We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Toiny

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Toiny to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Toiny
Anse de Toiny, Toiny 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toiny
New Albany, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I recently spent time in the Caribbean. Originally we had planned on spending our entire vacation on the island of Anguilla. During the planning phase we were looking at a map. My husband had already visited St Maarten. We were eager to see places neither of have ever been. St Bart is in such close proximity to Anguilla that it seemed a shame not to spend at least a little time there. I looked on Trip Advisor and Relais & Chateauxs' websites, at the photos, the descriptions and the reviews of Hotel Le Toiny. From the moment we arrived at the airport we were absolutely dazzled. A really knowledgable and warm gentleman named David met out flight and drove us to the resort. On our drive there he gave us a great deal of information about the island - places we might want to go, advice for driving around the island and a bit about local customs. Upon arrival we were immediately greeted by management and a concierge. They immediately offered us cool drinks and a seat in a beautiful room where we were invited to share our wish list of things to do. They arranged to have our rental car dropped off at our door and within just a few minutes more they were off making all of our dreams a reality and we were seated on the terrace of Le Gaiac looking out on what has to be one of the most stunning views on the island! The food is nothing short of exquisite. After lunch we were escorted to our 1 bedroom suite/villa that was simply stunning!! It was very private and quiet and filled with everything you could possibly hope for and then some. The suite is complete with a fully furnished and very comfortable and attractive living area, a small wet bar/kitchen area, well lit work space complete with a desk and internet access. The canopied bed and furnishings were gorgeous and romantic. The bathroom suite is huge as is the closet. My husband and I have always owned homes in big cities where an apartment is the size of a postage stamp and this villa was easily 4 times the size of our first apartments as young professionals starting out many years ago! One of the really unique design details were the wood ceilings with soft lighting built into them. As if all this was not enough, the icing on the cake is the fact that every room in the villa opens up onto a huge terrace where we had our own table and chairs for dining, lounge chairs for sunning with an umbrella, additional chairs and tables for entertaining guests an outdoor shower and our very own infinity pool facing the same magnificent view we enjoyed at Le Gaiac. The hotel provided a raft for our pool, snorkeling equipment for beach excursions, beach bags, beach chairs and a long list of amenities too long to list in this review. We could be prefectly happy there for a long, long time. Hotel Le Toiny is so good at what they do, the staff is so magnificent....that it all seems to happen effortlessly! I have never stayed in a more beautiful, peaceful place and I have never felt more relaxed or refreshed. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer! From the moment David met us at the airport until the moment he dropped us off and we said our goodbyes, everything about our stay with Hotel Le Toiny was flawless. Our next trip to Hotel Le Toiny will be for a much longer stay! This was hands down the most romantic place my husband and I have ever been. It is also the most well managed and beautifully maintainted property we have ever stayed at. I highly recommend this to anyone who comes to St Barts for a visit. It is truly the one place on my bucket list I want to see over and over! I want to not that due to our short stay we never made it to the spa. We won't make that mistake the next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyDagmar, General Manager at Hotel Le Toiny, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you having taken the time to post your well detailed review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you noticed all these small things which makes the difference. I have shared this morning your experience to all our team and thank them for their fantastic job. We look forward to welcome you again in our wunderfull island.

Best regards

Guy Lombard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
99
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Amazing hotel with great staff. We spent our honeymoon there and it could not have been more fabulous. We had our bungalow with a private plunge pool with stunning views. St. Barts has several jewels in its crown as far as hotels go, and this hotel definitely ranks at the top.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyDagmar, General Manager at Hotel Le Toiny, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guests,

Merci beaucoup for your really nice review, and Again congratulation for your wedding, we are always very happy and proud that so many guests choose Le Toiny for their honeymoon.
I wish you all the best for your future and just enjoy your life.

Kind regards from all our team

Guy Lombard
Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Le Toiny last week and it was just a wonderful experience. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and pampered. The room was spacious and the private pool was a delight. We ate at Le Gaiac and the food was exquisite. In fact, we thought that the restaurant was the best on the island We appreciated the free wifi and the attention to privacy--we were asked what time we wanted maid service and whether we wanted the pool man to come in each morning.

We found that the hotel had improved a great deal since we had been there last (two years ago) and were impressed.

When going to St. Barths it is necessary to have a car. The staff will be pleased to arrange one. Get a little car--you'll feel much safer on the narrow roads and it's easier to park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyDagmar, General Manager at Hotel Le Toiny, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind review, it is always great to receive feedback after a second stay and especially when your mention that our service has improved since last time. I will share your comments to the team and to Pierre our M’D as well Stephane our Chef. We look forward to welcome you at le Toiny again.

Kind regards

Guy Lombard
Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I just returned from an eleven night stay at Le Toiny and we felt it ranked with the best properties we have ever visited.
We are accustomed to staying at Five Star hotels and the service and food at Le Toiny compares with the best we have ever visited, especially if you like Crepe Suzettes.
The staff could not have been more helpful or more pleasant and this is a Property that seriously takes the fact that it is a member of Relais & Chateau.
If you are looking for privacy, excellent accommodations and food with terrific service, this is a great place to stay.
Roz and Bud Siegel

Room Tip: We were in Room 3 and it was a lovely suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyDagmar, General Manager at Hotel Le Toiny, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Siegel,

Thank you so much for you nice review. We are glad you had enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your kind words towards Relais & Chateaux. If I can remember, the 1st Crepes suzettes have been a bit dry, so Pierre our M'D was very happy to prepare them a second time. Great, we hope we will have the pleasure to serve you Crepes Suzettes in the future again.

Kind regards from all our team

Guy & Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

we recently returned from an amazing few days at Hotel LeToiny
We were met at the airport by David who couldn't have been nicer, and that was the start of a splendid vacation.
Every member of the team was helpful, friendly and very professional.
Dagmar and Guy the hotel managers were charming, friendly and very professional.
The Villa we stayed in was magical, overlooking the ocean, with total privacy, a huge living room, seperate bedroom with large bathroom. Our terrace was very large, with our own pool, chaises, dinning table and chairs where we enjoyed several meals,and of course an umbrella.
The villa was beautifully furnished, and very comfortable.
WIFI if perfect there, which made our stay even better, as my husband needed to be able to work.
We loved the fact that the hotel was on the very quiet side of the Island,and yet you were just a short car ride away from all the hubbub and activity of the Island.
If you enjoy hiking this is a perfect spot for you.
Dagmar organised a delightful guide who took us on a very special hike for several hours, showing us an area we would not have ventured to on our own.
We cannot wait to return to this very special hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 5 it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyDagmar, General Manager at Hotel Le Toiny, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are more than happy that you enjoyed your stay in St Barts. I am glad you enjoyed Dagmar's suggestion to visit the island with Hélène, she is a great person and guide. The entire team look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards

Guy & Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We will return to Le Toiny, so it is best to start with that caveat. We agree with most of the wonderful reviews of the overall hotel and the staff and Le Toiny counts as one of the few hotels in the world we would plan to return to regularly.

A few pointers. Now that we have seen and stayed in multiple cottages, we find the cottages BELOW the hotel path/road provide more privacy. You can't control which cottage you get when booking, but there are significant differences in views and privacy, and I would consider asking the staff if you might switch at some point during your stay. They will do their best to accommodate you.

This is a matter of taste, but we found our meal at Le Gaic to be mediocre and won't eat their again. (Our favorite restaurant on the Island is Isola.). Again room service breakfasts were so-so, (relative to the caliber of the hotel.)

Again, these are more observations than complaints, and the hotel and staff deserve the consistent 5 stars it receives. We would place Le Gaic at only 2 or 3 stars for limited menu choices and limited flexibility.

Room Tip: We prefer below the hotel path for even more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyDagmar, General Manager at Hotel Le Toiny, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your review, and thank you for your second visit at Le Toiny, it is always a pleasure for us to see guests coming back. You are right, we do assign rooms according to our planning but we will always do our best to accommodate our guests after their preferences, and we have duly noted that for your next stay you prefer to stay in the lower Villas in order to have the maximum privacy.

I took a special attention to your remarks concerning our restaurant and room service and we will work on this. We do have sometimes very long staying guests, and we understand that after a couples of days the menu might be limited but we are always happy (especially our chef and service team) to prepare your favorite food even if it is not à la Carte.

Thank you gain, and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Le Toiny.

Guy Lombard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

From the moment i was picked up at the airport by David to my greeting from Agnes at the hotel, the entire stay at Le Toiny is one of the most memorable vacations ever...i relaxed, enjoyed the wonderful massages, food, top shelf service, etc....the weather was terrific...the Villa exceptional, the beaches and town were fun...I took a 3 hour Catamarran trip one afternoon that was great...Le Gaiac is truly second to none as far a food and service for sure...I look forward to going back as soon as i can

Room Tip: just relax and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyDagmar, General Manager at Hotel Le Toiny, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Rudy,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted you had a fantastic time in St Barts and at Le Toiny. The entire team look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Guy Lombard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Toiny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Toiny

Address: Anse de Toiny, Toiny 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Toiny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toiny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy and exclusivity have been the defining characteristics of Hôtel Le Toiny. The 15 pastel-colored bungalows, called Villa Suites, are set on a gentle slope overlooking an island lagoon and the Caribbean Sea. From luxurious interior accommodations decorated in a fresh, vibrant French Colonial style, guests can step from any one of their three glass bay doors and be immediately on their outdoor patio, complete with a private swimming pool and patio furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Toiny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Toiny Hotel
Le Toiny St Barthélemy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Toiny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.