We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desi Info - Media Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Maha Desert Resort

Save Saved
You added Al Maha Desert Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Al Maha Desert Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dubai Al Ain Road | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Murqquab
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Desi Info - Media Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

There will be numerous reviews on Trip Advisor for this resort describing this place as "Paradise". An over used term and one which I like to leave for the divine promised land we have visioned in our minds when the journey in this life ends.
However the Al Maha resort is absolutely MAJESTIC, set in the Arabian Desert one truly gets a feel for the real Middle East, a far cry from the glitz and glamour of mainland Dubai which is only a 45 minute drive away.
The very gracious, hospitable and knowledgeable General Services Manager Mr Pani Wanigasekera is a true delight and refreshing in the way he meets and greets his clients. All things good have been described by others, we would just summise that everything about this resort is a once in a lifetime experience and highly recommended by desi info magazine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Al Maha Desert Resort and would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on Tripadvisor.

Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with all our ambassadors especially Pani whose efforts were much appreciated.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Al Maha soon!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    725
    52
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
65
571
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Since our first stay in 1999 - when the resort first opened its doors - we have spent in total about one year at Al Maha and our last one month stay in October 2012 again was absolutely excellent ! We cannot express enough our positive feelings about this resort, which offers top-quality at all levels.

Of course we do like the resort because of beautiful nature and absolute privacy. You can spend days on the deck of your spacious suite to enjoy the beautiful views and sounds of the desert and wildlife, you can enjoy sun-sets or enjoy the romantic dune dinners out in the desert.

Of course we do like the resort because of the excellent attributes such as e.g. the spectacular dinners in the most romantic setting on the deck of the main restaurant every evening (which is indeed a top restaurant offering excellent creations and a good wine selection!).

Once again we highly recommend a stay at Al Maha if you want to escape from the modern civilization to one of the last places of paradise on earth.

Our thanks to all Al Maha Staff and the General Manager Mr. Arne Silvis!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Al Maha Desert Resort and would like to thank you for taking out your precious time and writing on tripadvisor.

Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with all our ambassadors.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved during all your stays with us.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Al Maha soon!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Al Maha 13 years ago when it had just opened, and re-visited it again last week.
This hotel goes from strength to strength. It was perfect all those years ago and is still one of the most beautiful places to visit. The service is delightful - the food excellent - the rooms a sheer delight - the bedding, towels, pillows, hot infinity pool on the decking, gazelles and ibyx wandering at will - I cannot praise it enough. Do go for three or four days - it is THE most unforgettable of places and somewhere everyone should be privileged enough to enjoy. Sheer bliss!

Room Tip: ll the rooms are exquisite - and you will be picked up by friendly staff in a buggy to take you to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha Desert Resort.

We would like to take this opportunity and thank you for revisiting us after 13 years and Team Al Maha is proud to keep up with your expectations.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion again.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time taken to post such great review and for all the recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Al Maha.

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This must be at least our tenth stay at Al Maha and we will be back again.
The service you receive at this resort and spa cannot in our opinion be bettered. Nothing, and I mean nothing, is ever too much trouble.
The Al Diwaan restaurant is something special and again the service and quality of food is fantastic. Executive Chef David Miras has certainly established a fantastic team spirit both in the kitchen with the help of his sous chefs Peter Sebby and Piotr Kamieniczny and in the front of house team led by Srinivasan Nadarajan and Errol Domingo.
Lounging in your own plunge pool looking out on the desert with the oryx and gazelles wandering by is just so restful.
Long may the policy of no children under 10 being allowed continue. In fact you rarely see children under 16 or so in our experience.
We are not spa users but the whole set up down there and tha large pool looks wonderful
We will be back

Room Tip: All Bedoiun Suites are identical though of course the outlook from each of them differs of course.th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and posting a review on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable and a relaxing stay with us.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha and it rewarding to learn that we have achieved this during all your stays.

Your compliments will certainly be passed onto all the ambassadors especially Chef David, Chef Sebby, Chef Piotr, Srinivasan and Errol whose efforts were much appreciated.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If I could only ever stay at one resort, this would be the one. My husband and I have been four times and are planning another trip in 2013. It never fails to please in every respect. If you want total anonymity, this is the place for you. You do as little or as much as you want and slip off the radar at any time.
The surroundings are fantastic, the staff superb, food wonderful and the wildlife very friendly, especially the Oryx!!!
Do I sound hooked? Totally.
BLISS!

Room Tip: They are all secluded with a high degree of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and posting a review on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable and a relaxing stay with us again.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha and it is rewarding to learn that we have achieved this during all your stays.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We are still at Al Maha with 2 more days to go out of our 6 here. It is easy to run out of superlatives when describing the Al Maha experience .
We think that the reports here fully sum up how amazing it is & this place is unlike anything we have experienced before. Sumptuous rooms, wonderful food at every meal, the best we have had anywhere in the world. Smiling, helpful service, nothing is too much trouble.
The desert walks with knowledgable guides Kathryn & Marietta have added to our enjoyment. The Camel ride was fun & I found a whole load of new (& aching) muscle groups in my legs! My wife has been riding every day with the fabulous horses from the stables. A wonderful ride through the dunes.
If you have to make one special vacation this is THE place to come.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and posting your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay at Al Maha Desert Resort, we are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to keep up with your expectations.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Al Maha soon!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I'm currently staying at the Al Maha Desert with my girlfriend, and I'm so happy that I just had to share this brief review with you. The place is paradise, a desert oasis that has succeeded all my expectations. It would be fair to say I'm a bit of holiday/hotel snob. I always look for the best resorts and locations, so TripAdvisor is an invaluable resource when I book my travels be it for business or pleasure. I don't always pick the number one selection, but on this occasion I am glad that I followed the glowing reviews that have preceded mine.

The Bedouin suite is perfect for 2, although a family could fit in our over spacious and uber-comfortable bed ;-) A beautifully appointed bathroom and the outside space is to die for with a great plunge pool which if you're not an Olympic swimmer is great for a paddle and just staring at the endless range of desert terrain.

Today we had the most wonderful massage in the Timeless Spa and went for a Camel trek. I could go on and on, but truly this place is luxurious. Not in a pretentious way, but a place that just leaves you in wonderment. The TV has not been switched on. The mobile phones are off. And I'm at peace (just the odd look at my ipad now and again, which has given me the chance to write this review ;-)

Lastly, the staff are wonderful - all very friendly and seem to be enjoying their jobs - not just for the sake of being polite, and I have to say who couldn't be happy working in such a beautiful environment.

I shall be recommending Al Maha to all my friends and family and hope to return here again soon. Enjoy!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha Desert Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay at Al Maha Desert Resort and would like to thank you for writing such a constructive review on tripadvisor while being at the resort itself.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and would like to thank you for all the positive comments you have made. We are delighted that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha and it is rewarding to learn that we have exceeded your expectations.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al Maha Desert Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha Desert Resort

Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Hotel
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha
Al Maha Resort
Address: Dubai Al Ain Road | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Murqquab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha Desert Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - Set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere, HotelTravel.com and Expedia so you can book your Al Maha Desert Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Maha Desert Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.