, we can not recomend a better place to stay, if you are ever visiting the Cape Area. Fantastic venue with stunning views,spotlessly clean house,wonderful food ,and drink if required, hosting skills second to none,perfectly situated for visiting any of the great places that the Cape has to offer.
Peter and Tina Davies are two of the nicest people you could ever wish to meet, their hospitalilty is second to none, you meet them as hosts, you leave tham as life long friends.
Don't take my word for it,give tham a try yourselves, then post your review, I bet I know how it will read.

Joseh and Mary Matthews
North Yorkshire
England

Room Tip: All the rooms here are fabulous ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
10
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

If planning to visit the Cape Town area, treat yourself to the most relaxing stay you could imagine at the Moon Bay Guest House in Fish Hoek.We had a fantastic stay here;- superb spacious bedrooms with magnificent views of the area from the balcony. The rest of the house is just as fabulous. We opted to have our breakfast provided - what a wise decision that was- they were great! and Gluten Free friendly. Added to this was the friendly welcome we received from Pete & Tina, nothing was too much trouble for them, they were full of great ideas and information as to how to get the best out of our stay. They even did a barbeque for us - brilliant!! We have no hesitation whatsoever in thoroughly recommending Moon Bay as the ideal base for visiting so many wonderful places.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We decided to start our holiday off in Fish Hoek before travelling along the Eastern Cape and we're so glad we did.When we arrived at Moon Bay we we're delighted to see that it actually exceeded the great reviews i had read which,after staying in many guest houses over the years made a welcome change.The views are so lovely we often stayed in for dinner and make use of the fantastic facilities.Peter and Tina are the owners and extremely hospitable,nothing was too much trouble.Because of Peters knowledge not only of the local area but of Cape Town all over, the good tips he gave us meant we saw a lot more of the area than we would have done by ourselves.The area is so laid back and casual, with an abundance of good eateries to suit all palate's and pockets.We would recommend Harbour House and the Olympia Cafe.A visit to Boulders Beach is a must.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We had a wonderful stay with Peter and Tina and they were so kind and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Peter gave us some very useful tips on places we visited which we would not have known otherwise. The views from the Guest House are stunning and the rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable. We would thoroughly recommend a stay and if we return to Fish Hoek we would definitely make a return visit.
Frank & June Riley
Wales UK

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

The stay in this guest house was excellent. The facilities outstanding and the willingness of the owners to help in any way possible went above and beyond what can usually be expected from hosts. It's an excellent base from which to explore the region, but also a place where you could happily just relax and watch the sea, the mountains and the world around.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Moonbay is a delightful, modern , airy house in a lofty and spectacular setting. All the rooms are very large with TV and stylish ensuite bathrooms.Available as a whole as well as in part.The main lounge with kitchen off is beautifully furnished .Designed with places to sit collectively or separately. The house is beautifully clean and well maintained.
The kitchen/ dining room allows guests and hosts to chat while a breakfast of your choice is prepared. Peter and Tina could'nt do enough to make our stay as easy as possible. They will book restaurants , taxis, transfers and tickets should you wish.
We stayed for a short time only but using the services of a cheerful and resourceful driver, Jeff, (on Tina's recommendation) we really made the most of The Cape area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at the moon bay guest house for one week in July during the world cup and I must say the place is amazing. Tina and Peter the landlords are fantastic hosts and the place is simply stunning. It overlooks both the Indian and Atlantic oceans!! It is spacious, clean and very conveniently situated if you want to explore the cape town area. It is very close to Simon's town from which the seal island trips leave and where you can spot the great white sharks, also very close to Kalk's bay which has amazing restaurants and not too far away from the Atlantic coast (camps bay..etc) and cape town itself. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moon Bay Guest House and Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Bay Guest House and Villa

Address: 56 Peak Road, Fish Hoek 7975, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fish Hoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Hoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moon Bay Guest House and Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a nature setting exactly mid way between Cape Town City Centre and The Cape Point being at the centre of all the Cape attractions. It boasts 4 star and Superior graded accommodation with 6 bedrooms available as an exclusive Villa, or as 2 and 4 bedroom self-catering units. Plus B&B or room only options for individual rooms. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, some with private balconies and others with patios. There is a sparkling Pool and a covered entertainment area outside with a built-in barbecue (Braai). There is a Gourmet Kitchen, plus a second kitchen in the 2 bedroom self-catering unit, plus a laundry room and 2 lounges and a dining room all with configurable furniture allowing you to set the rooms as you wish. There are amazing 180 degree panoramic views of seas' and the mountains of the Table Mountain National Park which can be viewed on the many balconies, patio's or next to the Pool Terrace. With quality linen, towels and decor and lots of special touches it will make your visit to The Cape most memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moon Bay Guest House and Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Bay Guest House And Villa Fish Hoek, South Africa - Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Bay Guest House and Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.