We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent to submerge in nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paraiso Cano Hondo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Paraiso Cano Hondo to your Saves list
Paraiso Cano Hondo
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Parque Los Haitises, Sabana de la Mar, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Dominican Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent to submerge in nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I want to his hotel last year, and I had a surprise, it is very nice site, very quite and peaceful, is over a little river, and you can listen the waterfalls (little) and the current across the property. The cabinets are rustic but comfortable and the people are nice. Located near Los Haitises National Park, is an excellent place to saw birds and walking out or simply rest and take a bath in the river.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    21
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
23
22
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you want to be on true nature, far from everything and everyone, and see something different, this is the place to go.
We love everything. and food was really good.

The only low: mosquitoes for tons. so be prepare for them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franconia, New Hampshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We where last Sunday at this wonderful Hotel. on lunch time waiting for food was a little be longer than other places. when we ask to the receptionist about our food, she explain to as that the process is different and food is not reheated, they use locals to cook. five minutes later our food was ready and really tasty.....my family love this place!!!

Room Tip: ask for zumbador. it have a beautiful view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upala, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We went with Mishael on a kayak tour of the mangroves all the way out to the cave paintings in the park Los Haitis. It had to be the best tour I have done in all of Latin America. It was fun, laid back, active, and our guide was exceptional. He has studied in the states and has excellent English on top of the fact that he works with local Peace Corps volunteers and has tons of knowledge about everything you see. The price was great and it was something we will never forget!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

As a good eater I like to try many restaurants anywhere I visit but the restaurant at Caño Hondo broke all patient eater !!! 2.5 hours to get our food with an empty restaurant !! Be there with a sandwich bag and coke and go ahead with other place. The zip line it short but ver nice and inexpensive.

Room Tip: Terrible food !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Went only to the restaurant and the food is terrible and expensive. Our family went there, we are 9 members and not even one of us were satisfied with the food. I'm not the kind of person that takes his time to write reviews so you you can imagine how bad was it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a night in September 2012 to take a ferry to Samana next morning and this stay was quite an experience. There is not much selection of hotels in Sabana de la Mar, so Paraiso was essentially an only choice. The web page was in Spanish only but with help of some online translator you can learn the basics. Unfortunately, online booking was not possible at the time, so I had to call the hotel. In spite of not speaking any Spanish and thanks to much effort at both ends I successfully book a room few days ahead. Finding the place was a bit challenging, since my GPS map was not very correct and do not count on any signage. The street turns into bumpy dirt road, but keep going, you will get there after few kilometers. The place, because it is more than an ordinary hotel, is designed with deep thought. It blends down into the hill behind and lush green forest. System of streams, ponds and small falls cools the area down and brings serene, relaxed feeling. On our request the hotel organized a private tour of Los Haitites National Park (for an extra charge). Our guide spoke reasonable English, was very knowledgeable and deeply involved – recommended. The hotel was almost empty at the time of our stay, so there was no regular restaurant available, but we were served very good, traditional Dominican dinner enjoying the meal on the patio. The rood was basic, with no AC but with bath and hot shower. For some strange reason the temperature at night was quite peasant and we did not feel the AC was really necessary. This is probably due to shadow of the hill and all that water flowing thou the property.
Entire stay was very pleasant and surprisingly comfortable but not cheap. We paid for the room, tour and the dinner together, so it is hard to tell how much for each of them separate, but it was at upper mid range level. We enjoyed our time and this happened to be one of the highlights of our Dominican vacations. If you do not require luxury, are open to new ideas and a bit adventurous I can definitively recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paraiso Cano Hondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraiso Cano Hondo

Address: Parque Los Haitises, Sabana de la Mar, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Hato Mayor Province > Sabana de la Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sabana de la Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paraiso Cano Hondo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Paraiso Cano Hondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso Cano Hondo Hotel Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paraiso Cano Hondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.