We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Al Maha Is Our Favorite Resort in the UAE!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dubai Al Ain Road | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Dubai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Al Maha Is Our Favorite Resort in the UAE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We recently visited Al Maha for the second time. Both visits have been in the summer. Having stayed at several resort hotels in the UAE over the last several years, we believe Al Maha is the best of them all. We were worried that perhaps when the management contract changed this past year (to the Luxury Collection of Starwoods) that the level of service might slip. It hasn't and that is very good news. Everything about our stay this time was just what we expected and wanted. We asked for the same suite as last year and got it. Our reason for this choice is that we believe it is the ideal location in the resort itself, the most private and with unobstructed views of the large water hole where the gazelles and oryx's spend so much time.

For a totally relaxing time, Al Maha can't be beat. One can do as little or as much as one wants, and the scheduled activities are very interesting and enjoyable.

The staff is exceptional. They cater to all ones needs. The food is also exceptional as is the service. Whether eating in the dining room or in ones own suite, the same quality of food and service is offered.

This visit we asked if we might see how the chef made one of our favorite desserts, their creme brûlée, which we had found to be the best we have had in the UAE, and believe me we have tried it in many places there. Our request was honored and Chef David and his staff spent an hour with us showing us how they made it. They gave us the recipe and also sent some creme brulees to our suite. Then Chef David asked if we'd
Iike to come back the next day to the kitchen to see some more of their work, which we did. It was terrific! This is just one example of how the staff at Al Maha go out of their way to make sure your stay is delightful.

We will return to Al Maha as often as possible. Our times there have been times of total relaxation and enjoyment. The staff is exceptional. The setting is unsurpassed. The suites are very, very comfortable and the plunge pools are large...almost swimming pools. The spas and it's facilities are great. For a totally relaxing time, we have found nothing to compare with Al Maha in the UAE.

Yes, it is expensive. But if you can afford it, it is worth it. And it's summer specials are indeed a good deal. We will return and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Al Maha through Tripadvisor.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the resort facilities and had an amazing experience during your stay. Your compliments are very much appreciated and have been shared with the concerned departments.
We look forward to welcoming you back again at Al Maha Desert Resort in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    58
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
83
717
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Certainly the best hotel (seems too lowly a description) we have ever stayed in!! Utterly amazing, truly stunning.
The huge private villas are luxurious yet homely and comforting. A bathroom suite worthy of a palace; with towels, robes and toiletries you wish occupied your everyday life.
Stunning views (unrivaled by ANY in Dubai). 5 star nouvelle cuisine breakfast, lunch and dinner, exquisitely served by polite and courteous staff to whom silver service is their only standard. The whole resort is extremely peaceful, the essence of tranquility, attaining that truly ''getting away from it all'' feeling.
If you wish, you do not have to see a single other hotel guest as, along with your own private pool, all meals can be delivered and served in your villa.
Oryx and gazelle wander freely around the resort and even stop by your villa to drink from your pool! The addition of binoculars is a nice touch, enabling the enjoyment of star-gazing at the spectacular blanket above you each night, unspoilt by the very distant lights of the busy city of Dubai.
The staff are warm, welcoming and friendly. Thoughtful and attentive whilst allowing a great deal of privacy- you do not feel bothered or interrupted during your stay.
The resort achieves that 'safari lodge' feel, together with a luxury hotel - a prefect combination!
The activities are lead by knowledgeable guides and the spa is heavenly!
Like many other commentators on this site, the resort was recommended to us, and boy, it didn't disappoint! It truly does have to be experienced.
Having returned twice now I thought it was about time I posted a comment and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.
As residents of the UAE, we will most certainly be returning again soon!

Room Tip: all suites are entirely private, but number 11 was our favourite. We experienced the most interactio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Al Maha through Tripadvisor. Reviews like yours are always very helpful for us and for the guests who look forward to travel to Al Maha for an unforgettable experience.

We are thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed the tranquility of Al Maha and had a wonderful experience. We at Al Maha are proud to keep up with your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back at our resort.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

That UAE is famous for the tremendous amount of money they spend, the actuall things they use their money for are rather infamous though. Not so the Al Maha: while the Burj al Arab is the epitome of glitter an glamour profligacy, the al Maha succeeds in combining traditional and authentic style with lavish luxury. The location in the middle of the desert is breathtaking, the rooms magnificent and the lobby excells with simple elegance. Just go to the Al Maha, an experience worth each and every dime. After all dont go longer than 2-3 days, the desert and the solitude can get too much.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Al Maha through Tripadvisor.

Your review provides a perfect insight to what the resort has to offer together with the recommendation of Al Maha being 'one of the best hotels in the world'.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris france
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

we stayed 3 nights in august : it s really fantastic
everything is perfect: the service , the suite and the food! i would like to say how excellent is the food prepared by David Miras the french Chef!
we loved everything during our stay!
thanks

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Al Maha through Tripadvisor. We are thrilled to learn that you had a wonderful experience at Al Maha and enjoyed the food.

Your compliments have been shared with Chef David Miras and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothenburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was a trip of a lifetime!! The hotel is charming and very romantic. Camel riding is a must!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have just returned from a 5 day stay at the Al Maha. This is our second visit in 3 years and the the resort is as magical as our previous visit! The staff and management team are truly committed to ensuring you have an amazing stay and no request is ever an issue. The food, serverd either in your suite or at the restaurant, is outstanding with consistently exceptional service. A personal thanks to Errol, Dhan, Allvin, Joan, Christine and the restaurant management team who made our stay even more special - thank you. We will be back....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Al Maha through Tripadvisor.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the resort facilities and had an amazing experience during your second visit. Your compliments are very much appreciated and have been shared with the concerned departments.
We look forward to welcoming you back again at Al Maha Desert Resort in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

It's been a while since my last hotel review but having stayed at this Resort, I feel compelled to tell the world what an amazing place this is! Located in the Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, 40mins drive from downtown Dubai, the Resort is the perfect getaway for relaxation and wildlife watching. We stayed in the tent styled Bedouin suite equipped with the most comfortable huge bed, chaise lounges, extra large bathtub, binoculars, sketchpad & easel, and best of all, an infinity pool frequented by chirpy birds, cautious oryxes (nearly-extinct if not for the conservation) and very shy gazelles overlooking the serene desert. At first, we were excited just to see birds, until the oryxes and gazelles came over!

We opted for in-room dining which was simply superb! Loved the fish, steak, and desserts! Being Ramadan, it's hard enough waking up at 3am for suhoor, let alone having any appetite to eat, but their suhoor meal was so delicious, especially the huge tiger prawns, that we stuffed ourselves so full that it was hard to wake up the next morning for the desert based activities on offer. Just as well we tried the fun camel ride across the desert and watched the sunset on top of a dune upon arrival. I'd also recommend the early morning dune bashing with their team of well experienced and knowledgeable park rangers. Not only do you get the dunes all to yourselves, the scenery and cleanliness of it all is much better than the typical desert safari packages you get in Dubai. The staff were most welcoming and the spa service was wonderful that if only the spa was open to non-guests, I would drop by just for a facial and massage. It may be the hottest time of the year, but being here with the wildlife was just cool! A perfect desert retreat...complete with wifi!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Al Maha through Tripadvisor. We are thrilled to know that you had an unforgettable experience while staying at the Bedouin Suite and enjoyed the wildlife and activities offered at the resort.

Your review provides a perfect insight to what our resort has to offer together with the recommendation of Al Maha being the 'perfect desert retreat'.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Address: Dubai Al Ain Road | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - Set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Desert Resort
Al Maha Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.