We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, a bit English” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de la Poste

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de la Poste to your Saves list
Chateau de la Poste
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ronchinne 25 | Maillen, Assesse 5330, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Assesse
Zeist, Utrecht, Netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, a bit English”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Beautiful located on top of a hill, overlooking the hills and a little lake. The staff is very friendly. Hotel bar is cozy, but the night porter (also bar tender) was not really eager to get our bills up. Rooms are large and nice cool, due to high ceilings. Too bad I had no shower, only a bath tub with shower. Breakfast very fresh and healthy. Lots of opportunities to work out. If you run, make sure to bring a light or just be very visible on the road, where the Belgians drive past on rally speed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aude C, Responsable relations publiques at Chateau de la Poste, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for your feedback :)

See you next time for one new sweet moment in the nature to discover the local products :)

Best regards

Aude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    71
    34
    12
    13
See reviews for
47
97
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great value for money.Breakfast is nice, although a bit expensive.The rooms were simple but nice and the location is simply stunning.It looks more suited for couples than families.The parking is a bit far.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aude C, Responsable relations publiques at Chateau de la Poste, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Moraia,
Thank you for your feedback!
For breakfast, the product quality is very important and it also justifies its price.
For parking, we want to keep the charm and avoid noise and visual polution.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
See you soon!

Aude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Problem 1 - We were given room 415 - a tiny room, only big enough for a double bed. It had one small, high cell-like window and was painted dark green. The wardrobe (open shelves and limited hanging) was in the shower room. I am claustrophobic when faced with small underground spaces but I've never felt panic-stricken in a first floor room before. I went back to the desk and explained the problem. Basically we were going to take the hit and pay for the room if necessary, but we couldn't sleep in there.
Plus Point 1 - The lovely young man behind the desk took the situation seriously and found us a room on the top floor of the main building with a larger window.
Plus Point 2 - On the first night we were able to eat a romantic meal on the terrace outside the dining room, looking down over the parkland and beautiful Ardennes countryside.
Problem 2 - On the Friday night the buffet meal cost 30 Euros per head - a bit steep but worth it after a day's travelling. On the Saturday night the buffet meal cost 35 Euros - for the same number of courses and range of choice. After this, the restaurant was closed in the evenings - with no explanation. There was no 'A la carte' meal offered during our stay.
Plus Point 3 - The beautiful grounds and the views from the main rooms in the chateau. The quiet position.
Problem 3 - Being forced to picnic in your room in the evening if you don't want to drive for a meal.
Plus Point 4 - The insane décor in the bar and lounge areas.
Problem 4 - Even the bedrooms in the main house are quiet small and they feel even smaller due to the dark colours on the walls.
Would we stay here again - No. We think it's a 'Marmite' hotel - you either love it or loathe it! However it's clear that it has a thriving wedding business and local people use it for family gathering and celebrations. It also seem to have a loyal customer base and a good number of rooms were taken for most of our visit.
A strange place..........

Room Tip: Treat any room in the 300s and 400s with concern. There may be some good ones but we couldn't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 403, it's like a small cave (10 m2) with a wall in front of the window and accessible via a steep staircase!!!
Claustrophobic and scared of heights stay away...
This hotel states to have "42 bedrooms with a stunning view on the forest", but that's misleading advertising... as half of the rooms (#300s and #400s that are not located at the main castle) are very small and difficult to access.
In fact only rooms #100s or #200s are actually in the castle and are worth the stay.
Staff was not able to find a solution, they placed us "back to the wall" in every sense, kept finding excuses and customer service is definitely not their strength. Moreover we have been discriminated for not having kids as all nice rooms are reserved for "families" and we were not worth the room change... So, better go with / borrow "a kid" to make sure that you get a decent room...!
For 165€ a night (price stated behind room door #403) I am sure you can find a better place to stay in Belgian Ardennes...

Room Tip: Only rooms #100s or #200s are in the castle and are worth the stay. AVOID rooms #300s and #400s as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The facility has a beautiful exterior but I think the room interior decorator must have issues. The room was large with dark walls,minimal lighting, small windows and no air movement. Asked about a fan move air but none was available. A raised bathroom was a trip hazard and it was a step up. We received an email that the restaurant was going to be closed and they helped arrange reservations at a restaurant a few kilometers away. I would stay there again but would request a different room and brig a small fan. With a few color changes, it would be a nice place. I would not recommend breakfast, it is not worth the price -minimal selection.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

If you like big old buildings with a nice modern and functional interior, hidden away in a big forest yet close to various towns, chateau de la Poste is great!
We spent three nights at the hotel, with our 6mths old son. Staff was very friendly (and oh so forgiving for my crappy French), approachable and helpful. Breakfast was lovely, loads to chose from. The big terrace overlooking a valley&the forest were absolutely inviting for a nice drink. The interior communal rooms had big chairs, comfy sofas and magnificient views.
The sun deck gave even more splendid views of the terrain.
The rooms are small but sufficient and just like bathrooms up to modern standards.
The terrain offers loads of activities-from mountainbiking, to long and short walking routes, there's a tree hut and a cube to stay at. I think it is a lovely hotel that we will definitely come back to.
The only thing I would like to see changed or adapted is the lack of vegetarian options at dinner-the buffet (weekend) had two salads that werw vegetarian, and the seated dinner option for throughout the week had no vegetarian main course on offer. Yet the fresh baked bread is amazing, as are the desserts! Yum!

Oh,and for families with small children: make sure to bring a baby carrier so you can make good use of the terrain...we forgot ours and had to miss out on lovely walks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went at the castle for a family week-end and we enjoyed it very much. The location is great, both inside and outside. There are many things worth visiting in the area around the castle. There is also a mini-golf, billiard, table tennis, etc... The atmosphere inside is very relaxed, which was fine for us, but also mean that you must not expect three-star service, sometimes you have to look for someone to serve the drinks, which was not a problem. On the second day we had a guided tour around the castle, which was very interesting. We appreciated that the bar and terrace are restricted to hotel clients, which means you can really enjoy the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Poste

Address: Ronchinne 25 | Maillen, Assesse 5330, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Namur Province > Assesse
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Assesse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de la Poste 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de la Poste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.