We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooked to perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Cumberland

Duke of Cumberland
Henley, Midhurst GU273HQ, England
01428 652280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Henley
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cooked to perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Beautiful setting off the beaten track, nice cosy atmosphere with fabulous food, would definitely go again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    39
    14
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Staying at sister and brother-in-laws house for Easter weekend, we asked if we could treat them to dinner out on the Saturday. A table had already been booked and we were told briefly about this pub that has great food! It wasn't far from their village and we travelled through lovely country lanes to the sweet hamlet of Henley. There was a great buzzy feeling even before we entered the pub garden, as groups of people were sitting outside or standing under the gazebo where there was an impressive fire roaring...note to self...want one of those in my garden!
We walked into a gorgeous and cute little pub...very small and cosy rooms where the buzz kept going and so many peeps were enjoying their dinners. We were seated in the room to the right of the bar. Compact and bijou in the nicest possible way! The decor is simple and ve ve inviting...just loved it!
The starters were delicious...no complaints from me about the simplest smoked salmon dish...mmm! Then, a surprise...a very nice young chap brought us an amuse bouche which was incredibly scrummy...a very garlicky mini soup...we all fancied a whole bowl of it!
Main courses arrived. One was a salmon linguine...a huge portion, which was finished off by one of the gents! Husband had the pork belly and said it was one of the best versions he'd had. Brother-in-law had the same and pronounced it very good. I had a beautifully cooked sea bass, yes, I know I had already had a fish starter but I don't care! It was superb and so were the accompanying veggies. Puds...mmm, wine...excellent and the service really very good. All the staff deserve all the praise they can get!
The bar man had to warn the table of four peeps next to us, that he had to put ice in the ice bucket every now and again. The ice bucket was on the bar, just above their heads, (and it made such a racket) but they took it in good part, and they all seemed happy and enjoyed their dinners. Maybe bar staff could just take the ice bucket away from the top of the bar to fill it...??!!
All in all, we had a fabulous evening and can't wait to go down to stay with SIL and BIL again and persuade them to book us in to the Duke of Cumberland. Mouth is watering already!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Food and service was excellent. The actual situation of the Pub was beautiful. They have recently built on an extension for the Restaurant in very good taste. Highly recommend you take the time to stop by.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Six of us traveled to this Giles Coren ('simple unimpeachable food') recommended restaurant and the location was gorgeous however two of our main courses were very poor, the 'Cornish day-boat caught ale-battered haddock' was grey,tasteless and covered with a rubbery batter which was rejected and credited and the 'Crab linguine' was soaked in cream which is not a correct ingredient. Very disappointing.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exquisite Food, Service and Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Duke of Cumberland is quite simply the standard by which all other pubs and restaurants should be judged. The food and service is on a par with some Michelin star restaurants and the view encompassing three counties is breath taking. This pub is deserving of all the superlatives you will read and that’s the only reason I add my review to the existing fans of the Duke. It’s the kind of place you only want to tell the special people in your life about...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of Cumberland also viewed

Midhurst, West Sussex
 
Midhurst, West Sussex
 

Been to Duke of Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Cumberland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.