We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kamahi Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otorohanga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kamahi Cottage
Save
You added Kamahi Cottage to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   229 Barber Road, Rewarewa RD 5, Otorohanga 3975, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful weekend retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights at Kamahi, and would have loved to stay longer. Very peaceful and beautiful setting, just what we needed. Liz is a fantastic host, very cheerful, obliging and also very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. She's also a great cook!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I'm glad you got your much needed break and enjoyed the peace and quiet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
107
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our short stay at the cottage was delightful. It is simply the nicest spot to stay if you are visiting the caves at nearby Waitomo. The cottage is in a beautiful spot and is very well appointed; everything you could want is there. Liz was very helpful to us in making recommendations for our cave visit and also cooked us a super dinner. She also has an interesting range of boutique wines available. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived on the New Year's day at Kamahi Cottage. Green and peaceful view stretching across miles. My just turned 6 years old daughter repeatedly mentioned that she wants to stay longer which we all agree. Even after more than a month on, she mentions wanting to be back to "Liz's house" to explore the beautiful garden and nap at the hammock. The hospitality by Liz was just warm and thoroughly relaxing. The dinner and the breakfast was just excellent. Thank you for making our new year start very special!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
It was a pleasure to host your family - I hope the birthday girl had the day of her dreams!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Spending a night in Elisabeth's cottage was like staying in the garden of Eden.
Those who like gardening or simply appreciate the sight a wonderful flowers, among which giant lilies, will be delighted. The cottage in itself is a real little house where you can cook, and settle down, feeling "at home". Good NZ wines are available if you like (60 $NZ for a bottle of red Malborough Pinot Noir for instance). Elisabeth pastries are as sweet as her welcome. Thank you again !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
It was so nice to share the garden with a fellow gardener.
I'm so glad you enjoyed our wonderful NZ Pinot Noirs (one small correction - we charge NZ$40 for our selection of top quality, boutique NZ red wines.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed one night at Kamahi Cottage at the beginning of our New Zealand trip. We wished we had stayed longer! The place is simply stunning and Liz was such a warm and wonderful hostess. We took a stroll through her gardens and the farm. We even got to hear Evan practice his bagpipes which added to the magical setting. We definitely plan to return for another visit someday! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
It would be wonderful to see you back here again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our stay at Kamahi Cottage was the highlight of our trip! Liz and Evan made us feel right at home.
We took a stroll through the beautiful countryside and were lucky to be there when they had sweet baby lambs. I even got to hold one!

Thank you for the wonderful memories!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Those photos are magical...thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

One night is not enough time soak up the comfort and beauty of Kamahi cottage and its surrounds. The cottage is beautifully appointed with attention given to every detail for comfort and beauty. Upstairs is a pleasant and comfortable bedroom with views across the paddocks, uninterrupted by any sight or sound of passers by. The surrounding gardens are interesting and beautifully maintained, and Liz's cooking is a treat. Our hosts helped us feel welcome, attended to, and befriended, yet we were given space to be on our own to wander around as it suited.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay and that the cottage offered you privacy and independence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kamahi Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamahi Cottage

Address: 229 Barber Road, Rewarewa RD 5, Otorohanga 3975, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamahi Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamahi Cottage is a 5-Star country cottage and farm stay, just 30 minutes from Waitomo's glowworm caves, Black Water Rafting and caving adventures. The cottage is peaceful, private and romantic - set in a beautiful country garden with panoramic hilltop views. There is an upstairs queen bedroom, spacious downstairs bathroom, fully equipped kitchenette, plus stylish lounge and dining area. A comfortable queen sofa-sleeper is also available downstairs. (Children are very welcome). Rates include full gourmet breakfasts. Privately catered 2 & 3-course dinners are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamahi Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.