We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tongaririo Crossing Package” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Lodge & Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Lodge & Motel to your Saves list
Adventure Lodge & Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   21 Carroll Street, Tongariro National Park 3948, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tongariro Freedom Package
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Tongaririo Crossing Package”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I recently spent two nights here as a part of the Tongaririo Crossing package we had purchased. It was a great deal. With the package we received:
-2 nights accommodation (We were in the handicapped room, even though we did not need this. It was larger than the other rooms, which was nice. The rooms are basic and the decor is outdated, but the rooms were clean).
-2 days of breakfast (a larger breakfast on the day we did the hike and a continental-style breakfast on the next day)
-Shuttle to and from the hike
-Supper on the night of the hike (choice of steak or chicken)
-A t-shirt and a certificate saying that we had completed the crossing.

The owners were very knowledgeable and pleasant hosts. Overall, we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    88
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
42
172
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gresham, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We spent one night in a standard motel room. Though a bit rustic, the room was clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful, and sincerely interested in seeing that we had a good time at Tongariro National Park. Overall, a good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Owners Ron and Lorraine Sivell are consummate professionals. They have assisted thousands of people who have come to experience and attempt the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and their expertise is obvious. What is delightful however is despite the years that they have done this, they still have not lost their enthusiasm. Somehow, they manage to greet each new guest with warmth ... and their care, concern and attentiveness remains throughout one's stay. The Crossing itself is not technically difficult but it is tiring and the possibility for problems (such as "a late exit") is present. During our three-day stay, I watched Lorraine fuss over, care for and attend to various concerns -- some verbalized, some merely "obvious to the eye" -- with the perceptiveness of a compassionate parent. That alone makes the Inn a reason to stay. The pre-hike breakfast is helpful; the lunch amble and the post-hike dinner celebratory. They offer informed options about other hikes and tourist options. Rooms are spotless. This is not "deluxe accommodations" but the value is there and the warmth and care of the innkeepers makes a compelling reason to choose the Adventure Lodge for one's home base.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is a pleasure to have so many interesting people from around the world come and stay with us. We love to travel and enjoy learning and sharing our little part of the world with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

As a lodge / hostel type set up it's very clean, tidy and comfortable. We took the "freedom package" and found the food (including lunch for the crossing) to be real good quality and generous portions with healthy variety. The owners are very friendly and went the extra mile to make sure all that stayed in the lodge and did the crossing were looked after. Great service with a friendly attitude. If you're looking to do the crossing without the hassle of organising meals, transport etc then look no further - they take care of everything. The freedom package was excellent value for money I thought.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
We would just like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback. We are constantly looking to refine the experience for our guests so we are pleased that we have continued to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in April 2012 as part of Freedom Crossing Package. The room was very clean and medium sized. The overall package is a fair price given the worry-free convenience of conducting the Tongariro crossing, and the excellent care and attention provided by Lorraine (front desk, pre and post crossing guide). Breakfast was very good, packed lunch was more than sufficient, dinner much better than expected! The actual hike across Tongariro Crossing was AMAZING and highly recommended (but somewhat dependent on weather and relative level of fitness is highly recommended; proper footwear a must, running shoes at minimum). Location of the Adventure Lodge is great and close to what little there is in the area.

Only downside of experience was noise transmitted between walls in motel accomodations. Luckily neighbours were equally exhausted and did not stay up all hours.

Some interesting things about National Park area: had an excellent dining experience at the Train Station restuarant (not really walkable from Adventure Lodge however, a car would be helpful to get to and from); make sure you know the gas station opening hours as it probably is the only place to buy things (e.g. anything and everything) in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback. We enjoy meeting and welcoming people from all around the world. It is a pleasure sharing our little part of the world and making your adventure in the Tongariro National Park one you will always remember.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We decided on little notice to make the Crossing and were willing to take any room. We took two rooms in the lodge, rather than up in the dorms. Not as quiet as separate rooms, I am sure, but good enough.
The food and hospitality were perfect! The owners were delightfully helpful. Made sure we were well fed and well provisioned for what became a very difficult hike, due to an unexpected gale blowing in. I made the Crossing in a borrowed red jacket. Dinner was delicious, as were both breakfasts. Hot tub was just what we needed after the crossing!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Now after living and travelling in New Zealand for 6 months, I can honestly look back on this as the most horrifying lack of hospitality I have ever seen. My friend and I were travelling through Tongariro, and wanted a night to ourselves away from the boys we were travelling with, so we dropped them at the backpackers down the street and booked a cheap shared room at the lodge. If only we had stayed with them at the backpackers...

We had been camping for about 3 weeks at this point, and were so excited for a hot shower and a warm bed. When my friend finished her shower she wanted to dry her hair, but when she plugged in her dryer (as there were none provided) it sparked. This spark must have set off the fire alarm. We quickly evacuated, while I was in only my towel, a coat, and some sneakers. We sat outside with the one other guest while the two women ran around searching for a fire. They first TOLD us there was no smoking in the rooms, which we replied with "we know" (we are NOT smokers, and I found this disgustingly offensive). We explained that the blow dryer did spark. A fire truck came, and they did an inspection, all the while these two women are frantic and upset, and I AM IN A TOWEL AND COAT OUTSIDE IN TONGARIRO NATIONAL PARK. Not once did they ask to move me somewhere warm, despite the fact that I am clearly half naked, INSTEAD they came up to us before letting us return to the Lodge and told us we were not allowed to smoke in the rooms.

I currently work for an international hotel chain in Queenstown, and I am sure that under any circumstance you would not see panic in the faces of, as well as such ignorant snide remarks come from my team mates. It is unfortunate that the friendly, kind impression we had gotten from kiwis thus far could be tarnished by these hosts.

The accommodation itself was okay, but I've stayed at much nicer backpackers who cook you breakfast, and are the sweetest of hosts. It's worth it to find this, or stay at the backpackers down the street, because when we picked up the boys they were so happy! The host there even let us cook some breakfast with them because we wanted to leave the Adventure Lodge ASAP

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you had to stand outside in your coat; if we had been informed sparks from your friend’s faulty hair dryer set the fire alarm off, the fire brigade would not have needed to respond. The duty manager could not establish what set the alarm off, including guests smoking; therefore they had to follow the New Zealand Fire Departments regulations and evacuate the whole building. Every room in the lodge has to be checked for guests and no one is allowed back into the building until they had the all clear from the Fire Department. They needed to establish what activated the alarm before letting anyone back in to the building. The safety of all our guests is paramount. Hairdryers are available at reception and there is a special circuit breaker plug specifically for hair dryers in the bathrooms.
As you arrived early in the morning wet and cold from camping the night before, management allowed you to check into your room three hours early at no extra charge. We were told your boyfriends intended to camp out again that night. You then paid for two people; but four people came into the lodge and used the facilities including the hot showers. We did not charge your friends for using the facilities, but as they were not registered guests staying at Adventure Lodge management requested they leave. With most accommodation facilities in New Zealand you pay for the number of guests using a room, unit or suite. For health and safety reasons management needs to know how many people are sleeping in their buildings in case there is a real fire or emergency as we have to account for all guests. In New Zealand you are not able to have unregistered friends into your room to sleep; as a person working in the accommodation industry should know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Lodge & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Lodge & Motel

Address: 21 Carroll Street, Tongariro National Park 3948, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tongariro National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Lodge & Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi and Welcome to Adventure National Park. Ron & Lorraine welcome you to their lodge and motel in National Park Village. We cater for families, groups, and the independent traveler. Your choice of deluxe one bedroom units with King size beds, standard studio motel units with Queen Size Beds and private facilities. Our budget lodge rooms with double beds or Twin share, shared bathrooms, lounge and kitchen. Bed and Breakfast options available. Comfortable warm beds, electric blankets, Sky TV in lodge and all units, drying room, Internet and wireless access available, large open fire, Dinner, Breakfast and a packed lunch available. Department of Conservation authorized shuttle to and from the Tongariro Crossing departing daily weather dependent, let us take care of you with our Tongariro Freedom Package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Adventure Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel Tongariro National Park
Adventure Lodge And Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Lodge & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.