We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view and nice people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Magic Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Magic Mountain Lodge
Stigenvn 24, Lyngseidet 9060 , Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Skibotn, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice view and nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had a meeting in Lyngseidet and used the conference room from Magic Mountain Lodge. Everything was nice. Mostly the cosy living room with view over Lyngseidet and the Lyngenfjord is amazing. And then the food - delicious!
Normally this hostel/lodge is very famous for skiing in the Lyngenalps but the place is worth a visit the whole year around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the MML, to recover from our polartrip and to hike in the Lyngen Alps. It was great. A very relaxed atmosphere, that is combined with an hospitality that really is in line with their slogan 'For travellers, by travellers'. We arrived quite late in the evening, and we enjoyed the Bacalao that was prepared especially for us. And if you want to cook by yourself, the guest-kitchen is well equipped.
They gave us very detailed and accurate instructions about hiking to the top of a mountain, so we learned that it is also 'For hikers, by hikers'. The Lodge is situated in a building that wasn't designed to be an hotel. Not a typical luxury hotel, but big rooms, nice and long beds, good sanitarian and a nice combined breakfast-, living-, dining room with a great view at the Lyngen fjord with sometimes small wales.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rukatunturi, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We ended our week long hiking/glacier trip to Magic Mountain Lodge. Although Norway in general is really expensive country, Magic Mountain Lodge is reasonable priced in every way. From the moment we arrived we had a really warm welcome and the staff is really helpful and nice. I am definitely going to return this winter for my backcountry snowboarding trip. Perfect place to keep your basecamp and do day trips to the mountains.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visit the Magic Mountain Lodge during the July.
My friend had visited the place during the winter time, for off piste skiing and liked the place very much. The aim for our summer visit was to see the Steindalen´s glacier.

We decided to overnight at the Lodge and ask for assistance.
The owners of Magic Mountain Lodge were able to help us to achieve the glacier and even hike on it with us!! I do recommend.
We also visited the Ankerlia open air mine museum and a Gorsa bridge in Birtavarre. The trail from the old mine to the bridge was quite narrow and without any fences, so you might want to ask a guide there as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here for one night during a cycle tour, and it was exactly what I was after. The room was simple (though gigantic) but very comfortable; the balcony has great views of the fjord and mountains. Best of all was the very warm welcome -- and the delicious food: the best fish soup I had in Norway, I think (and I had a lot of fish soup...). They do their main business in the ski-ing season, so it was pretty quiet when I was there, but it's a great place for a summer visit too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here beginning of Mat the 1st week skiing and fishing around.
Good mountain view and easy to catch a fish, because lodge is so close to the sea or fjord.

Room rent included breakfast, packed lunch when you go to ski and buffet dinner. It was fantastic after ski day to go straight to dinner table.

The host family is nice and they give you good instructions where to go.

I definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you want a great starting point for your skitouring adventures in Lyngen this is the place. If you like to fill up your energy reserves by feasting on a daily menu that will make you think your mother is hiding in the kitchen making sure you are well fed this is the place. Rooms are spacious, the balcony where you can sip your local beer has a knockout view and if you run into the hosts they will definitely smile at you while giving you the latest info to help you plan your skitouring. This choice is a very easy one. If you are going to Lyngen you want to stay here. Take it from me and my 12 very happy skitouring friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Mountain Lodge

Address: Stigenvn 24, Lyngseidet 9060 , Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Lyngen Municipality > Lyngseidet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lyngseidet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE LODGEExperience the fjords and the arctic alps of Lyngen penninsula 1,5 h drive from Tromsø. Here in Lyngseidet, Magic Mountain Lodge, run by skiers, offers budget to standard accomodation, decent, mostly local food, bar/after ski, selfservice kitchen & bikerentals. 124 peaks over 1000m, deep valleys, forests and almost a hundred glaciers for you to explore. In jan-march the north...ern light, aurora borrealis is at at display, in april perfect skitouring while from end of may there is the midnight sun. Magic is it not? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Magic Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.