We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Maha Desert Resort

Save Saved
You added Al Maha Desert Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Maha Desert Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dubai Al Ain Road | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Murqquab
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Truly amazing resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I cannot speak highly enough about this resort. We returned for our second trip to this resort as part of our honeymoon and the staff were wonderful in ensuring it was a really memorable stay. The suites are so beautiful and spacious, the private deck / pool is amazing and means you feel secluded in your own world. The food is great quality with lots of choice, the option to have private deck dining is definitely worth the extra. There are a range of activities to try, we really enjoyed the camel ride to watch the sunset and the spa is lovely. The resort is really luxurious and definitely worth the money, amazing staff, food and accommodation. I cannot wait for our next visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to write about Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

We are humbled that this was your second stay with us and that we were your preferred choice to spend your honeymoon. It is great to hear that our ambassadors ensured that you had a memorable stay and that you particularly valued the deck dining, cuisine, spa and activities. Team Al Maha will be proud to hear about your comments which will be shared with them!

We indeed look forward to welcome you again on the next occasion.

Warm regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    773
    52
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
67
606
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent 3 days, in July, at the resort to celebrate our Silver Wedding. Despite the extremely high temperatures and humidity the resort lived up to it's reputation !!!!.
The service is GREAT and very attentive although always discreet. The location and ambience are perfect for a relaxing vacation just enjoying the peace and delights of the desert surroundings.
The cuisine is excellent and offers a good selection to meet all tastes, special wishes are " No Problem ",
We were very impressed with the decoration and cleanliness of the suite and pool despite the aggresive climate in July.
We can thouroughly recommend this resort and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate that you have given us your time by evaluating and sharing your experience of Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

We are overjoyed with your words that we lived up to the reputation we are known for; delighting you both on your silver wedding celebration with our cuisine, attentive service and cleanliness of our suites. Thank you for highlighting these aspects and your willingness to spread the word of this jewel in the desert.

It would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at Al Maha in August 2012 and revisited in June 2013. This time as a family group, we took the Royal Suite which was exceptional in its presentation. This resort is absolutely first class. The food is some of the best on offer in any resort hotel I have visited. The service, attention to detail during your stay, the suites, the activities and knowledge of the field guys, is all without fault. Without a doubt one of the best resorts I have visited. Whilst very expensive the cost vs quality is fair when compared to some of the overpriced hotels in Dubai/Jumeirah area. Don't visit Dubai without coming to this wonderful peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and we are proud to keep up with your expectations consistently throughout your stays. It was a pleasure to read that your whole family enjoyed the activities, facilities and service.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilberdyke
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Every good thing you have read about the Al Maha is true.
Everything was faultless. Brilliant staff, brilliant food, brilliant setting.
The bed was so huge both sets of Charlie Buckets grandparents could fit into it plus his mother and father (from Willie Wonka).
Be prepared for the wildlife to come dropping by your window, its fabulous.
Saving up for our next visit, soon we hope.

Room Tip: Ask for suite number 15, it has great views of the desert and is ultra private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read this positive review about your recent stay in Al Maha on Tripadvisor and thank you for taking the time to share it with the readers.

We are very proud to know that so many aspects of our resort delighted you. Indeed our custom size beds are spacious and could accommodate Grandpa Joe, Grandma Josephine, Grandpa George and Grandma Georgina easily!

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our (husband and me) second stay with Al Maha (3 nights) and were even happier than our first time. Both the spa service and food have improved significantly. The field guides, as before, were fantastic, our field guide Darryn in particular. This is a truly luxe resort (if you are looking for more than your standard 4-5 star hotel) and we definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Villa 40 is the furthest away from the main building, but somehow manages to be even more private th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay in Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to learn that we have met your expectations and your compliments will be passed on to the field guides; particularly to Darryn. It is very rewarding to read that you have found a great enhancement to the spa service and food as we strive to continuously seek ways to improve our guests’ experiences.

We hope there will be a third occasion to welcome you back at our resort in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Possibly one of the best resorts I have ever visited. It provides a beautiful experience starting from the drive in to the private cabins. The service is excellent, and everything has been already though of, including binoculars for oryx watching, a drawing pad and aisle if you want to get creative! The highlight for me is having ultimate privacy of being in a reserve with gazelles and oryx roaming freely, drinking from your pool. Being one on one with nature and still having the luxury of a hotel is really exquisite. I can not recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you had an exquisite experience at Al Maha Desert Resort and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on Tripadvisor.

Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with all our ambassadors.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved during this occassion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Al Maha soon!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

There are very few words that can do justice to the magnificence of Al Maha. Hidden in the middle of the desert for maximum privacy, it provides a spectacularly luxurious setting to get away from all worldly troubles. The staff takes excellent care of each of the visitors in all parts of the resort, the facilities are world-class, the food is fresh and very high-quality. The spa treatments are amazing as are the saunas and the pool area. To add to everything, the resident Arabian oryxs provide an excellent back-drop for the whole resort.
I will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Al Maha team we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our resort on Tripadvisor.

We are proud to read that all the aspects of the resort have met your expectations throughout your stay and we look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murqquab
Free Parking, P...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al Sahel Villa Resort
Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al ...
#2 of 3 in Sir Bani Yas Island
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al Yamm Villa Resort
Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al ...
#1 of 3 in Sir Bani Yas Island
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Mark Inn Hotel Deira
Mark Inn Hotel Deira
#165 of 475 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Abu Dhabi International Airport
Pool, Luxury, F...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Nour Arjaan Fujairah
Nour Arjaan Fujairah
#3 of 17 in Fujairah
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Room Service, P...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Tulip Inn Hotel Apartments-Al Qusais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Maha Desert Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha Desert Resort

Address: Dubai Al Ain Road | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Murqquab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha Desert Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - Set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Al Maha Desert Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Maha Desert Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.