We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dubai Al Ain Road | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Stebbing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Five star in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My wife and I visited this resort on the way home from Australia.If ever a resort lived up to its prior billing this is the one. From the moment you arrive you realize that every member of the staff is determined that you enjoy your stay. Not only are the staff genuinely friendly and attentive throughout the hotel but also the guides for the desert experiences (two a day are included in your rate) are well informed, friendly and helpful. The accommodation is excellent ,each suite has its own private pool and a view over the desert. It is designed with an Bedouin ambiance as is the whole hotel. The suites are spacious and comfortable (especially the beds ) and have a large bathroom liberally supplied with Bulgari toiletries.The suites are situated throughout the resort and far enough away from each other to ensure complete privacy .The food , all included in the cost, is excellent. Seeing the arabian oryx and other species of deer in this conservation area and learning more about falconry were memorable experiences not to mention a couple of hair raising drives in the dunes and a slightly uncomfortable ride on a camel.However even if you never go on any of the experiences the beauty of the desert seen at various times of the day especially at sunrise and sunset is memorable in itself. The resort also has an excellent spa. If you are ever in the Dubai area with a few days free go there.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 20 which had an uninterrupted view over the desert
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort and Spa.

We as a team are extremely passionate about our guest experiences and thrive on exceeding expectations. We are pleased to hear of your enjoyable experience at the resort and look forward to contributing towards many more.

We are grateful for your detailed observation and feedback and happy to see your appreciation of our unique destination and all of its elements.

Do visit us again soon and rest assured you will be pampered in luxury once more.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    58
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
83
715
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The food is fantastic.The staff was friendly and very accommodating a real pleasure to find this amazing place. Is the perfect choice for leisure travelers. We will return for our spa treatments are a real pleasure to the mind and body....it was so good to be here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort and Spa.

The pleasure was all ours. We are glad to learn of your appreciation of our services especially the Spa where the ambience and treatments only boast of completely tranquility and relaxation.

It was great to have you with us too and we look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Al Maha is so close to Dubai but it feels so far away. I was truly amazed by this oasis nestled in the desert. We had booked 2 nights and had an outstanding experience. The staff was lovely and very helpful and we felt very well taken care of. As access is limited, no private vehicles are allowed into Al Maha, making it very peaceful and quiet. The view of the main building with the restaurant is truly breath taking. The restaurant overlooks a watering hole where you can watch Oryx and Gazelles drinking while you are enjoying your own plentiful five course meal. With some luck the animals also come to the private pools located at every suite, making the experience even more special. There are even camel roaming freely on the outskirts of the property, which we saw when being driven up to the gates of the Al Maha reserve. We almost felt like being on a private safari. Whoever is looking for the ultimate desert and wildlife experience in the UAE, this is the place to be!

Room Tip: All suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Al Maha and for your recent stay with us.
We can see how truly passionate you are about your experience in the desert and we are happy to have complimented this with the services we offer at this magical destination.

Your recommendation and feedback is exactly what motivates us to deliver better and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have been lucky enough to stay twice at this resort and how lovely it is to return somewhere which lives up the the experience the first time around. The suites are marketed as bedoin tents in the desert- they are in fact wonderful solid suites with a tent like appearance with their own pool overlooking the vast desert. There are wonderful touches such as delicious dates and nuts in the suite and an easel and water colours. Neither of us are artists but we had huge fun sketching eachother.

The food is on a full board basis and is just super. Despite being full board, the wonderful staff encourage you to partake and partake some more. I am not a fan of all inclusive/full board options, but this resort has it just right. You can opt to eat on your own terrace/in the suite or at the restaurant. We tended to have breakfast on our terrace and lunch and dine in the restaurant. Inside at lunch due to the heat and outside in torchlight in the evening. The Omani Gulf prawns were enormous and just the best I have ever tasted. Please never take them off the menu.

The Spa treatment was bliss.

The service is fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening came rides with bubbly whilst watching a desert sunset. If you prefer the rangers will gladly take you in a 4x 4 for those who do not fancy the camel ride. Have just joined TA so this is why the review is a little belated.

The resort has a lovely pool and gym, but frankly you probably will not want to leave your suite... Three nights holiday here achieves the same relaxation as seven nights of a standard holiday- you leave feeling thoroughly refreshed, if a little heavier.

By way of background, this was our tenth anniversary trip and we combined with the Burj Al Arab. The hotels are equally wonderful but chalk and cheese. We will absolutely be back .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

You have been so kind with your detailed review about Al Maha. We are grateful.
Thank you for your loyalty and support by revisiting us and giving us the pleasure to have you celebrate your 10th Anniversary with us.

We are happy to know that you were inspired by the elements in our Bedouin tents, the culinary treats that our Chefs had to offer together with your blissful experience at our Spa and excitement with the Activities.

Having you leave Al Maha refreshed and relaxed is truly where our passion lies for all our guests.

We look forward to your future visits and hope they are in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

just less than an hour of driving away from Dubai, there is this amazing place called Al Maha. If you take your own car, just make sure that you wont miss the exit, as you will hardly notice it, as it is just after the sign. We stayed for 2 nights, which entitles you to 4 activities. I highly recommend the dune bashing, nature drive and falconry. The sand dunes are just amazing and so is the friendliness and service of the staff who takes care of you. A special thanks to Beth, our personal activity guide. The food, the staff, the high level of service, it all makes it worth the money and the trip.Al Maha, I hope to see you again!

Room Tip: seriously, there are no bad or poorly situated suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review which we sincerely appreciate.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the desert activities we offer and having you experience our treasure in the desert is only a pleasure. Your feedback will most certainly be shared with our team as it is most valued.
We all look forward to welcoming to Al Maha for another exquisite experience.
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have been there on May 2013. Hotel and villas are amazing. Absolute privacy and stunning views of the dessert. If you have the option try to go there earlier March or April that temperatures are cooler . We had 40 Degrees in May. Main Restaurant is excellent with very nice options. Breakfast could be better for such a resort. Excellent service on top of all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your stay in Al Maha.

We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us; particularly appreciating the privacy and the views over the conservation reserve. Thank you for your recommendations about a good time of the year to visit the resort.

From reading we understand that what stood out most during your stay was the service delivered to yo by our ambassadors.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our resort in the future, it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us once more.

Kindest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My credit card was charged there twice. They told me that they refunded the second charge, but its not on my card. Its been three weeks now. I called them twice without any results. For me this is not acceptable.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us on Tripadvisor about your recent stay in Al Maha.

We are sorry to learn that your entire guest experience has not gone as one can expect in Al Maha. From my correspondence with the resort, I learned that indeed we had made the error to charge you twice for your stay and this was immediately communicated to you by our guest service agent whilst you were staying with us. I would like to express our sincere apologies that this has happened.

As you are aware from the direct contact you have been having over the last week with our Director and General Manager, Al Maha returned the payment one day after your departure, and the delay of refund to your account was due to a processing problem with a third party service provider.

We are truly saddened that this has caused you an inconvenience and we have therefore not been able to meet and live up to your expectations. I would like to assure you that we view these matters in a serious light and that this matter will be rectified as quickly as possible.

I do hope that your travel plans will bring you back to Al Maha again and while we can empathize with your disappointment, we do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Address: Dubai Al Ain Road | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - Set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Desert Resort
Al Maha Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.