We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunvegan Lodge

Dunvegan Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dunvegan Lodge to your Saves list
Dunvegan Lodge
106 Clovelly road,, Fish Hoek 7975, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Excellent base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 nights at Dunvegan Lodge. Sylvia and Peter are perfect hosts and we felt very much at home here. The Lodge nestles on the hillside looking across the valley towards Fish Hoek but has the major advantage of being well away from the busy and noisy main road. Directly above the lodge is the Silvermine Nature Reserve, giving great opportunities for balcony birdwatching. In fact it's a perfect base from which to explore the whole Cape peninsula, from Cape Point and Boulders Beach to Cape Town Waterfront or Table Mountain.

The 2-bedroom African Attic was ideal for the three of us - very spacious, comfortable and well-equipped for those who want to self-cater. We opted for cooked breakfasts which were lovely and gave us the opportunity to tap into Sylvia and Peter's extensive knowledge of the area, and be entertained by Jenna the talking golden retriever. There are lots of places to eat out in Kalk Bay (we enjoyed the eclectic Cape to Cuba) and Fish Hoek (we loved Bhandaris, probably the most authentic Indian food we have had outside India). Special mention too for the excellent secondhand bookshop in Fish Hoek which Sylvia recommended - a great place to stock up on reading material mid-trip.

Many thanks to Sylvia and Peter for making us feel so welcome (and to Beauty for doing our laundry). We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
12
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we found our selves in an amazing place. warm hospitality, rarely seen in places like these. the owners are nice people. helping in everything.
the rooms are large, comfort and chip (relative to their size and equipment).
we recommend it as one of the best places to sleep in south africa

Or and Yael jupiter

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witsand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We arrived after a long drive from Witsand to be welcomed with coffee by the hosts Pete and Sylvia who did their utmost to make us feel welcome. The full carpeted 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit was well equipped, extremely clean and well maintained with 2 air conditioners and electric blankets. My wife especially enjoyed the large corner bath. The unit overlooks the Silvermine Nature reserve. We were very lucky as the fynbos just went into full flower. Dunvegan Lodge is situated close to a lot of restaurants and the Clovelly golf club.
We also saw some whales in the bay and enjoyed dinner at a nearby restaurant called Dixies in Simons town. The calamari stake just melted in my mouth.

We were pleasantly surprised and will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Having stayed at Dunvegan before, I brought a party of 16 golfers to Cape Town, and took over the whole Lodge. Accommodation was excellent - all rooms are en-suite and have catering facilities. There are plenty of roomy public rooms, and the dining area could seat all 16 of us. We could cater for everyone in the main kitchen, or we could use the BBQs on the terrace. The views are superb, the area is very quiet, and the location is ideal for exploring the Cape area. For the athletic, the Lodge opens out onto a hill which has stunning views over the sea. There are several walking/running routes from the lodge. The staff are great, with an excellent laundry service. I definitely recommend the Lodge for large or smal groups.

Room Tip: The suites over the garage are outside the main house, but have superb sundecks. The best views are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We found the Dunvegan Lodge on travelling on our last day in Cape Town.....What a pity, as we could have stayed here for a week.
What lovely friendly people Sylvia and Peter were, and so helpful,

We will go back again when in Cape Town.
Thank you to all.

Anne and Rob from UK

Room Tip: We had the cottage above the Garage, it was good ...no noise at all and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoersholm, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We enjoyed every minute at Donvegan Lodge.
Fantastic service from Sylvia and Peter. If we were hungry, they fixed bread butter and cheese.
Wonderful room with view over the golf course
Good value for money.
We shall come back for sure.
Karin & Ole from Denmark.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

It was our second visit at Dunvegan Lodge. And like the first time it was fantastic. The rooms are clean, spacious and the view is in one word : AMAZING!!!! Beautiful sunsets overlooking the valley and golfcourse. Peter and Silvia are a great couple who make you feel welcome and at home. They are very helpful in finding the right restaurant or to plan the right daytrip.
The pool and jacuzzi are a welcome distraction after a long hike, game of golf or daytrip. Once again we actually felt sad to leave and we definitely will come back.....

Room Tip: They even have a family room, ideal for those travelling with children. The poolroom and bayroom hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunvegan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunvegan Lodge

Address: 106 Clovelly road,, Fish Hoek 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fish Hoek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Fish Hoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunvegan Lodge guest house is set up on the Clovelly mountain,with views overlooking Clovelly golf course and Fish Hoek Valley. The Lodge offers full B&B, self-catering or the entire 8 bedroomed lodge as a self-catering villa for large groups.Solar heated Pool and Jacuzzi in lovely garden. All bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms and have TVs. Close to the beach and Golf course. Centrally situated to all tourist attractions. be in the country but still have all the city attractions at your doorstep. Golf course rated 48th in South Africa at one end of road and Clovelly beach at other end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dunvegan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunvegan Lodge Fish Hoek, South Africa - Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunvegan Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.