We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time and money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Birdies Restaurant, The Tap Inn

Birdies Restaurant, The Tap Inn
76 Rundle St, Kent Town, South Australia 5067, Australia
(08) 8362 2116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Kent Town
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time and money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very disappointed that the new owners aren't honouring the Entertainment Book discount voucher. It was the only reason we went there so that was the start. The chips that came out with two meals were stone cold, and when they came back from the kitchen, we obviously had the last dregs of the chips as they were tiny and hard. The prices for this pub style meals are overpriced and overall not a good impression. Will never come back here again for a meal. The place is starting is starting to show its age and is a bit run down now.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    14
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went to lunch at the Tap Inn and I have to say that it wasn't bad but it also wasn't very good.
Typical pub food at now over the top prices. There are so many better places in Adelaide to get a meal I don't see why you would go there. The golf area is really run down haven't done any maintenance for ages.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really disappointing, but could be great with some work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

So much potential. Staff are good, but the food was really average. Very tired pub that could be fantastic with a bit of quality from the kitchen. Menu looks good, but doesn't deliver. Golf section hasn't been looked after for 10 years and could be such a quirky draw card.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Went for my partners birthday on Saturday night, the restaurant was empty. We had table booked for 9 people at 7, our entrees took half an hour and mains took an hour after that. 5 of the mains were average however the beef schnitzel was off and had to be returned, they don't do split bad either. This was my first visit and it will sadly be the least

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't go here unless you want a terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We booked a room for dinner for 42 people to commence at 7.45pm with a set menu. At 8.00 we were still waiting for wine and drinks. At 8.30 we finally received our entrees, but despite our notifying them of one of our guests having severe allergies to peanuts, they served up peanut satay and I had to ask for a separate meal. we received our main meal at 8.50pm and the food was not to standard expected.

Terrible service and ordinary food. Don't bother going here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birdies Restaurant, The Tap Inn also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Kent Town, Greater Adelaide
 
Kent Town, Greater Adelaide

Been to Birdies Restaurant, The Tap Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birdies Restaurant, The Tap Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.