We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do your research !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Belresort Ghantoot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss-Belresort Ghantoot to your Saves list
Swiss-Belresort Ghantoot
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Exit 399, Dubai - Abu Dhabi Highway, Ghantoot 126969, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Five Continents Cassells Beach Resort and Spa - Ghantoot)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ghantoot
1 review
“Do your research !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I needed a hotel in the Dubai area for 1 night as had just driven over from Riyadh and was heading back the next day. Dubai isn't short of hotels but it was 30 December and most were full for New Years or charging a lot of money. I found this hotel on a web search and the location is not in Dubai city but around 20 minutes out on the coast at Ghantoot heading back towards Abu Dhabi which fitted my plans. The rate was half the price of the other hotels I had seen including the Golden Tulip which is also in Ghantoot.
On arrival the hotel is in a super location on an inlet from the sea with yachts moored up and a beach. It's an impressive building resembling a palace. The staff were minimal but friendly and helpful, we had a twin room overlooking the sea which is one of the largest I have ever stayed in - absolutely huge and a massive balcony.
The hotel is dry and doesn't have a bar but the Golden Tulip next door does.
Breakfast was buffet style and more than enough.
I've read several negative comments about this hotel which is unfortunate as if people did a little research first they would know it isn't in the middle of Dubai and doesn't have a bar.The value for money factor is huge and the hotel does provide free transport to Dubai Battuta Mall. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I cannot believe that this hotel has been accredited 4 stars - particularly in the UAE, where virtually all hotels surpass standard expectations. The Swiss-Belresort is tatty and bares all the markings of a struggling business. The grandeur of the outside building itself is effectively eroded upon stepping inside, where, in parts, the carpets are threadbare, and one of the two old-fashioned elevators remains out of order.
A friend and I stayed here for two nights during the Eid holiday. I experienced the worst treatment I ever had whilst staying here, as a large sum of money was stolen from my handbag on the premises. This occurred either at the poolside or, more likely, on the 'private' beach when I chose to partake in some water activities. I was foolish enough to leave my belongings with the people in charge of jetskiing, and when I returned, all paper money had been stolen from my purse. As soon as I had discovered this, I reported it to reception and hotel management immediately. What came as more of a shock than the theft was the unprofessional manner in which ALL members of staff handled it. I was made to sit at reception for over 30 minutes whilst management supposedly sent members of staff to 'investigate'. When I asked if there was any security footage that could be looked at, they told me no. The hotel shirked all responsibility for the theft, telling me that they were not affiliated with the third-party responsible for organising the water sports. I was then forced to borrow money from my friend to pay the 300 Dirham (€60) for the thirty-minute jetskiing session I had had.
As someone who has past experience working in hotels, I am flabbergasted regarding how this hotel treats its guests. We booked the hotel through a supposed deal on GroupOn. Never again will I make such a mistake - a mistake which ruined our Eid break, and I more than had to pay for.

Room Tip: If you simply MUST make the trip to Ghantoot, try the Golden Tulip hotel nearby - this hotel is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at Swiss Belresort Ghantoot hotel this last weekend, as we had a convention for our kids. This hotel is alot better than what is rated over here, depending on what you want. First of all service was excellent, as everyone in the hotel went out of their way to please us, be it Jeri, or Joan, Mr. Hadi, or the chefs including Imran, everyone was very helpful.

It is between Abu Dhabi and Dubai, so if you are a tourist thinking of visiting the cities this is not the hotel for you as it is at least 45 minutes from both Abu Dhabi and Dubai. However if you are looking for relaxation this hotel hits all the points... A nice pool, a volleyball court, a basketball court, a tennis court, and to top it off with a beach. Food was really good, and the rooms were spacious and had everything you need. Shower was good with hot water and the meeting rooms were everything we needed.

In conclusion: looking for relaxation at good value in a good hotel this does the job.

PROS:
Service Food Facilities
Value Cleanliness

Cons:
Location

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The standard rooms are located in the "Chalet" area. Old place, normal keys for rooms, not access cards.

Buffet is very bad.

No heaters in the swimming pool. Water almost freeze.

The wifi in the lounge area was not the quickest and the cost of it in the rooms was quite expensive.

No care at all. One night is enough for you to decide to leave and not to come back again there.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

The standard rooms are located in the "Chalet" on the far side of the car park. The quality of the rooms is not amazing but adequate.

The beds are like sleeping on the floor as they are so hard and there is absolutely no give in the mattress whatsoever.

Breakfast is OK but if this is not included in the booking it is a little expensive.

The wifi in the lounge area was not the quickest and the cost of it in the rooms was quite expensive.

Overall the hotel is not great but but it's not so bad you can't possibly stay there.

Room Tip: Don't book a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

1. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, looking for the Swiss-Belresort or Five Continents road signs while driving will not help at all because the hotel name on the road signs is "Cassells Ghantoot Hotel". Even after you arrive to hotel, you might still be in doubt if it is the right place because the hotel signage at the entrance is "Five Continents". We booked it under Swiss-Belresort hotel name, such a dilemma.
2. We booked for two double rooms for 4 people, and found out at the hotel that they thought 4 people will stay at one room! Spent like half an hour to rearrange rooms as booked online.
3. Limited food choices especially om breakfast and available two options are pricey i.e. 85 AED+tax.
4. Clean rooms, kind housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Everything is horrible in this place:
-> Chalets (as they named it) are extra bedrooms built at the end of garden far outside from hotel
-> Furnitures in bedrooms are bad and everything different
-> Beds are hard as concrete !
-> Bathrooms are in really bad conditions, don't expect pressure for water and hot water is not avalaible
-> they print your bill on back of an old previous customer invoice (I appreciate the idea to save paper and ressources but very concerned about confidentiality of customers)
-> Food is really bad and absolutely no taste
-> Very noisy in evening with people coming back from swimming-pool

TO AVOID ABSOLUTELY !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss-Belresort Ghantoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belresort Ghantoot

Address: Exit 399, Dubai - Abu Dhabi Highway, Ghantoot 126969, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Five Continents Cassells Beach Resort and Spa - Ghantoot)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Ghantoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ghantoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Belresort Ghantoot 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belresort Cassells Ghantoot is a cultural heritage that rests on the shores of the Arabian Gulf. It was built many years ago as the Palace for the ruler of Abu Dhabi and was later converted into a resort for the guests to feel the essence of the local royal tradition prevalent from the lobby to the rooms. The building architecture resonates with the tastes of the rich Arabic lifestyle with its golden walls, dome style high ceilings, balconies, and extremely large living spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Swiss-Belresort Ghantoot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassells Ghantoot Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Belresort Ghantoot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.