We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedouin tent in royal style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dubai Al Ain Road | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bedouin tent in royal style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

It is really perfect place to hideaway. Been there twice - about 5 years ago and last February. Few things had been changed not to better way, but the average experience is still more than very good...

1. Greeting.
Had to wait a while at the parking for our guide, because didn't call them in advance what time exactly we are coming to get the private transfer. After that all the rest was fine - quick registration, refreshments and going by cart to the room-villa trough grinnery.

2. Room.
+ is amazing without any doubt, even the standard one. Rich coffee selection. Bulgari bath products. Delicious arabic sweets. Beautiful small private pool, very clean. Luxurious bed, heavy wood furniture... But the same time everything seams very simple and cozy, no flashy colors which common in oriental culture. Very quite, birds singing in the morning... We always had morning coffee on the terrace, before going to breakfast. Definitively you would get a creative mood in such aura. In this case there is an easel and some tools for drawing. If you are a writer - this is a perfect place to come alone and get in to the special mood (you should be very rich writer to do that).
- non... oh, almost forgot ! - they didn't bring us more of those tasty sweets after we've eaten them!

3. Nature.
+ Oasis in the desert, what more to say.
- Some years back to the pool of our villa was coming big beautiful antelope, they were all around the resort, different ones... This time we saw only small ariels.

4. Entertainment.
+ Coming for one day for the first time, you wouldn't get bored: they offer you "falconry", horseback riding, camel trip... All included in your stay. Actually, they saying complimentary are only 2 choices of amusement per night for one person, but we got 4.
- a)Years ago they use to have a telescope and person who could show us stars and explain astronomy. This time we didn't find these facilities... maybe because everyone has iPhone with such function in nowadays?
- b) Falconry is not that attractive as much as it was. I remember they use to take us by car to their "farm", showing the cages where they live, explaining about every bird (even owl was there). And then, at 5 am we had champagne while watching the "haunting" show. Not anymore. This time they had 3 falcons just behind our villa, not romantic much.
- c) They have good horses, but only for experienced riders, as a beginner I couldn't use this option.

5. Restaurant. Is only one. Breakfast is rich and perfect, like it most of all. Lunch and dinner not bad too.

6. SPA
+ very nice, treatments are good (bit expensive), at the big pool with no people in we had fun photosession for each other without any disturbance. Good option to have a treatment at your villa.
- at the pool bar only few drinks are available, no cocktails. Yoga group session is missing.

Conclusion: rich, tired of work couples definitively must try at least once.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    58
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
83
715
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

It was a surprise visit at the Al Maha, It was our 1 year anniversary.Didn't realize we are going for a stayed over thought we are going for a lunch. Great surprise! We stayed at Al Maha for 1 night but feels like been there for couple of days as we enjoyed an it's like a dream, awesome view, for shot like a aparadise wheren you can find your peace of mind from all the stress and depression!

Service is fenominal.. Food are just fantastic nothing to complained for..Place and the suite are awesome! Massage are very relaxing.Definitely higly recommended and will come back again. My favorites are the jumbo prawns and the private pool yihahh!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to post your review on tripadvisor and for choosing Al Maha Desert Resort to celebrate your first year anniversary.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion. Team Al Maha would like to take this opportunity and congratulate you on your first year anniversary.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Al Maha is the most fantastic resort in the UAE, if you are travelling to Dubai, Al Maha is a must in your travel book :)
Location is unique, the hotel staff are so helpfull and professional, and last but not least you relax, enjoy and discover the beauty of the Arabian wildlife !
Thank you Al Maha for our stay, we will come back...again :-)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and posting a review on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable and a relaxing stay with us.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha and it rewarding to learn that we have achieved this during all your stays.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We Visited Al Maha for 3 nights during the jubilee weekend.
We landed early morning (7am).
Our private transfer was awaiting us. The resort is around an hour away (so not to bad) upon arrival around 9:30am we were greeted with refreshing cocktails with our concierge and a member of the excursion team.
We were asked if we had any special requests and all
Excursions were discussed.
Although this resort does specifically state that check in is at 2:00pm, we were shown to our hut right away.
Upon arrival we had beautiful
Deserts and fruit waiting or us in our hut :) they were very tasty :)
As room service is inclusive we ordered our Arabic breakfast right away and whilst relaxing in our infinity pool (which is larger than most private pools) the staff set up our table beautifully.
We were in the middle of nowhere, with no one to bother us with all requests brought to your feet
and it was amazing, even our huts were away from everyone.
Our hut was around 4 min walk to the reception, it was lovely to walk through the resort in the late afternoon/evenings. Sometimes it was too hot to walk so we would call a buggy, in most resorts you have to wait around 10-15 mind for a buggy, not in Al Maha, it came within an instant of the phone call request.
We had our lunch inside the restaurant, the food is ala carte, the staff are very pleasant. Always there for any requests, if you wanted something else that wasn't on the menu, they simply created it.
I really tried to push my luck on my requests but they simply would not say no :) the excursions are fantastic, dune bashing was fantastic (although I can say I've had scarier) camel riding was amazing, riding through the desert and sipping Champagne by the sunset.
An interesting excursion was the falconry, it starts at 5:30am!! Which was actually surprisingly very refreshing. We had tea/coffee and very tasty pastry awaiting for us arriving at reception
Before the falconry.
Seeing the sun rising and moon setting was a sight to remember. Look out for Oscar the owl the mighty fierce eagle
(whose name I can't remember)
Overall a great place that we were privileged to experience would def go back. I highly recommend to
Visit this resort as a part stay trip. It is simply amazing.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time and posting such through and constructive review on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha!

A detailed review like yours is always helpful for us and others considering Al Maha for their forthcoming stays. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities, activities and services. Team Al Maha is proud to keep up with your expectations.

Once again we thank you for all your valuable compliments and recommendations, we certainly look forward to seeing you soon back at Al Maha!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

this place is truly amazing. the photos online look simply stunning, yet do not even come close to doing it justice. the suite was fantastic with stunning views and the pool was incredible. wildlife was everywhere with the local oryx and gazelles grazing mere yards away. but over and above all of this was the fantastic staff. always willing to help and so friendly, they made our stay even more amazing. we will certainly return, and i cannot recommend this place to anyone enough. simply fantastic. as i write this review, it seems almost impossible that i woke up this morning in the dubai desert, and now i'm back in dreary england!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Al Maha Desert Resort and would like to thank you for taking out your precious time and writing on tripadvisor.

Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with all our ambassadors.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Al Maha soon!

Best Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is my honeymoon trip in in dubia. Nice and helpful staffs, delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner, great activities and of course the feeling of "in the middle of the desert"! I will no doubt to stay there again if I go to dubai

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out the time and sharing your valuable feedback at tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha Desert Resort.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to thank you once again for all your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha soon!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I visited this resort in June 2012. This time of yr is supposed to be the Low Season (temperatures of 46 degrees celcius).
Prices quoted online were still not less than $1,150. I tried my luck and called the hotel and got an amazing deal $870 per night , inclusive of all taxes, full board (3 meals..either in your room or at the hotel restuarant), and inluding 2 activities!

The Good;

- Hotel is located in the middle of an animal reserve in the desert. Oryx's live freely there and actually come close to your room/pool every once and a while if you are lucky.
- The Pool
- The deal i got for the room was pretty good
- Peace and Privacy
- The room size
- The service was prompt and excellent
- Hotel accomdated my request for furthest room, late check out, as well as a complimentary cake when they knew we were celebrating our anniversary.
- Ordered Bkast and Lunch to the room. Food was very good. (see belwo for Dinner and Desserts)


The Bad:
- We tried 3 different things from the dessert menu during our stay. Everything tasted bland and right out from the freezer.
- I didnt like their pillows
- Huge tub in the toilet. But no bath salts to use. Was i supposed ot get some from my house? (Other 5 star resorts of this size/price will offer this)
- Dinner: We decided to have dinner in the restuarant instead of the room. The menu was filled with Gourmet looking items, somehting you would find in a chic and upscale resuarant in the city. But when the food came, i can confidently say that a steak i had on a plane tasted much better than the hotel's "wagyu" steak. Other things in the menu disappointed as well. The menu had ALOT of things with Pork. I dont eat pork and understand from the hotel staff that alot of the guests that visit dont as well. The hotel needs to be more considerate of their different customer base.


I didnt get the chance to use their Spa or their activities (falconry, horse or camel ride, desert drive, drive thro the reserve etc) so cant comment on it


Overall i would definitely recommend this place to couples who want to get away (kids under 10 are not allowed). The resort is the best of its kind in the area and lives up to its reputation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha Desert Resort.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for all the positive recommendations you have made.

We have noted your concerns on the issues you have mentioned and please be assured that they have been passed onto the concerned departments for corrective measures. We listen to our patrons as always and make positive changes to add value to their experiences.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time taken to post such great review and for all the recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Al Maha.

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Address: Dubai Al Ain Road | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - Set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Desert Resort
Al Maha Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.