We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Maha Desert Resort

Save Saved
You added Al Maha Desert Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priceline.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Al Maha Desert Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dubai Al Ain Road | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Murqquab
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was just the best resort we have ever experienced. The service was exceptional. Our suite was just divine. Everything was of the highest quality. The food was outstanding. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so good. Even Darren who tried his best to make us sick on the dune drive! What an experience, you have to do it. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All suites are well placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to post your review on tripadvisor and for choosing Al Maha Desert Resort for your recent stay.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion. Team Al Maha is proud to keep up with your expectations.

Thank you again for supporting our magical hideaway in the desert, and for the time taken to provide us with your valuable feedback, we certainly look forward to seeing you soon in the near future

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    726
    52
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
64
573
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanabis
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Al Maha Desert Resort was the epitome of an oasis in the deserts of the UAE. The scenic drive through the dunes and the aparition of the individual suites on the side of the dunes as you come around one of the final bends in the road is absolutely spectacular. Then you arrive at the reception and are immediately greeted by your guide for the length of your stay. You choose your activities for the stay and then are shuttled to your private villa to begin your experience. Felt like a dream.

But dont be lulled by the serene setting, scenery and expactations of being in a luxury resort in a country that severely punishes theft. I fell under that spell even after living in the region for a while and paid the price. As with any stay at a hotel of any category, make sure you lock up your valuables and cash or it will grow legs. Lost enough to pay for an extra night and then some at this luxury resort. :-( The fact that I did not discover this until after I left avoided it ruining the whole experience.

The service itself was exemplary and the accommodations were spectacular as expected from such a luxurious place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, General Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and for sharing your kind feedback following your recent visit to Al Maha Desert Resort.

We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the resort and that we were able to meet many of your expectations. Thank you also for bringing to our attention the information regarding the very unfortunate incident. Al Maha has always prided itself in an impeccable history, and we have always ensured the safeguarding of our guests and their personal belongings. We are investigating this matter further and will greatly appreciate if you could contact us directly in order to obtain further information.

Thank you again for supporting our magical hideaway in the desert, and for the time taken to provide us with your valuable feedback, we certainly hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting us again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Arne Silvis
Arne.silvis@luxurycollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

As all the other reviewers have stated the Al Maha is just wonderful! We stayed for 3 nights in what can only be described as a state of total luxury. For us the thing that set the Al Maha apart from many other luxury hotels is the staff. Every single member of staff we dealt with were just charming. They obviously love their jobs and simply can't do enough for you. Yes, it's expensive but well worth it. Other people have commented on the drinks being a bit pricey but they're really no more than you would expect. The wine list is comprehensive, their are wines that are overpriced but there are affordable wines on the list. We brought some wine with us that we got at duty free. Without asking the hotel supplied us with a huge box cooler filled with ice for us to store it in. In other hotels I have stayed in this would never had happened!

Room Tip: Suite 37 has a great view and is very secluded. It is a way from the main building but call for a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you had a wondeful stay at Al Maha Desert Resort and would like to thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a review on tripadvisor.

Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with all our ambassadors.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Al Maha soon!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second trip to Al Maha and again was fantastic. The environment is a real dream, far away from the hussle and bussle of work! The suites are fantastic with your own private pool. it was lovely to see so many animals come and visit the pool area for a drink.

On our four day stay we undertook two activities the champagne at sundown on the sand dunes and the falcoln display - a very early start! We do not ride however, I wanted to go and see the horses which they very kindly arranged for us. They will do anything to ensure you are happy.

All the food was delicious! It was my Birthday while staying and a lovely cake was provided - without dairy due to my allergies - they think of everything!

I cannot wait to go back again - once I have saved up - as it is very expensive but so worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a review on tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you have had a fantastic experience again with us following your recent stay at Al Maha!

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved during both the occasions.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Al Maha soon!

Kind Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petts Wood, Kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I have just returned today from our third visit to Al Maha. We went previously in Dec 2009 and Dec 2011. This time as we were celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary we stayed for five full days rather than splitting the visit with another hotel. It was fantastic to think you are dropping back into paradise.

The overall experience was incredible and if anything the service and food were even better than before with every detail covered.

We returned to suite 3 which is very private! We had some complimentary things added due to our anniversary, Champagne, Waiter Service Deck Dining and Spa treatments.

Shane was fantastic as a guide for the events and as a Springbok representative at Archery a great coach.

As mentioned the food was excellent and when we wanted something off the menu for room service lunch there was no extra charge.

We think this time of year is perfect from a weather perspective as it is warm from first thing in the morning.

We will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you had chosen Al Maha Desert Resort to celebrate your Silver Wedding Anniversary and would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on tripadvisor.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved consistently during all your stays, Team Al Maha is proud to keep up with your expectations.

Your compliments will be certainly passed onto all the ambassadors especially Shane whose efforts were much appreciated.

Once again we would like to thank you for all the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in the near future.

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Al Maha is located just outside of Dubai with the journey taking between 45 mins and an hour depending on where you are traveling to/from. The hotel is located within the nature reserve and this adds to the wonderful experience. Wild deer and the such like are wandering freely around the resort and within the villas.
Generally compact, depending upon the time of year, you can easily walk from the villas to the central hubs of the spa (where the general pool is located) and the bar/restaurant area. However golf buggies are readily available to shuttle people around and this will be important in the hotter summer months.
Some great activities are available. We did the camel ride into the desert to watch the sunset which was marked with a glass of fizz. We also did the Falconry display. The only downside with this is that it is at 5:30am to match with the birds activity levels and the heat.
Our villa (22) was ideal. We had a private plunge pool and an uninhibited view out across the visit. The room was superb (in common with the others occupied by our friends) being very luxurious and very well equipped.
The spa/pool area is also well served with cold towels, bottled water and great changing facilities. Absolutely fabulous to be lounging by the pool and see the wildlife wander by within a few metres. Whilst room check out is at midday you can easily do this but spend most of the rest of the day at the spa.
Meals are international and arabic cuisine, so something for everyone and we had excellent meals.
Worth sitting on the terrace bar with a view across the desert for pre dinner drinks and hopefully you'll be able to see the animals playing around the water hole.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha Desert Resort.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for all the positive recommendations you have made.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time taken to post such great review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon at Al Maha.

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

What an awesome place. My wife and I had a pleasant weekend retreat at Al Maha. All our needs were taken care of, the staff always tried to accommodate us (food in the room with no charge, change around our menu, late check out). The staff were very helpful and all the food was included in our stay, each meal was outstanding. All the water and coffee was free in the rooms. We had our evening meal by our private pool, over looking the sand dunes, it was unforgettable.

The rooms were comfortable, the staff were very careful to respect our privacy. All around the resort there are gazelles and dear wandering around.

We cannot wait to go back!

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Al Maha Desert Resort and would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on Tripadvisor.

Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with all our ambassadors.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Al Maha soon!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al Maha Desert Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha Desert Resort

Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Hotel
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha
Al Maha Resort
Address: Dubai Al Ain Road | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Murqquab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha Desert Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - Set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Al Maha Desert Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Maha Desert Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.