We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Budget but good hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gokulam Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gokulam Park to your Saves list
Gokulam Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Opp. P.V.S. Hospital | Kaloor, Kaloor, Kochi (Cochin) 682017, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaloor
HyderabadChick
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not Budget but good hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

1 hour from airport with traffic/ 30-40 minutes without traffic.

I'm black and travelled with a white female colleague.
The staff was very helpful, especially, Ameer. There was no staring. As 2 female travellers, we felt safe. The staff understood our US english. The hotel was clean, rooms were standard for Western travelers: Hot water, good water pressure, no power outages.

Rooms are kind of noisy since Gokulam is in the heart of the city. MG Road is nearby (Rs. 20 by autorickshaw) so there's plenty of shopping.

Room service was prompt but the food wasn't great. Continental breakfast wasn't good either but Westerners won't starve. Lunch and dinner offered nice buffets. I liked both the continental & South Indian dishes on offer. There was live music on Saturday night. The bar seemed nice.

Didn't try the pool, but it looked tempting. The hotel is 5 years old - the pool looked new and quite clean.

Plenty of autorickshaws in the area. Ask the concierge as they seem not to stop for foreigners.

Visit Mattancherry and Fort Kochi for museums, spice garden, palaces, churches and temples. Mattancherry is very laid back compared to Ernakulam. Almost like Goa, but not a party town.
Kathakali performance in Mattancherry is better than at the Culture Center in Ernakulam.

  • Liked — proximity to airport
  • Disliked — rooms smell of mold
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    73
    36
    4
    9
See reviews for
38
16
15
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

I stayed here for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of my stay. The staff were most helpful with booking tours and organising for transport.

The buffet breakfast was incluided in the price and had a wide variety of dishes, both traditional and western. They also offered buffet lunch and dinner as well as an a la carte menu, all of which was delicious!

The rooms are well insulated from the hustle and bustle of the busy main road outside, and they were spacious and clean too.

Overall, I would recommend it to anyone staying in Cochin.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2007

Sorry for the late review. We stayed at the park Inn just under 1 year ago, but I have noticed it hasn't had a review so I hope this helps. We managed to get a good package deal with manos for this hotel. I haved stayed in some rough hotels in Kovalam so I was pleasantly surprised by this one. It is by no means luxary but it has charm.

We stayed in the older rooms which have a better view to the sea. The room was comfortable, spacious and clean. It also has a nice balcony. The walls must be thick because we didnt hear the occupants next door. However there is a very small temple next to the hotel which rings a bell very loadly at various times of the morning (quite early) and evening. We popped into the temple and were greeted very warmly.

What makes this hotel is the views across the palmed hill to the sea. This of course means that it is high up and it can be an energetic walk to the beach. The walk takes about 10 minutes down hill and 20 rupees in a tuk tuk back to the hotel.

The food in the hotel wasn't great when we stayed however there are so many good quality restaurants on the beach that it didn't matter too much (try and seek out the lonely planet restaurant, very highly recommended). They did a barbque pool side on a few evenings each week but we didn't take this up. The waiters English wasn't the best however this didn't matter because they were very polite and tried very hard to please. We enjoyed our evenings at the pool, drinking our drinks, looking out to the fishing boats in the sea.

If you go with a sense of humour expecting a small, budget hotel then you will love this place. Its quiet and perfect for relaxing and the hotel manager will do everything he can to enhance your stay.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2007

A nice modern hotel, fairly big rooms with clean bathrooms. Service was good. Wide variety at the buffet breakfast.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo sri lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2006

We stayed at Gokulam Park Inn in Cochin, India in April 2005. We had a wonderful time there. The staff was very friendly and efficient and genuinely interested in our welfare.

The rooms were large, comfortable, well laid out and most importantly, clean,. The bathroom was relatively big and very clean and that is saying alot since I am notoriously finiky. The food at the restaurants and room service was very good.

In Cochin, you sort of have to bargain with the taxi or tuk tuk drivers and the folks at the hotel were excellent at haggling for us and advicing us on the 'local' price for transportation and such.

Since we are from Sri Lanka, many people thought we were Indian and we were charged 'Indian' rates outside of the hotel, so that way we knew that the staff at the hotel were giving us sound advice.

We really had a pleasant time at this hotel. I am very picky and I came back quite pleased and relaxed. The atmosphere was good, the hotel well maintained, the rooms and bathrooms clean, and the food was very good.

In all, I would recommend this hotel and definitely go back there providing they have maintained their standards.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gokulam Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gokulam Park

Address: Opp. P.V.S. Hospital | Kaloor, Kaloor, Kochi (Cochin) 682017, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Kaloor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaloor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gokulam Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gokulam Park, a Sarovar Portico hotel, is Centrally located opposite PVS Hospital in Kaloor, Cochin. The hotel is conveniently situated in the city's business and prime shopping hub. Kochi, the commercial capital of Kerala is indeed the 'Queen of the Arabian Sea,' where ancient civilization gracefully mingles with modern life. You can choose from 65 well-furnished superior room and executive suites, tastefully decorated and appointed with amenities such as air-conditioner, wall-to-wall carpeting, mini bar, en-suite bath complete with toiletries and a supply of hot and cold running water, mini bar, a safe, direct dial telephone, satellite television and attended to a round the clock room service. All the bathrooms are equipped with tubs and telephones, besides a sprinkler and smoke detector in each room. You can enjoy your meals at 'Periyar,' an in-site restaurant serving delicious multi-cuisine fare. 'Champs' is the 70-seater sports bar stocking a variety of liquor and soft beverages. If you are in mood for some deep sea delights, head to 'Yovan Restro Spa', a seafood specialty restaurant. Among other facilities, Gokulam Park provides corporates with a well-equipped business centre, in addition to dry-cleaning and laundry service, high speed internet access, fitness centre, banquet room and foreign exchange counter among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gokulam Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gokulam Park Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Park Inn Gokulam
Park Inn Kochi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gokulam Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.