We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less is less” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de la Poste

Save Saved
You added Chateau de la Poste to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de la Poste
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ronchinne 25 | Maillen, Assesse 5330, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Assesse
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Less is less”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

On a recent trip to Luxembourg, I decided to make a short detour to visit a "design place, out in the country" which, in a near future, could be a nice weekend-destination, very close to home. Given the exceptionally poor weather (the near-freezing spring temperatures), my desire to discover, first-hand, the hotel combined with the prospect of an espresso, I kindly inquired at the reception desk whether a cup of coffee would be possible. Although the place was empty - empty - , a young woman, devoid of charm, in sync with a male character, tapping on his computer, explained that this was impossible and continued processing whatever she was processing. Apparently, design and the art of traveling (e.g., welcoming a visitor, inquiring about how things are, ...) do not, automatically, go hand in hand. Planning and logistics can, possibly, prevent opening up the place to all visitors; it makes sense and it is, of course, more than acceptable. But being oblivious to dialogue and impervious to the specifics of a situation, ... is just rude and not on par with true style and luxury the place pretends to mirrors. People first. Being rude, especially in this league, never pays off.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    50
    24
    11
    11
See reviews for
35
77
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Im not one for writing reviews, but felt inclined to write something after my visit to Chateau de la Poste. This castle is situated in a beautiful part of Belgium, and the castle itself is very tastefully decorated. However, that is where the good things end. Unfortunately the rude staff (an experience also shared by friends who were there) made the visit unpleasant. This was coupled with terrible food. I even ended up sending back my food to the kitchen one night. Thus it was a true disappointment to have such a nice venue being spoiled by bad service and bad food.

So, if you are just looking for a nature experience, then Chateau de la Poste is worth the visit. For anything else, I would recommend choosing somewhere else in the region. There are so many other nice castles in Belgium!

Room Tip: Just choose another castle ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Difficult to write a review on this hotel. As it is a quite unusual mix of 'things' and a review as such depends on what you are looking for. 1. the chateau was a former 'holiday - resort' for the employees of the Belgian Post (after King Leopold II's daughter Clementine moved out). As such the current owners still see it as a resort / retreat for companies that come with large groups for team building activities. It might also be a good place to come with a bunch of friends and lots of kids (all activities you can imagine but a pool are foreseen). In other words it's not a romantic getaway at all, despite the misleading pictures on the website. 2. the surroundings are beautiful, spledid nature close to Brussels (45 mins) and close to Wallonia's cutest villages (Crupet, Mozet, ...) and as such worth going there 3. There is one 'romantic' secret: The loft cube. the loft cube is a German invention (think of it as a huge design caravan only it has no wheels and it offers a 360° view) that can be found on several locations in Europe but here it is set in the woods with a view on the castle and the woods. At night you see and hear the woods, at daytime you see the same woods, unfortunately also some incentive groups doing the typical 'team building activities'. The weird thing is that many of these (a 'frisbee' post, huge tubs for drinking and dinner events, are posted next to the loft cube). When we were here none of these activities were held but I can imagine it ruins the atmosphere when such things are organized around your loft or 'love' cube). Check before going...? (there also is a tiny treehut but that looked rather unattractive) 4. the castle itself has a pleasant and well decorated (huge) multiple area lobby, which was completely empty when we stayed in the loft and as such a bit awkward 5. the restaurant is tailor made for the big groups and unattractive for couples (also for your breakfast it is not really cosy). I suggest to go out for dinner (like the very good 'La plage d'Amée in Jambes which is only a 15min drive away) 5. mountain bikes are free to use. Conclusion: great place for groups, poor place for a romantic getaway unless you opt for the Loft Cube which is a great experience and have the luck nothing is organized that spoils your view.

Room Tip: go for the 'loft cube' if this is your place for a romantic getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The chateau is really great; a very pleasant building (a chateau as a chateau was meant to be). The redesign of the hotel was done very well. We loved the colouring of the room and the (eco) deerhead. But the staff was not really warm of interested. The surroundings were beautiful although the weather was pour.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We went to this hotel for a romantic weekend and ended up with a big disappointment. Upon our arrival, the lady at the desk could not find our reservation. After a long search she did found it under a different name but with our address ?... As a surprise for my husband I had arranged a massage. When I asked the lady for more information about our massage, she said:"Oh, but you called me this afternoon to cancel the massage." None of it was true, we hadn't called the hotel and most certainly hadn't cancelled. Once again, after a long search and some more waiting time, the lady confirmed us that the massage afterall could go trough (although not fully to our expectations).
For dinner we had made a reservation at the hotel restaurant at 8 pm. We were advised by the lady to go at 8.30pm, after the large group!! Yes indeed, there were at least 60 people in the hotel (a group of family friends and noisy children). They acted as if the hotel was their own and so did the staff. All the other guests simply didn't matter and were treated as second hand. That evening we could not eat à la carte, it was only a buffet (as a cause to the group). If you plan on comming to this hotel for a romantic trip, forget it. Only the design interior and surroundings are worth it. If you want to come here as a group, go for it! They will spoil you to death!
If you still plan on going to the hotel after reading this, do not forget to ask for a room in the castel. Otherwise they'll put you in the annexe (small steps, small rooms, ....)

Room Tip: ask for a room in the castel, otherwise you'll end up in one of the annexes
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Attractive chateau in pleasant settings in rural Belgium. This place should be a lot nicer but is spoilt by staff who just don't seem to care. They would make Basil Fawlty look professional. Bad smell in room (as others have commented). Fair prices for room but excessive for anything else including the food. Place is difficult to find. Highly disappointing.

Room Tip: Bring a satnav or map to help you find the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Last year we had a great visit: perfect for the dogs because there's plenty of room. This year we could not stay. At our arrival they told us the rules had changed and dogs were no longer welcome. So we had to find another hotel. And we found it! We were very welcome at hotel Gracia in Wepion, where they didn't even charge us for the dogs.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Poste

Address: Ronchinne 25 | Maillen, Assesse 5330, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Assesse
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Assesse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de la Poste 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chateau de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de la Poste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.