We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base to your Saves list
Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base
P.O. Box 991, Port Havannah, Efate 940, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Havannah
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Sorry to leave it so late. We visited the island in May this year. It was, as fa as I can remember, the best value for money holidays we have had in ages. Basic and simple, but cosy and clean. The huts were very rustic which just added to the whole experience. My son managed to get his open water junior course; I had a great time snorkelling and diving.
I was a bit surprised to see one of the reviews saying no small children. My youngest is 5 and he loved it. I do not know what sort of facilities people expect for small children but I have stayed with my kids ages 3 months to 11 years old (depending on different times in my life) with much more basic set up than the Moso Island. If you want a nice and relaxing "get away from it all" time, you will love it. If you want to go out, get drunk and have a wild time- forget it.
Great job guys keep it up.
Martin and family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    25
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
46
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

A great holiday. We had a really wonderful time. The staff were tremendous and made us feel part of the island experience. We will certainly recommend it to our friends. With special
thanks to Lindsey who made the whole holiday an enjoyable time. Of course, we cannot forget 'captain Owen' he is a great guy. His vision of a Robinson Crusoe resort is an
unforgetable experience. Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Forget any of the earlier negative reviews. Our visit to Tranquility Island Dive resort was better than we expected. 10/10. We were picked up from Port Vila by very friendly staff and transferred straight to the waiting ferry trip across to Moso Island. The site managers, John and Jo were waiting at the pier to greet us with a wave and made us feel very welcome from the very start. The beach fares are made traditionally out of natural materials and being open air (with mozzie screens) their location right next to the beach was a treat to wake up in. The grounds were very well kept with cute manicured pathways through the natural bushland. Being an eco-resort and only having powered generators for a few hours a day added to the appeal. The amenities we necessarily basic, but they worked, were clean, and comfortable. The beds were comfortable enough if you are not fussy. The prepared food was filling and homely. Plenty of fruit was available. The cook made us a packed lunch for a day trip hike to the other side of the island, which was so nice.

Think of this as 5-star luxury camping. It is not a resort for people that don't like getting sand between their toes. There is phone coverage on the beach, but I think the place is best enjoyed without any modern distractions.

Moso Island is natural and gorgeous. We didn't do any diving, but did a lot of snorkelling, walking, kayaking, and a LOT of lying on the beach. The walk to Fred's Beach and kayaking to isolated beacheswas a definite highlight.

We simply loved the unpretentious feel of the island, and the fantastic company provided by the mangers and staff. John and Jo ate with us at every meal and was terrific to share stories.

This is the perfect place to unwind. I can't say enough good things about our stay.
We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Fussy sleepers may want to bring their own linen and a fluffier pillow. Bring your own snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

designed for low impact on the environment, this place has all you need, without frills.
Simple huts right on the beachj
Friendly staff, pleasant food - and fabulous snorkeling and diving right at hand.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

I have stayed in out of the way islands before and had expected very basic facilities. The Tranquility resort was pleasantly surprising in that there was hot water, cold beer, an ensuite bathroom attached to the fare (shack), and an abundance of good healthy food. They make no secret of the fact that there is only power for a couple of hours per day, there are no tv's, there are no lounges or computer games. That's exactly why I went. I was again surprised to find that there is excellent mobile phone reception and that you can access wireless internet if you ask nicely.

Tranquility's strength is in its location for diving. There are great snorkelling sites a couple of metres from the water's edge (and the fare was exactly six large paces from the shoreline). There are 17 great dive sites around the resort and neighbouring islands (although I can only vouch for 9 of them). The water in late May was between 27 and 29 degrees celsius, and the diving visibility was consistenly above 20 metres, 30 metres plus on some days. The dives themselves worked out incredibly cheap by Australian standards, and the fact that all transfers, food and accomodation are included in the price made it a very economical holiday.

Club Med it is not, but I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong, australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We once again chose to spend a week at Tranquillity during our Vanuatu holiday. We choose it because you can snorkel off the beach in a number of different places that are within easy walking distance of the accomodation, so you don't need to wait for a boat or day trip to go out. That, and the fact that this is the most accessible, really good snorkelling around Efate.
This is not a resort for everyone. You have to make your own entertainment, or be content lazing and doing nothing. There is no pool, or lounge, or much else really. We had a great time, because this is exactly what we want to do - snorkel and relax.
Food is plentiful, on a rotating menu, not gourmet, but good. There is nowhere else to eat.
The 'bar' is a well-stocked storeroom with cans and bottles that can be moved into an esky with ice.
Note that this is a dive resort, not a luxury hotel, there is only electricity when the generator is running, and the facilities are quite basic. You are very close to nature, so mossie netting is important for at night, and there are spiders and millipedes (plus gorgeous birds and bats and sea creatures.)
The current managers, Jo and John, are doing an excellent job, The ni-Van staff are all very nice and helpful.
We will be back!

Room Tip: lodge rooms have the bathrooms indoors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Highlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We went to Tranquillity to Dive but did not stay at the resort. The diving was incredible. We booked for one day and then went back and did it all again on a second day! Steve and Sarah and Divemaster Tommy were all wonderful. They not only took you on amazing dives but made you feel right at home.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base

Address: P.O. Box 991, Port Havannah, Efate 940, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Havannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Havannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base Hotel Port Vila
Tranquillity Island Resort And Dive Base
Tranquillity Island Hotel Dive Base

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.