We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pipers Ski Lodge

Pipers Ski Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tongariro National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pipers Ski Lodge
Save
You added Pipers Ski Lodge to your Saves list
Millar Street | National Park Village, Tongariro National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The most friendly and helpful group of staff you could ever ask for!
Well run, efficient with lots to do and lovely people to help you whenever you need it. The food was delicious and they are super flexible in everything they do!
100% loved my stay!

Room Tip: Rooms outside got a little cold at night, but inside was lovely and warm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oroua Downs, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Cabin rooms warm bed comfy. Open fire in lounge brillant. Hosts fantastic. Great location Value for money. Really like chilling back in lounge wif bar drinks

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst my partner was doing some skiing. Super friendly hosts Bruce and Denise, cant do enough to help you and accomodate you. They found us a horse riding company so we could do some trekking one day and even dropped us off as we didnt have a car to get there. Great range of ski stuff to hire and roaring fire every day in the lounge with a selection of books and games to use.

Room Tip: Some of the ensuite rooms have a patio door with shared decking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

great accommodation, very helpful, would recommend highly, awesome manager.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

Great place to stay in National Park Village. Incredibly friendly staff, lovely common area with roaring fire, late bar, table tennis and pool! Excellent set up for snow searchers - equipment hire on site, hot tubs for apres ski wind-down. Thoroughly recommended - and at $25 a night how can you complain. It's also close to Schnapps bar which is pretty lively should you want to venture out.

Only minor downside was the breakfast served the next day! At $15 it was almost as much as the accomodation. It had been bigged up by the woman we spoke to on the phone when booking and also all the staff we spoke to as a "BIG FEED" - well when it arrived we couldn't believe our eyes - it was the smallest brekky ever! 3 little cocktail sausages, a bit of spaghetti hoops, cold scrambled egg and a slice of toast - not exactly a big feed!

In summary brilliant place to stay - we will be back and have spread the word amongst our friends. But get your breakfast else where!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussies in the UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

One of the best places we have stayed!

Great people, great food! (3 course meal every night, even for vegetarians!)

The staff mingle in with the guests when their shifts are over, sometimes you cant pick them apart! They seem like friendly travellers with constant smiles on their faces!

There were plenty of rooms, with shared bathrooms which were very clean! They had a high quality drying room which came in very handy for skiers and snowboarders.

Communal lounge was great with TV and big open fire, pull down projector, for big events (such as world cup, and season final of LOST) Separate room for kids TV also full of couches.

It has its own ski hire, great parking, excellent location, bus to slopes. excellent place for a winter or summer holiday!
Overall a great experience!! Will stay there again this year!

  • Liked — Staff and atmosphere
  • Disliked — We had to leave! :-(
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pipers Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipers Ski Lodge

Address: Millar Street | National Park Village, Tongariro National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Tongariro National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipers Ski Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.