We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waitomo Stays

Waitomo Stays
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Waitomo Stays to your Saves list
Waitomo Stays
54 Golf Road, Otorohanga 3977, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Located next to the Waitomo Golf Course, this is an immaculately presented accommodation. Although compact, it provides everything needed and a more than adequate breakfast. Well priced. It is a pleasant location and not too far from the Waitomo Caves. If you are a golfer, don't drive on without enjoying a round at the course.

Room Tip: All appear to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a B and B, breakfast consisted of cold cereal, toast, and juice left in the small fridge. No space outside of the room, except for a moss covered bench out front. . The room was very small, no room for one let alone two suitcases, no luggage racks. There was no room in the bathroom for cosmetic cases, while grooming in the morning you had to leave your case on the bed and run back and forth to the bathroom. The bed was hard and the pillows like pancakes. The drapery was not room darkening. Three things we appreciate when we travel are: luggage racks for at least one suitcase, (people travel with luggage, two people, two suitcases) room darkening drapes, and decent pillows. This place was lacking on all three counts! The TV was not working the night we stayed and the wifi was not reliable. If you want to use a credit card you have to go up the road to the golf course, so be prepared with cash if you are in a hurry to depart. The room was clean, the owner friendly and there is a wonderful view, but the negatives out do the positives. I would not recommend this place if you want a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to book a last second trip to visit the Waitomo Caves in Otorohanga. We found this place and got a room on the same day . Once we got here we found it to be incredibly clean and the owner of the bed and breakfast is very kind. It's in a gorgeous location. All in all, for staying here just to stop by this is fantastic. There's no pool or fitness center, and it's very simple, but it's perfect for a small trip to the Waitomo Caves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a bed&breakfast. The location is great as it is only 15 min away from Waitomo Caves and it is about 5 min away from Otonoranga. Our room had an amazing view, this place is really quiet and peaceful. For most of the rooms you have your own independent entrance. Pam ( owner) is very nice, she gave us tips on what to do in the area nad the breakfast was very complete. She makes an extra effort to make sure you enjoy your stay. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waitomo Stays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Stays

Address: 54 Golf Road, Otorohanga 3977, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Otorohanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Waitomo Stays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waitomo Stays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.