We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific as usual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Havannah

Save Saved
You added The Havannah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Havannah
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Samoa Point, Port Havannah, Efate 1111, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Port Havannah
Murwillumbah, Australia
1 review
“Terrific as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Third visit in 5 years probably says it all !! , great location, great accommodation , terrific staff , really laid back feel that leads to some serious chilling out, A special thank you to Frederick for the loan of your BCD, I mean how many resort managers lend you their personal property ? really appreciated , see you next time ;-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Trevor B
Thank you for your review of the Havannah and I hope we will see you again soon. It was my pleasure to have been able to assist you by lending you my BCD, important to be comfortable when you dive and we were the same size. We always goes out of our way to ensure we can assist our guests and make their stay as pleasant and relaxed as possible. I will pass your review to our staff, and I hope you are both well and that the New Year has kicked in with all you were wishing it to be.
Until we meet again,
Kind regards
Frederick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    33
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
235
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The aim of our holiday was relaxation. The Havannah Resort is AWESOME. Brilliant & friendly service. Food was excellent. Staff will help you with anything they can. The pool is just gorgeous and relaxing. There are coral reefs everywhere. You can walk to some activities. If you want the main town part there is a free shuttle. You can do as much or as little as you like. Each villa is private you wouldn't know if anyone else was there.
Went there for our babymoon - and beyond relaxing. I'm very selective on my holiday destinations as I rarely get to go on holidays - and I would go back anytime. I was so relaxed. It was exactly what we wanted and exactly what they advertised.
There is fabulous food outside of the resort as well -and the resort owners are more than happy to help you and book anything you want.

Room Tip: The pool is close enough that you don't need to book the one with its own pool unless you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Brandon2265
We can definitely offer a lot of relaxation at the Havannah as we are a very small resort, with an exclusive and personal approach to the well being of our guests. I am happy to read that you were so relaxed that you would come back, We always enjoy seeing return guests, of which we have many. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is very appreciated. Have great 2014.
Kind regards
Frederick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and i stayed at the havannah for 7 nights as the second part of our honeymoon. We both loved this resort. The location of this resort is fantastic and watching the sunset of an evening and seeing turtle popping there heads up not far off short early in the morning is really an experience!
We stayed in a lagoon pool villa which has a private entrance to a infinity pool and really liked it. It was very modern and always kept extremely clean by the lovely house keeping staff.
This resort really goes above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay, it was the little touches each day that made our stay at the Havannah so enjoyable. Some good examples of this would be coming back to our room to a lovely note and little animal made from towels every night by the housekeeping staff or to having the lovely manager Frederick checking in on how we were enjoying our stay almost daily.
The staff were all very friendly and made an effort to remember our names when greeting us at the restaurant. The food at the restaurant is fantastic and although we did eat elsewhere one night it did not compare to the fantastic food on offer at the resort.
As for activities around the resort i would highly recommend the sunset cruise and doing a private picnic on the island across from the resort. If you are a fan or snorkeling there is really good snorkeling on offer just to the left of the resort, i spent hours looking around at the fantastic fish life!
To anyone looking for a very professionally run resort that goes the extra mile to make sure your stay is enjoyable, my wife and i cannot recommend this resort enough!!!

Ryan and Demelza

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Ryan and Demelza
We are glad that we could provide you with a great and relaxing honeymoon. It was a pleasure to take care of you both and I really appreciate your vote of confidence. I will print your comments to give to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back at the resort. I hope the New Year is developing into a great year for you both!
Kind regards
Frederick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We decided to book a holiday in Vanuatu we chose the Havannah due to other people recommending it. We were not disappointed. The location is magnificent the staff are friendly and the place is paradise. Don't waste your time reading more reviews just book your vacation you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: We had Bungalow 15 it was incredible but there is not bungalow that will disappoint,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Kazzas987
Thank you for your review and your vote of confidence. We really do our best to ensure that our guests are well taken care of and have a relaxing and enjoyable experience, so I do appreciate your short but concise review, which I will pass on to our staff as well.
Have a great 2014, and hopefully we will welcome you back at the Havannah.
Kind regards
Frederick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 8 night stay at The Havannah from the 20th December. The resort and surrounds are exceptionally beautiful, the food of high quality, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Whether it be snorkeling amongst beautiful coral off the beach, enjoying the complimentary sunset cruise, visiting the turtle hatchery and Fred's Beach on Moso Island or just relaxing around the resort, The Havannah was a fantastic place to stay.

We caught the complimentary bus to visit Port Vila for a day trip and had staff organize taxis to tour the island's sites, but as Havannah Harbour was the nicest part of Efate, we were very happy to stay at the resort and enjoy the local area. Jonathan, a Havannah staff member and resident of nearby Tanoliu village, even volunteered to show us his village and help us try some local kava.

It's easily possible to dine at the resort restaurant multiple nights (the meals are varied and of very high quality) but nearby Wahoo Bar seafood restaurant and Francesca's Italian Restaurant are also good alternatives if you seek a change.

As it was my partner's 40th Birthday during our stay, the ever attentive resort general manager Frederick made every effort to help celebrate the occasion and make the night a very memorable one.

We thank Frederick and all the staff for helping make our holiday in Vanuatu one of the most relaxing holidays we've ever had.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay at the Havannah and I am glad we could make the 40th birthday as special as it should have been. I will pass on your review to the staff and Jonathon in particular. The staff do enjoy taking our guests to their village and sharing a shell of kava with them. I hope I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Havannah.
Happy New Year
Kind regards
Frederick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Staying in a villa we decided upon glowing recommendation to book a day of activities at The Havannah. Myself, my husband & his elderly mother all booked massages. Due to a single therapist & lunch hour, we were to be there from 10.30am until 3.45pm. We booked lunch together in The Point restaurant too. Despite asking on the phone whether we were free to use the bar, pool & beach while each other's treatments were going on, upon getting there we were quite rudely informed they were for guests only. We were able to purchase cocktails - an over sweet strawberry margarita & a Long Island iced tea based on spirits below the standard we'd normally drink. Despite my mother-in-law enjoying her treatment, we decided another four plus hours without the ability to even swim at the beach made it an unpleasant & inhospitable option so we cancelled lunch & the remaining two massages and left. Despite asking to see a manager it took 30 minutes for them to bother calling us, with an attitude that was reflected in the staff - no exceptions to rules no matter how much you spend in the resort. We felt unwelcome & disrespected as paying customers, surely spending more than $500AUD buys a swim at a beach with our own towel? Having visited resorts in Rarotonga, Atiu, Aitutaki, Upolu, Savai'i, Niue, Fiji & New Caledonia this is the first time this has ever happened. Would definitely not recommend.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Ultrvixen,
We made the decision over a year ago not to allow access to the beach and the pool to outside day guests as residents resort guests were complaining of noise, of not being able to find sun lounges available on the beach and of general disturbance. There were days where we may have had 20 outside guests on the beach, and our resort accommodates only 30.
We do not make exception as it would become an unmanageable position.
I am sorry you were not advised at the time when you made the reservation for the spa and the restaurant of this, and I am sorry you felt unwelcome as the result of our staff following their instructions. Had you asked specifically to use the beach at the time of your bookings, our staff would have definitely told you that it was going to be off limits. As you can appreciate it is a policy that will upset some people, but will allow others to make glowing recommendation not only because of the service they received, but for the peace and the serenity the Havannah offers.
Kind regards
Frederick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

DO NOT MISS OUT ON THIS VERY SPECIAL PLACE IT IS AMAZING! The best place we have ever stayed and we stayed at Le Meridien, Bora Bora, Tahiti last year. From the ground staff, the waiters and waitresses to the admin staff this is the most incredible place we have stayed. Frederic, the General manager is above outstanding he gives by far the best customer service we have ever experienced, from the time you arrive to to time you leave he makes sure that your stay is perfection. The room is very clean. The mini bar can be stocked with whatever you want, alcohol, soft drinks, snacks etc. It is best to order this before you arrive that way the staff can make sure it is available, just email the resort and Marika will arrange this, she will also arrange pick up and drop off to the airport. if you have not organised this with your travel provider. The menu is excellent and daily specials are available. Xmas Eve was very special and we would like to thank Frederic for making it special. The local taxi drivers will organise to take you to the local attractions, see recption staff at the resort to organise this. There is a complimentary shuttle each morning at 10am to return at 4pm each day. There is also a complimentary sunset cruise each night, this can also be arranged through reception. We were in room 7 and from room 6 to 10 there is a pool shared amongst the rooms which is great fun and you get to meet your neighbours if you wish. There is also a swim up pool bar where you can organise food and drinks. The best thing about this resort is that there are no children under 16. Very private and romantic. We will definitely be returning. If you read our other reviews you will see that we only let people know what all resort is really like, we don't embelish reviews, and only give reviews if we have stayed at that particular resort.

Room Tip: Choose rooms 7, 8 or 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Speedymary6
Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing to stay at the Havannah over Christmas. We endeavor to keep Christmas simple and I am glad you enjoyed it. I will pass on your comments to our staff and I thank you for the compliment you afford me.
We look forward to welcoming you both in the near future.
Happy New Year!
Kind regards
Frederick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Havannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havannah

Address: Samoa Point, Port Havannah, Efate 1111, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Havannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Port Havannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Havannah 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Havannah is Vanuatu's adult only luxury retreat for couples. Located just 30 minutes drive from the International Airport the Havannah overlooks the pristine waters of Havannah Harbour on the northern side of the main island of Efate. The tranquility of the resort makes it an ideal place to unwind and rediscover yourself and each other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Havannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havannah Hotel Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Havannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.