We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even in summer worth a detour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Ruapehu

Mount Ruapehu
SH1, Tongariro National Park, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$2,931*
and up
Private Tour: 8-Day North Island Tour from...
Type: Mountains, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Volcanos, Outdoors
Activities: Skiing
Attraction details
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Even in summer worth a detour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

If you can see the summit of Mt Ruapehu take a detour via 47, not the desert road. Then up 48 and take the ski lift up to the highest cafe and enjoy the amazing views. The ride with the ski lifts was a great experience (even for our 6 years old) and we were lucky enough to see Mt Taranaki in the distance. Family pass for the ski lifts was 77$ and worth the money. On low wind days consider protection against these nasty sand flies.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    41
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

For those who like to be Off the tracks and away from the tracks, this is a bit more challenging than doing the day trip walk! But you could also take the chair lift and chill out with the magnificent view at the highest cafe in NZ!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolute Beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We went to see the snow and took a 6 hour trek. I am unfit and managed it, but had to take frequent breaks as we had young children. It climbs to over 2000m so if you get altitude sickness I wouldnt advise it. Having said that, the beauty that surrounds you on a consistent basis is breathtaking. Bluest water I have ever seen. Watch your step though as it gets icy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Waitonga Falls track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We visited in early summer, and meant to take the ski lift up. For this, you need to take the Bruce Road, which we did not. We instead went the Ohakune way, and drove up to the Turoa skifield for some views of volcanic terrain, then went to the DOC to get suggestions on hikes. Going to the top of Mount Ruapehu is probably awesome, but we had a grand time on our hike! We took the Waitonga Falls Track that takes about 1.5 hours return if you're taking your time and are reasonably fit. It took us 3 hours return because once we got to Waitonga Falls we decided to see how close we could scramble to the bottom of falls, a worthwhile adventure.

The falls were great, but we especially enjoyed the mountain bog the trail passes through. Absolutely stunning, and definitely the type of place they used to film the Dead Marshes in the Lord of the Rings movies.

The trail also gives you a view of Mangawhero Falls, which served in the movies as Ithilien, so an extra bit of fun. While we walked, we found it amazing to see how many different species of fern we could spot!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ruapehu Crater Lake Guided Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Took a truly Fantastic guided day walk up to the summit/crater lake of Mt Ruapehu - http://www.mtruapehu.com/ I would highly recommend going with a guided group, as the route isn't marked and it could take a lot longer and be dangerous otherwise. Starts off with a 20 minute chairlift ride then walking on rocks and in snow. Took 2.5 hours to get to the top and 1.25 hours to come down as the guides pick out safe places to "slide" down in the snow, like on a waterslide. Make sure you take sunglasses, sunblock, warm hat, gloves, waterproof coat and overtrousers, and wear proper tramping boots. Anyone reasonably fit can do this amazing experience, we had 8 and 9 year old kids in our group.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Ruapehu also viewed

 
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park
 

Been to Mount Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Ruapehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.