We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Havannah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Havannah to your Saves list
The Havannah
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Samoa Point, Port Havannah, Efate 1111, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Havannah
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed for 3 days at the Havannah. We had a fantastic time there. The staff are truly excellent! They were friendly, accommodating and professional. Everyone single one of them smiled when we met them and each made us feel so welcome. I cannot say enough good things about the them. The managers were efficient, welcoming and professional the staff upbeat and friendly. The famous Vanuatu smiles were in abundance here! Several times individuals went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. This included getting homemade Laplap (spelling?) from the village across the bay from one staff member's mother to arranging boat transport for turtle watching.
The location is spectacular-- the bay gorgeous, the corals interesting, the water crystal clear. The rooms were beautiful, spotless-- and very well appointed. We miss the Havannah and hope to visit again soon. Thank you to the staff and to the management at the Havannah for giving us such a amazing vacation!

Room Tip: Try for one of the original villas on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    33
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
265
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Highly recommend if you are looking for a lovely peaceful getaway. Good service from majority of staff. Could improve in regards to activities however.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed at The Havannah for 7 nights for our Honeymoon, it was paradise! An absolutely stunning place, that is well appointed, in a beautiful location, with amazing food in the restaurant & well designed villas overlooking the ocean. The staff are very friendly & nothing is ever too much trouble. We ate dinner one night on the jetty which was very romantic and also one night on the beach, this was great but unfortunate that there was another couple that were very drunk also dining on the beach that night. They came across to be very rude to the staff and the gentleman was incredibly inconsiderate, especially when he started singing at the top of his voice & yelling rudely at the staff. When we mentioned this to Management they were most apologetic and handled it very well. We are definitely looking forward to returning to paradise one day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

I and my husband had our honeymoon at the Havannah...The place, services, staff, food everything was amazing .....even the cocktails and coffee were extraordinary.....if u r heading that way, do do the island drop off......its absolutely beautiful...
We are extremely thankful to the people at Havannah for making our honeymoon so very memorable......

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We chose to stay at the The Havannah for our Honeymoon and although the price might scare you initially, it is by far the most amazing and peaceful destination we have traveled to. It had not been long opened (maybe a year) since we stayed and there was only six villas with the view to expand as they were building (albeit they were relatively quiet as they were building up the other end from our hut.)

I am not usually one for quiet and relaxing holidays, but this time I thought I would give it go because the pictures of the ocean just looked to good to be true - Although you are in the middle of nowhere, it really is paradise. There are still things to do at the havannah including fishing to picnic on a private island and endless snorkeling. It was a romantic holiday with dinner on the jetty, private cruise and all the trimmings. Great personalized staff with the most beautiful and brightest smiles you will ever see.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the havannah for one week - it was absolutely amazing. The resort is beautiful, anything you need is no trouble to the workers. The service standards of Ishmal, Jonathan, Jerry, Helen, Anita, Hina, La La was outstanding! they all really made our trip. Our house keeper Betty was a darling she made our room spotless and cleaned our clothes, nothing was too much trouble for her. Paul George and Carlo really work hard and are professional completing their duties. A special mention to Israel who took us to town and really looked after us when our cab didn't show up, he assisted us and instead of leaving us he took really good care of us.
Tish the resort manager is quite a hard woman, tends to micro manage the workers and at times she talks down upon them in front of guests which isn't very professional. We realize she is fairly in the resort but those workers deserve more credit then what we saw.
Tyrone the chief was brilliant, anything we asked for was served he is fairly new and will be a great asset to the havannah.
The rooms with the plunge pools are amazing I highly recommend them!
Overall our stay was fantastic and would recommend this resort to anyone traveling to Vanuatu.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

This was my first trip overseas so it was very different to Australia but in a good way... The Vanuatu people are so lovely and have so much respect for the tourists. From the airport we got a transfer to our resort which was around a 20 minute drive... I freaked out a little as they drive on the opposite side of the road and they don't really abide by our road rules which was quite funny... Overtaking on a turn etc haha. We got used to it though.

My husband and I stayed 7 nights at the Havanah for our Honeymoon and we could not have been happier. It seriously took our breath away... We read all these reviews on how amazing and how clean it was but you can't imagine it until you see it for yourself. We received fruit smoothies upon arrival which mind you we ended up getting these everyday because it was absolutely deliciously fresh. We stayed in the Beachfront Villa with our own private plunge pool... I totally recommend this room as it was to die for!

The snorkelling was amazing the free use of all the equipement was really handy. We met some lovely people there but not as lovely as the workers and managers! I cannot believe how helpfull and friendly they were... It was nice having them come and have a chat to you about Vanuatu while eating our meals. Jonathan and Ishmael were so awesome and the house keeper Betty was beautiful.

Our rooms were cleaned every morning around 8am and then they went in around dinner time to prep the room for bed :) AWESOME! I felt so lazy!

Food was amazing and the chef was extraordinary! ... The only downfall was that the meals were way too over the top... I just wanted a sandwich sometimes or a good old parma some nights.

We went into town a fair few times which were great! Be aware though that if you were planning of buying clothes or bikini's in Vanuatu you won't have any luck. I didn't do much shopping at all!

One of my favourite things in Port Villa were the Jet Ski (not really jet ski's but similar) around some of the island. It was so much fun and the tour guide was really cool and kept making fun of me because I was wearing contacts which ended up having a heap of salt in them =) We did the waterfall tour which was great too... The views are just amazing and seriously it was so perfect that at times I thought it was all man made! There's a dog on the tour which is actually very entertaining,,,, He's so smart!

In all honesty we had the best time at the actual resort then in town... You have everything there! Total Luxury! We did so much during the day that most nights my husband and I would have dinner and then borrow a movie from reception and watch it in our rooms.

We were there in October last year while the reno's were on so we were worried it was going to be noisy... We didn't even hear a peep!

If I go to Vanuatu again there is no way I'd stay anywhere else then the Havannah! I loved it so much! I really didn't want to go home and we hated saying goodbye to the Management and Staff!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Havannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havannah

Address: Samoa Point, Port Havannah, Efate 1111, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Havannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Havannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Havannah 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Havannah is Vanuatu's adult only luxury retreat for couples. Located just 30 minutes drive from the International Airport the Havannah overlooks the pristine waters of Havannah Harbour on the northern side of the main island of Efate. The tranquility of the resort makes it an ideal place to unwind and rediscover yourself and each other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Havannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havannah Hotel Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Havannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.