We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedouin Tent? Maybe - but what luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dubai Al Ain Road | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Bedouin Tent? Maybe - but what luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Al Maha 13 years ago when it had just opened, and re-visited it again last week.
This hotel goes from strength to strength. It was perfect all those years ago and is still one of the most beautiful places to visit. The service is delightful - the food excellent - the rooms a sheer delight - the bedding, towels, pillows, hot infinity pool on the decking, gazelles and ibyx wandering at will - I cannot praise it enough. Do go for three or four days - it is THE most unforgettable of places and somewhere everyone should be privileged enough to enjoy. Sheer bliss!

Room Tip: ll the rooms are exquisite - and you will be picked up by friendly staff in a buggy to take you to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha Desert Resort.

We would like to take this opportunity and thank you for revisiting us after 13 years and Team Al Maha is proud to keep up with your expectations.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion again.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time taken to post such great review and for all the recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Al Maha.

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    55
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
71
669
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This must be at least our tenth stay at Al Maha and we will be back again.
The service you receive at this resort and spa cannot in our opinion be bettered. Nothing, and I mean nothing, is ever too much trouble.
The Al Diwaan restaurant is something special and again the service and quality of food is fantastic. Executive Chef David Miras has certainly established a fantastic team spirit both in the kitchen with the help of his sous chefs Peter Sebby and Piotr Kamieniczny and in the front of house team led by Srinivasan Nadarajan and Errol Domingo.
Lounging in your own plunge pool looking out on the desert with the oryx and gazelles wandering by is just so restful.
Long may the policy of no children under 10 being allowed continue. In fact you rarely see children under 16 or so in our experience.
We are not spa users but the whole set up down there and tha large pool looks wonderful
We will be back

Room Tip: All Bedoiun Suites are identical though of course the outlook from each of them differs of course.th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and posting a review on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable and a relaxing stay with us.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha and it rewarding to learn that we have achieved this during all your stays.

Your compliments will certainly be passed onto all the ambassadors especially Chef David, Chef Sebby, Chef Piotr, Srinivasan and Errol whose efforts were much appreciated.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If I could only ever stay at one resort, this would be the one. My husband and I have been four times and are planning another trip in 2013. It never fails to please in every respect. If you want total anonymity, this is the place for you. You do as little or as much as you want and slip off the radar at any time.
The surroundings are fantastic, the staff superb, food wonderful and the wildlife very friendly, especially the Oryx!!!
Do I sound hooked? Totally.
BLISS!

Room Tip: They are all secluded with a high degree of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and posting a review on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable and a relaxing stay with us again.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha and it is rewarding to learn that we have achieved this during all your stays.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We are still at Al Maha with 2 more days to go out of our 6 here. It is easy to run out of superlatives when describing the Al Maha experience .
We think that the reports here fully sum up how amazing it is & this place is unlike anything we have experienced before. Sumptuous rooms, wonderful food at every meal, the best we have had anywhere in the world. Smiling, helpful service, nothing is too much trouble.
The desert walks with knowledgable guides Kathryn & Marietta have added to our enjoyment. The Camel ride was fun & I found a whole load of new (& aching) muscle groups in my legs! My wife has been riding every day with the fabulous horses from the stables. A wonderful ride through the dunes.
If you have to make one special vacation this is THE place to come.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and posting your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay at Al Maha Desert Resort, we are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to keep up with your expectations.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Al Maha soon!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I'm currently staying at the Al Maha Desert with my girlfriend, and I'm so happy that I just had to share this brief review with you. The place is paradise, a desert oasis that has succeeded all my expectations. It would be fair to say I'm a bit of holiday/hotel snob. I always look for the best resorts and locations, so TripAdvisor is an invaluable resource when I book my travels be it for business or pleasure. I don't always pick the number one selection, but on this occasion I am glad that I followed the glowing reviews that have preceded mine.

The Bedouin suite is perfect for 2, although a family could fit in our over spacious and uber-comfortable bed ;-) A beautifully appointed bathroom and the outside space is to die for with a great plunge pool which if you're not an Olympic swimmer is great for a paddle and just staring at the endless range of desert terrain.

Today we had the most wonderful massage in the Timeless Spa and went for a Camel trek. I could go on and on, but truly this place is luxurious. Not in a pretentious way, but a place that just leaves you in wonderment. The TV has not been switched on. The mobile phones are off. And I'm at peace (just the odd look at my ipad now and again, which has given me the chance to write this review ;-)

Lastly, the staff are wonderful - all very friendly and seem to be enjoying their jobs - not just for the sake of being polite, and I have to say who couldn't be happy working in such a beautiful environment.

I shall be recommending Al Maha to all my friends and family and hope to return here again soon. Enjoy!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay at Al Maha Desert Resort and would like to thank you for writing such a constructive review on tripadvisor while being at the resort itself.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and would like to thank you for all the positive comments you have made. We are delighted that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha and it is rewarding to learn that we have exceeded your expectations.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A haven of romance, exotic wild animals, the gentle awakening of the desert dawns sunrises and stunning sunsets after a camel ride through the sand dunes, sipping champagne as the sun slips below the sand dunes, vibrant colours and the Bedouin tent luxury rooms with an individual generous sized infinity pool, watching the wild animals graze and walk by. The birds constantly singing and nesting in the trees surrounding the Suites.
Arrival is by car (arranged through Concierge prior to arrival) about one hour out of Dubai- it’s about 50 minutes to the turn off and then a slow drive over sand and gravel road into the main resort area. The drive through is about 30 minutes of desert – full security prior to entry and then through several other gates to keep the animals in.
Arrived at the resort for welcome and relaxing check in – no lines – juts a beautiful lounge and fruit punch. Tae to the Suite in a golf buggy over cobbled stones pathways – with fresh running water aqueducts beside the cobble paths – animals grazing within the resort.
The Suites attention to detail is wonderful. A tent like structure inside, large antique wooden furniture- large King bed, inset lighting, tow bath roads – cool cotton light ones and lush thick bath robes. Large shower, separate toilet and a large bath.
Slippers and the Toiletries were all Bvlgari – wonderfully generous size soaps and shampoo conditioner. Toothbrush, toothpaste, sewing kit, shaving kit, nail board and all the usual cotton buds etc.
The room has a drawing easel with paper and drawing pencils and pastels for the creative persons.
The tea/ coffee area was in a small entrance way that could be closed by doors for privacy when someone entered the atrium area. Generous coffee Espresso machine with over 20 pods of coffee all flavours and a tea selection that are suburb.
Mini bar had a selection of complimentary water juice and chocolate bars, and sherry for a night cap – also complimentary.
The main bedroom had two large lounge chairs and a table, large desk and huge wardrobe.
The coffee table had a selection of small little deserts and tastings of baklava, fresh dates. An Oil burner with candles and matches to create a wonderful fragrance.
The resort has a selection of activities that are included each day you stay. We stayed for 2 days and so had 4 activities. My husband did the dawn Arabian horse ride and enjoyed the ride. You have to know how to ride and it’s not for beginners – they are very careful about the safety side of things which is good.
The camel ride at Sunset was wonderful – we did that twice a lovely 20-30 minute slow walk to some sand dunes – met with a glass of Champagne and fresh dates.
Then the walk back. The camels are gorgeously decorated and it’s quite a relaxing non – stressful ride. People wore no shoes, shorts and enjoyed the view. Caution leaves your sunglasses and camera caps behind. We saw many camera caps on the ground, and I lost my sunglasses – only for one of the guides to find the next night – they were very accommodating.
The Falconry show which includes an owl or an eagle as well on alternate days was really special and we thoroughly enjoyed the educational aspects, the individual falcon’s personalities and the amazing flying and diving styles.
Sand dune drives were really popular at dawn but they do ask that you don’t eat breakfast beforehand! You could, arrange a desert dinner in the sand dunes, archery, bush walks, park animal behind the scenes etc All included in the room rate.
There is also one complimentary (included in the room rate) day Spa menu item – facials, hot rock massage, mud exfoliation etc.
This then walks through to a large infinity pool with loads of deck chairs with deep spongy pillows and large fluffy pool towels.
The restaurant serves Breakfast from early - then lunch at 1pm and then dinner ( 7pm) which is a 5 course affair with many items to choose from on the menu – there is also a requested Curry option ( have to book it before 3 pm each day) which was magnificent and severed at your table from these little copper pots – lots of ceremony. The breakfast juices were very fresh – we really enjoyed the mint and lemon drink – and the orange and passionfruit. You can get room service for any menu items and the staff set it up all beautifully on the outside table or inside.....not some tray dropped off – but fully set up and laid out – very impressive. You come back to your room after diner an d the bed is turned down and the pool light on – magical blue colour in the desert night – night swim a must.
The bar overlooks an oasis that is well lite at night and you watch the wild animals drinking from one of the 11 water holes at the resort. The outdoor desk at night have large flames lights burning which add s to the atmosphere and candles on the tables – they menu is brought to you with a little light attached to help you read your menu. These lovely little touches just make the experience even more special. In the foyer is a library with large wing back chairs and a load of books and newspapers to read and enjoy. Tea & Coffee is available at any time in the foyer bar area and fresh water always on hand.
The gym had good solid Life cycle runners and a good selection of weight machines, mats and cold water also and towels on hand. The only thing is the room could have been cooler.
We walked up the cobbled paths where but we were quite close to the main restaurant complex - other suites wee further and you can request a buggy pick up at any time for getting around.
This resort I don’t think is for kids – certainly we only saw two who were about 9 yrs old...it’s a romantic intimate place for some serious privacy and indulgence.
Your guide meets you each day in the foyer where you assembled prior to your activities but stay sharp cos when they set off they expect you to be in the foyer ready to go – some people wandered of and were late for an activity and got all cross and huffy but it was not the guides fault that they had wandered off the meeting area.
The staff were very attentive without being obtrusive – in the restaurant they knew their wines and the dishes really well, the service we found to be special & enjoyed seeing familiar faces and the understated generosity of their care and professionalism.

Dress code for everything was very relaxed but most dressed up in more formal clothes at night – hoes and shirts with colours were requested for the men and it added to the night seeing everyone make an effort rather than short and flip flops.
It was or wedding anniversary and we had a gorgeous cake delivered to our room along with a bottle of Verve Champagne – all complimentary and very generous.....and lovely personalised note.
There are no resort fees or hidden charges - so you never feel like you are being stung as you can at other resorts who nickel and dime many things. You pay for your alcohol but we were happy with that. The food selection was amazing with almost any style, and taste catered for.
We stayed 2 days and arrived 0500 am first day so we really had a long break. One more day would have made it perfect - although we would have loved to buy another novel to read or more sunscreen – that’s the only thing missing I believe is a little shop for few bits and pieces. The Spa had face creams etc – maybe adding to that with a small section that had a few things like sunscreen, maybe a few sundresses and slip on shoes would be fun as well.
The things that you should be aware of is bring sun screen and everything you need cos there is no shop at all that sells anything like that – there is a shop in the foyer that sells, old musket guns, rugs, paintings etc but no personal items’ at all.
It’s very isolated so unless you want to drive all the way back to Dubai to shop – you are really on the resort until you leave – which for us was really fine and part of being able to relax and unwind. Free Wi-Fi in rooms was a good bonus – large TV but we didn’t turn it on once. Paper was delivered each morning and hanging on your door handle.
We left by car – arranged through Concierge to drive us to Abu Dhabi - a hair raising 160 km and hour drive took 1 ½ hours. If renting a car – rent a big one- driving is insane here – good 4 lane highways but a race track for cars both luxury to little zippo cars all ripping along at 140-160km’s.
Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite right on the desert rim for an uninterrupted view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very thorough review which is most helpful for us and everyone considering Al Maha for their upcoming travels. We appreciate your valuable time taken to write such detailed review.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the private Bedouin suites, the service, the restaurant, the activities and our fabulous staff. We will ensure that your kind compliments reach out to all ambassadors.

We would also like to take this opportunity and congratulate you on your wedding anniversary. Al Maha also has a child’s policy and we do not cater for children under the age of 10.

Thank you again for supporting our magical hideaway in the desert, and for the time taken to provide us with your valuable feedback. We would like to assure you of our best attention and look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha Desert Resort & Spa

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you visit Dubai, you have got to go to the desert and stay at this hotel. As soon as we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by the staff. All the units come with a private infinite pool that looks out into the desert. Very calming. Three meals are included with our stay. Breakfast and lunch are served in the dining room. Dinner is outdoor by the fire. Quite romantic. My husband and I enjoyed the food very much. The staff that served us were very professional. Because we stayed for three nights, we got to do all of the activities that were available. The guides were experienced and knowledgable. Great place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and posting a review on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable and a relaxing stay with us.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha and it is rewarding to learn that we have achieved on this occassion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Address: Dubai Al Ain Road | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - Set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Desert Resort
Al Maha Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.