We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Air Scenic Flights Day Tour

Mountain Air Scenic Flights Day Tour
Tongariro National Park | Mt Ruapehu, Tongariro National Park, New Zealand
+64 7 892 2812
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and fly around the stunning volcanic peaks, Tongariro, Ngauruhoe and Ruapehu! Inspect the colourful Blue, Emerald, Crater and Tama Lakes and all of the spectacular craters on show! Learn about the cultural heritage, history, fascinating geology and biology of this region! Make your stay here even more memorable and come and take a flight with us! Let our team look after you and show you the world through our eyes! It’s a fantastic way to view the breathtaking volcanic scenery of Tongariro National Park, Dual World Heritage Area!
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I took the opportunity having a sunny day to do a flight tour around the volcanos with Mountain Air Scenir tour.
It was insanely amazing. The base is charming, the staff very friendly, funny and pro.
The scenic tour was beautiful i could take all the picture i wanted.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was amazing! Flew up over all the volcanoes, past the site of the recent eruption! You could see all the cracks and crevices formed only months ago, steam and smoke were spewing out! Then up over Mount Doom from Lord of the Rings and down past one of the most popular ski field in New Zealand!
I was totally pumped after this! Easily the best thing I did in New Zealand!
Many Thanks!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
2 reviews
“Glorious views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We put a scenic fight on our agenda once we heard the presentation which was arranged by our accommodation .The weather thwarted our flight until the last day of our stay in the region.But the wait was well worth it as we had a most beautiful day for sightseeing and flying.To be up so close and have Reuben our pilot explain all of the features was a delight .We took great video and photos and memories which will remain with us until we return to do it again!,

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just drove by and stopped on our way to Wellington. It was an awesome experience and we got lots of really cool photos! Matt, the pilot, did a great job of explaining everything and the views were great. I highly recommend this activity!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luneburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just passing by we saw the signs of Mountain Air and since the weather was great we didn't need much time to decide for a ride. It was unbelievable! The weather was perfect, the scenery was breathtaking and the pilot was awesome. It was the highlight of our New Zealand trip! Thanks a lot to the guys at Mountain Air.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Air Scenic Flights Day Tour also viewed

Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
North Island, New Zealand
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Mountain Air Scenic Flights Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Air Scenic Flights Day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.