We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure Lodge & Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Lodge & Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Lodge & Motel to your Saves list
Adventure Lodge & Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   21 Carroll Street, Tongariro National Park 3948, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tongariro Freedom Package
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Adventure Lodge & Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Extremely friendly and helpful owners. They provided a great breakfast on both morning that we were staying. The shared kitchen facilities were great for those that like to cook their own dinners. It's a good location for access to the mountains. It is also and great little village.

A little expensive, but it is somewhat remote.

Only compliant would be that the walls were quite thin. I had to ask the person next door to turn his TV down. It was late and he had fallen asleep with the TV blaring. :)

I would definitely recommend this place and would happily go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you David for taking the time to review Adventure Lodge, it was such a wonderful day you had to do the winter guided Tongariro Alpine Crossing and I am sure you will remember your adventure in the Tongariro National Park for the rest of your life.

Maybe you will come back and do this in summer - we would love to welcome you back - it is not too far, over the Tasman Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    78
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
34
152
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here two nights and loved it. The owners run the place and it has much more of a personal feel than some larger places.

The bed and sheets were very nice and I had a great sleep. I had a studio unit and it's quite large. Nice to have central heating and TV in the room is a bonus for when you're too tired after a days climbing to go out.

Breakfast was quite good.

Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The room with disabled access (the ramp) has no other rooms directly beside it, so nice a quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We chose this motel based on other positive review and because it fulfilled my requirement: Sky TV (National Park isn't exactly entertainment central at night) & my partner's requirement: a spa pool. Also it looked like a good price for what we were getting and we found that to be perfectly true.

We stayed in one of the motel rooms for 2 nights. When we arrived we found I had mistakenly booked a room with separate beds, not a twin share, and being a couple did not want separate beds, and although the owners had our original room all warned up for us with the heater going were happy enough to move us to a double room which I thought was very nice of them considering it was peak ski season. The room was very big for 2 people - plenty of room for our boards and gear and the drying room was just a hot water cupboard with a fan but did a good job though. The heating was great, never felt cold. Bed was comfy, had a great sleep, and again, lots of warm blankets for the freezing central plateau nights. Parking and privacy were no problem and housekeeping did a good job.

The spa pool is really nice after a day of snowboarding, although it was a bit awkward going to get the key from the desk and then returning it in the cold weather. Other lodges I've stayed at just have free and open use of the spa pools but once in it was nice to have it to ourselves, so no complaints. This policy probably allows them to keep the spa pools in such good condition and not waste energy.

Overall for the price we paid in the peak ski season it was tremendous value and I would stay here again happily. This isn't a 5 star resort and just a little bit long in the tooth in some areas (cutlery for example), but I feel like we got what we expected and paid for - good, clean, tidy accommodation with fantastic service which is why I've given it such a good rating.

One of the reasons I felt the service was so good - a friendly ski report in the morning. If you've never skied at Ruapehu before, local knowledge is invaluable when heading up the mountain as it is so changeable and these guys really knew their stuff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in a Superior King room that had a separate bedroom with king bed, a nice bathroom with towel heater and a living area with small kitchenette, dining table, couch, and single bed in the back. It felt like coming home after a long day of hiking in the cold - we were able to snuggle on the couch with a nice cuppa and watch a movie (borrowed from the office) before going off to bed. The bed was comfortable, and the whole unit heats up quickly - there are separate heaters for the living area and bedroom. Parking is included, just outside your room.

The best part of staying here though is the hospitality. Lorraine is wonderfully helpful, and seems genuinely happy to have you stay with her. It has the feel of a bed and breakfast, rather than a motel or lodge. She can help you pick out a movie, find a place for dinner, pick out a scenic drive, or point you to anything else you need. When we wanted to use the laundry facilities and hot tub, Lorraine was happy to set us up quickly. She even called our guide for us to check on the weather and what time she wanted us to meet her in the morning, before we could ask.

The breakfast was lovely (full cooked breakfast, porridge with fruit, or cereals/yogurts, etc. - lots of choices). For an extra $15, Lorraine set us up with lunches for the day we went hiking - there aren't a lot of places to grab a sandwich for your backpack in town. Our lunches included sandwiches, multiple snack bars, multiple pieces of fruit and a bit of chocolate. She even included a thermos of hot tea that stayed hot until we stopped for lunch. SO worth it.

Location is great - right off the main road, very near the turnoff to the Ruapehu ski areas, and a short trip to several other major hiking routes (including the Tongariro Crossing trail head). We walked to dinner both nights (less than 10 minutes).

This really is an excellent option in National Park - you'll be so happy you stayed here, and you'll leave feeling like you have friends in the area now.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and it was fantastic. The owners were lovely and friendly, the room was massive and spotlessly clean. It was great coming back from a day skiing to a room that heated up in no time with the heater and a beautiful hot shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stay here for two nights. First of all, the location is very good, as we are hoping to get to the ski field as soon as possible the next morning. The unit that we have is an apartment unit with one bedroom plus two single beds and one queen bed. Just nice for our family of 4 adults (my opinion not more than 4 , because it will be too crowded). Overall the apartment is very clean. We had a good night sleep after a day of skiing at the mountain. The breakfast was great, they even care for our special dietary needs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Excellent experience from the outset. Were told it would be no problem arriving late on the Friday night.
We stayed in the King room which was perfect for what we needed (I was travelling with my partner and brother).
Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: it's difficult to see in the photo but the kitchenette does come with an electric fry pan and ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Lodge & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Lodge & Motel

Address: 21 Carroll Street, Tongariro National Park 3948, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tongariro National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Lodge & Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi and Welcome to Adventure National Park. Ron & Lorraine welcome you to their lodge and motel in National Park Village. We cater for families, groups, and the independent traveler. Your choice of deluxe one bedroom units with King size beds, standard studio motel units with Queen Size Beds and private facilities. Our budget lodge rooms with double beds or Twin share, shared bathrooms, lounge and kitchen. Bed and Breakfast options available. Comfortable warm beds, electric blankets, Sky TV in lodge and all units, drying room, Internet and wireless access available, large open fire, Dinner, Breakfast and a packed lunch available. Department of Conservation authorized shuttle to and from the Tongariro Crossing departing daily weather dependent, let us take care of you with our Tongariro Freedom Package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Adventure Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel Tongariro National Park
Adventure Lodge And Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Lodge & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.