We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed our expectations on every level...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Maha Desert Resort

Save Saved
You added Al Maha Desert Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Al Maha Desert Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dubai Al Ain Road | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Murqquab
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surpassed our expectations on every level...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

No matter what you may have seen or read about this resort is exceeded by what you'll see and experience as a privileged guest. We had the good fortune to stay there last week for 3 nights. Really, the photos and videos you may have seen don't do justice to the experience. Our "Bedouin suite" was exquisite. The pool was to heated to a decadent temperature. We unwound listening to the songbirds. The peace, quite, and privacy that each villa offered was enhanced by the breathtaking views over the Arabian desert. Service was outstanding. You are greeted by name throughout your stay by the entire staff who can not do enough to make your stay memorable. Our delicious 3 meals a day (included) from the creatively prepared menu were beautifully presented, and of the finest ingredients. The Champagne toast at sundown camel trek was a treat, and the adrenaline charged dune drive was a blast. If you're over the artificial glitz and glamour of Dubai, then do your self a HUGE favor and experience for yourself a true (1st class) desert experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to post your review on tripadvisor and for choosing Al Maha Desert Resort for your recent stay.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion. Team Al Maha is proud to keep up with your expectations.

Thank you again for supporting our magical hideaway in the desert, and for the time taken to provide us with your valuable feedback, we certainly look forward to seeing you soon in the near future

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    771
    52
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
67
605
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We went to Al Maha for one far-too-short night and day, but I'm very glad we did.
The desert setting is beautiful - a little less cartoonishly perfect than the dunes in which Qasr Al Sarab sits, but perhaps more welcoming since there's more vegetation and many more animals to see.

The room (the basic "Bedouin suite") was lovely and - the best part - had its own private swimming pool with a view out to the vastness of the desert. All their rooms have this, and all are detached tented buildings - lovely.

Biggest surprise was the food. This is world-class, better-than-anywhere stuff. Especially at breakfast. Bablu the egg chef cooked the most incredible Burghee, and the best hash browns either of us had ever eaten. The breakfast buffet is not grossly large like in some places, but intsead offers a more-than-wide-enough selection of very high quality things. Wonderful feta. Amazing onion quiche. Perfect smoked fish. And so on.

Dinner was just as impressive. We didn't make the most of lunch (which was delivered to the room). Since all meals are included in the room rate you feel as if you're eating for free which is quite nice too (though the room rates are not at all low).

I've stayed at - to name just a few - the Mount Nelson, Cliveden, The Royal Crescent, Babington House, Hotel Costes, Sunset Marquis, Chateau Marmont, Thompson Toronto, W Santiago, W Montreal, W Miami, Raleigh Miami, Hotel Manos, Portixol, Le Son Net, La Residencia (Mallorca), Hotel des Russes (Rome), Il Saviatino (Florence), Crosby Street, Soho House (NYC)......a long, long list. And I don't think I've ever had hotel food as outstanding as this.

Room Tip: Only saw the basic room and it was amazing, so don't feel the need to splash out further.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha Desert Resort.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the private Bedouin suites, the service, the restaurant and especially the food. We will ensure that your kind compliments reach out to all ambassadors especially Bablu.

We would like to take this opportunity and thank you for all the positive recommendation you have made which is very helpful us and for the forthcoming travelers who plan to visit Al Maha!

Thank you once again for supporting our magical hideaway in the desert, and for the time taken to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha soon!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have read that this was the No.1 resort in Dubai and now I am happy to confirm it. From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't do enough. The standard of accommodation is first class and as for the food, all I would say is don't come here and expect to leave without gaining a few pounds in weight. The restaurant is really fabulous with the chefs happy to cater for all guest requests, so can't understand why there are a very small minority who have complained that the menu is limited. The spa is also very well set up with excellent staff. I'm only unhappy that we have booked only a 3 night stay and not longer. I would definitely recommend this resort to any discerning traveller who wants luxury all the way with total relaxation.

Room Tip: Suite 7 is not too far from the main resort buildings but far enough away to feel secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay again with us and we are able to keep up with your expectations.

We thank you for taking out your valuable time and posting such detailed review.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the luxurious Suite and the meals at Al Diwan. Your compliments will certainly be passed onto all the ambassadors and will be much appreciated.

We thank you once again for all your positive compliments and recommendations. Team Al Maha looks forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

As soon as you approach the Maha resort gates you are escorted in 4x4s deeper into the desert. You start to feel that you are leaving the world behind, driving further into sand dunes you reach an oasis in the desert. Beautiful and spacious individual villas with your own outdoor pools overlooking the stunning desert (you might be so lucky as to spot a deer or two). All you can eat food is included in the price so that comes in handy. There are activities such as falconry, camel rides to see the sunset, and archery. If thats not for you the spa is fabulous.

This is a nature lovers dream come true.

It gives you true Arabian experience and hospitality. It is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a review on tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Al Maha soon!

Best Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very nice resort with excellent cuisine. The activities (camel riding, horseback riding, desert tour and falcony) were nice, but too short. I would have enjoyed it a bit more to have a 1001 night feelding like in Bab al Shams. The private pool was a wow. I recommend 2-3 nights to enjoy the place. the service was with the activities very poor, the girl responsible for us hat her last days and did not care a bit. quite unfriendly person. shame, all others were very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha Desert Resort.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for all the positive recommendations you have made.

We sincerely apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We take all matters brought to our attention very seriously. Your concerns have been passed on to the concerned departments and relevant action will be taken to ensure these points are rectified.

Thank you again for supporting our magical hideaway in the desert, and for the time taken to provide us with your valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Al Maha soon.

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We've stayed at Al Maha for the last 2 years during June (we live in UAE so heat is bearable). This year it was lovely to be welcomed back with a bottle of bubbly in our room - nice touch.
Nothing to add to all the positives...they are all correct and dont need repeating, but the only aspects I'd ask the management to look at are firstly, speed of service. I know we're there to relax and the whole atmosphere is chilled out, but when you've waited 45 minutes for a drink to be sent to your villa (and eventually cancel) then it gets a bit much. The main bar was the same, so please try and tighten this up?
Secondly, (and I'm not sure this can be helped) there were a LOT more pigeons around the place this year. Whilst the sound of the wildlife is nice, they tend to drown out everything else when you're trying to relax outside...as well as pooping everywhere!
Despite this, we're already looking forward to next June!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha Desert Resort.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for all the positive recommendations you have made.

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We have also rectified the service issues faced during your visit and necessary action has been taken by the department concerned.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Al Maha.

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We visited to Dubai for our winter break amidst Diwali hullaboo and stayed in Al Maha resort. We booked our package through Dubaionsale.com and got very cheap deal. The hotel was remarkable; it made our stay really a memorable experience. The hotel is nestled in a verdant palm oasis, deep within Dubai’s magical dune and desert landscape.

Architecture and location-
Al Maha showcases the heritage and architecture of the Bedouins. It offers sense of desert adventure and matchless hospitality in unparalleled comfort. The hotel is located in the Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve. The hotel is just a distance of 65 km from Dubai away from the hustle bustle of the city. It offers you peace, tranquility and exclusive luxury.

Adventure-
As the hotel is situated in the Dubai Desert reserve you can visit the reserve and explore the secrets of desert enigmatic landscape enjoying camel ride. Proper guide were available in the reserve, they showed us the indigenous wildlife, flora & fauna. We also get the opportunity to experience Arabian nights in the reserve.
Falconry exhibition was beautifully displayed and we get the opportunities for close up photographs and inspection during this amazing and memorable experience. We also tried archery under the field guide.

Suites-
We stayed at Bedouin suite which was lavishly decorated with authentic and rare handcrafted Arabian furnishing, antiques and artifacts. You can overview the dunes of Arabian Desert from the private deck. The deck is provided with sun loungers for relaxing quietly. We also enjoyed our morning teas relaxing on sun loungers. Rooms were big enough and provided with all required amenities. The suites offer a small private pool also.

Food-
The restaurant Al Diwaan is outstanding and the food was lovely. Many times we ordered food in the room itself which was also equally tasty.

Service-
The staff was too friendly; they make you comfortable at the resort by guiding you. The only negative point which we faced was of bit slow service.
Overall the hotel is a complete fun package.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time and posting such through and constructive review on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha!

A detailed review like yours is always helpful for us and others considering Al Maha for their forthcoming stays. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities, activities and services. Team Al Maha is proud to keep up with your expectations.

Once again we thank you for all your valuable compliments and recommendations, we certainly look forward to seeing you soon back at Al Maha!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al Maha Desert Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha Desert Resort

Address: Dubai Al Ain Road | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Murqquab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha Desert Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - Set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Al Maha Desert Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Maha Desert Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.