We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious property, friendly service, excellent all-around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Toiny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Toiny to your Saves list
Hotel Le Toiny
Anse de Toiny, Toiny 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toiny
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“luxurious property, friendly service, excellent all-around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

we loved our time at le toiny! our 1 bdrm villa suite was spacious and private, the hotel's food was universally delicious - we especially loved having breakfast delivered/set up on the patio of plunge pool, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. we traveled with our small dog, and the hotel went out of their way to make things welcoming not only for us, but also for our pet. highly recommend this delightful property.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyDagmar, General Manager at Hotel Le Toiny, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the food and having breakfast each morning by your private pool overlooking the ocean.

It is always a great pleasure to welcome a dog to Hotel Le Toiny as we understand that they are a part of your family. It is essential to us that they experience a warm welcome and are happy during their visit as well!

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome all of you back soon!

Kind regards,
Guy Lombard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
99
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We went at the Toiny for the "St.barth summer session ".we saw Adam Lasher and Greta Karen(absolutely gorgeous and talented).The show was pretty cool and Adam plays some original great songs.
The villa number 16 is well situated and wide open In front of the Bay .
The junior suite villa number 17 is perfect for young adults who like to gently party late at night without disturbing the other guest..'cause this is the far West last villa with no neigbours near around.The special menu at the restaurant was teasty with attractive appearance.The staff offers personalized and helpful services to us.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyDagmar, General Manager at Hotel Le Toiny, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the St. Barth Summer Session. It is always a treat to host one of the events and we had great feedback this year on Adam Lasher and Greta Karen.

Thank you for your valuable insights and taking the time to leave a review.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I really looked forward to staying at Hotel Le Toiny! This Hotel has a elegant Caribbean charm. It reminded me of a house now turned in to a Hotel. This is a boutique Hotel with a small Bar and lounge. The hotel dinning room is laid out well with most of the tables situated poolside over looking the Caribbean Sea. By day this is a beautiful view. However, by night the view is diminished due to the distance from the Hotel to the sea and it is naturally dark unless there is a full moon. At night the pool is actually more interesting to look at because of the colored lights in the pool. I would recommend that the main pool light at least change colors as they do in the Villas Suites. Come on for $800.00 a night why not! I stayed in Villa junior Suite. The Villa Suite is elegant and clean, very well maintained. The bath room and kitchen bar need to be up graded. The old French style has its charm, but it would be nice to bathe in the 21st century. What stuck with me most about the Villa Junior Suite is the most important part of any place I have ever traveled. "THE BED" During the villa orientation the bed looked great! However, their was no mention that the BED is actually two twin beds pushed together!!! Most hotels or Villas I have stayed always took great pride in the type of mattress bedding they provided. I don't understand how a hotel can't understand to provide this basic amenity! The Villa Junior Suite has so much to offer why stop on a bad bed. I was here in late August and the weather here on this side of the island is hot and humid. There is very little wind that makes to our Villa or the Hotel resturant at night. This type of weather also provides an environment for lots of Mosquitos. The Villa back yard area is so nice but we were unable to stay out side due to the amount of Mosquitos. The mosquito coils were ineffective. So we used the beautiful pool dried off and went inside. We considered going to the beach but its a long walk through infested Mosquitos area. I am not not trying to be negative but I have been traveling most of the world for 30 years. The Hotel Staff provides excellent service and try's to be as friendly as possible. The resturant Le Gaiac, provides excellent service with a attentive staff. The menu is good and so is the food. I was hoping for something more creative or surprising. I think the the food is good here as long as you just eat here. This way you will not know what you are missing. I could not stay here more and a few days unless it was my Honeymoon and a 5 days would be enough. Caribbean Luxury??? It is but their is much more to it than just being in Saint-Barthelemy! I also left my travel flash light in the room and no attempt was made to return it to me. I hope this helps!

Room Tip: Villa 2 is one of the most private! Take plenty of mosquito spray!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyDagmar, General Manager at Hotel Le Toiny, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

We always appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was.

Your comments were passed along to our staff as we greatly value your insights. We have already taken action on many of your suggestions as it is truly important to us that our guests enjoy their stay.

We were happy that you enjoyed the service as well as the food. We change our menu three times a year to keep it updated and interesting so hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Guy Lombard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I loved Hotel Le Toiny. Each room has its own pool, it is immaculately clean, the staff is wonderful, and on a small island like St Barths everything is no more than 10 minutes away. It is extremely romantic and definitely made for couples. If you are looking for fun with friends, by the pool, music and energy, this is not the place and you will be disappointed. St Barts has many beautiful places like that. This is more of a couples in their villas, kind of resort. The pool in each room is a great size as well. Ive been to resorts where its much smaller. I would definitely come back with my husband but wouldn't come with girlfriends, there is no scene. Also the beach is private, we had it completely to ourselves because Le Toiny has its own private beach accessed through a private road and it is not a big resort where you will be bumping into people. There are no amenities at the beach, you pack your own drinks and towels. We loved it.

Room Tip: If you have the American Express Platinum card they ran a promotion where I received a room upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyDagmar, General Manager at Hotel Le Toiny, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your husband back to Hotel Le Toiny in the near future.

Kind regards,
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorville, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The setting is spectacular,grounds are kept immaculate and the privacy is unsurpassed.This July was our 10th visit to St. Barths and second to Hotel Le Toiny. The suite and pool were kept spotless at all times. Most important was the staff, and especially, the management, which is the most helpful and friendly we have met yet. Love this place and will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyDagmar, General Manager at Hotel Le Toiny, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and positive feedback.

I have passed along your comments to the staff who always appreciate encouraging words from our finest guests.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Guy Lombard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a beautfiul hotel, very small and intimate with great self-contained bungalow type rooms. For me, I could not spend my whole visit to SB here, but we stayed for a few nights at the end of a week visit to SB and it was the perfect way too end our trip- relaxing, peaceful, beautiful and great service. The rooms are beautiful, simple but very well done. I think the bathrooms will need a redo shortly, but overall the rooms are great with a huge living room and wonderful outdooor space and private pool (really a real pool and not a plunge pool). The only strange thing is that the bed is two twin beds pushed together and made up like a king bed. When hotels do that, at least my wife and I, end up sleeping a mile apart from each other because you can feel the crack between the beds if you get towards the middle. It just seemed strange that a hotel like this would not have a wonderful king-sized bed with a great mattres.

The food is excellent. We only ate lunch and dinner there once but lunch is fantastic and our dinner was, simply, unforgettable. It is a meal that I will never forget. The food was amazing, the service wonderful, the view spectacular. Quite simply, one of the best and most memorable meels I have ever eaten.

One tip- probably worth bringing some bug spray as it can get a big buggy at dusk.

For those who don't know, Le Toiny is probably 15 minutes away from the action (Gustavia, St. Jean etc) but the drive never really bothered us, althoguh we did not do it late at night and imagine that could be challenging. But, the side of the island where Le Toiny is, is spectacular. Almost deserted, very rugged and beautiful. You don't feel like you are in the Caribbean at all. Even if you don't stay at Le Toiny, you must drive out to that side of the island.

Overall, we loved the hotel and I think it ranks with some of the best in the world and we look forward to our next getaway there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyDagmar, General Manager at Hotel Le Toiny, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your trip to St. Barth and your time with us here at Hotel Le Toiny.

Thank you for your review and your kind comments. We have passed them on to our restaurant staff and the chef.

We are pleased to tell you that we are beginning our hotel renovations on our bathrooms this September during our annual closure.

On your return, please let us know when booking and we would be more than happy to ensure that you are in a room with a King bed with one mattress.

Thank you for your valuable comments and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

Guy Lombard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife & I came to Hotel Le Toiny to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. The management was very gracious in every way. The staff was cordial and efficient. The food was excellent and the promptness in service was remarkable. While some mention was made about Le Toiny having a beach, it is not the sunbathing sort. Too much current and no sand. If you chose to stay on property for the day, hang by the pool, the one at your villa ( it's more private ). If you're inclined to venture out to a sunbathing beach, our votes would be Flamands, Shell & St Jean. While all the beaches are nice, we like the availability of lunch & drink options, so these are our favorites. Also, when given the option between a Smart car rental and a donkey, take the donkey! No matter how cute the Smart car is, you'll regret it for the lack of power going up those twisting turns. The Mini looked like a better choice. We would also recommend the experience of shopping at the local supermarket. Some very unique items! If you get any rental car, and plan on filling it up on Sunday with the intention of returning it that night, keep in mind that the gas stations close on Sunday and only allow self serve with a credit card with a PIN ( no AMEX) But, back to Le Toiny. Take the hike up the mountain for the view and the chance to see the goats that you can hear from your villa. Get a spa treatment. Very relaxing. Eat at the hotels' restaurant. The food and service are great! If I were to suggest anything to the people who run the resort, it would be to offer some direction as to gratuities. We were always under the impression that most european resorts were gratuity included, yet it seemed that when asked, we were told that wasn't the case. A standardized policy available upon request would allow us to tip without feeling like we were "overtipping" and to prevent us from not tipping when the person providing the service is obviously expecting something. That having been said, we probably over tipped, but never felt pressured to do so.
Again, this is a resort to be visited. I doubt that there is better in the islands!

Room Tip: All villas are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyDagmar, General Manager at Hotel Le Toiny, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Happy 20th Anniversary!!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here in St. Barth.

Thank you for for your insightful comments and detailed review.

It is always tricky choosing a car in St. Barth because the roads are narrow and any type of large car isn't practical with this in mind we typically recommend the Smart Car or the Mini. I think on your next visit you should try the Mini which is a convertible and always great fun.

Tipping is a challenge as you travel because different areas have different policies and expectations. At Hotel Le Toiny we follow a French system where service is not included in the bill and it is left to the guests discretion. Gratuities are not expected but are always welcomed and appreciated.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Wishing you many more years of happiness together.

Congratulations,

Guy Lombard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Toiny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Toiny

Address: Anse de Toiny, Toiny 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Toiny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toiny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy and exclusivity have been the defining characteristics of Hôtel Le Toiny. The 15 pastel-colored bungalows, called Villa Suites, are set on a gentle slope overlooking an island lagoon and the Caribbean Sea. From luxurious interior accommodations decorated in a fresh, vibrant French Colonial style, guests can step from any one of their three glass bay doors and be immediately on their outdoor patio, complete with a private swimming pool and patio furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Toiny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Toiny Hotel
Le Toiny St Barthélemy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Toiny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.