We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Otorohanga Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Otorohanga Holiday Park to your Saves list
Otorohanga Holiday Park
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   20 Huiputea Drive, Otorohanga 3900, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, we would have left after the first night but the manager had required us to pay up front. No wonder, one night was enough. Nestled between the main trunk railway line and the heavy truck bypass road, in an industrial estate, peace and quiet is hard to come by.
Our motel style cabin was warm and clean but had no bedside lights, no in room compendium or information and a very squeaky bathroom door. The $110 tariff was over priced for the stay we had. While the grounds and amenities are well maintained and pleasant, it is hard to appreciate them when you are sleep deprived by the constant rattle of heavy traffic and trains.

Room Tip: I am not sure there is a quiet spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billie-AnnG, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hi 757Carol. Sorry to read on Trip Advisor that you found our park very noisy. We certainly would have given you a refund if you came to our reception and told us your concerns. It is very difficult to have the perfect location for accommodation. We often have guests, (usually international tourists), staying extra nights, as they have found our park to be very quiet. I have stayed in very expensive accommodation in Auckland and have ended up listening to police and fire sirens going all night long. Also stayed at a very exclusive Bed and Breakfast on a life style block to be woken in the early morning by very noisy live stock. I guess it is what you are use to and tuned into. All the best to you and hope you have great holidays in the future. Regards Billie & Kelvin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed for two nights on a powered site with my camper van from 24-25th April.
After other Kiwi Holiday Camps, this was something of a disappointment. It is sandwiched between a railway line on one side and an industrial park on the other. It's a very small campsite with correspondingly small facilities. Which were clean, just basic. The showers however were excellent. I didn't get a great welcome, the manager didn't even know if the internet was any good. I was also disturbed by the thumping of music from the gym until gone 10.30 at night. The piece de resistance was the television room which had three very old, very grubby armchairs which were lethal to sit on - unstable and I nearly fell off two of them when I leaned back on them. Photos attached!
The only advantage it has it that it's close to the Kiwi House and Waitomo caves though there are others in the area. My love for Kiwi Holiday Camps is over I'm afraid which is a shame as the two others I have stayed at were very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billie-AnnG, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi Karen, very sorry to read you didn't enjoy your stay at our park. It is interesting that some people find there is a bit of noise from the trains at night but others don't hear them at all. We often get guests staying extra nights as it is so quiet here. I guess it is what you are use to. I find it difficult to stay at any accommodation in a city, with traffic noise and sirens going off all night long. I totally agree with you that we are a very small holiday park. We do provide two separate kitchens and a very large outdoor dinning area with a Free BBQ. I will certainly look into the arm chairs in the TV lounge, thank you for pointing this out. The music from the gym should not have been heard at 10.30pm by our park guests. We have some young college students using the gym at the moment who have been putting the music up to loud and have already been told. I will be looking into this and once I find out which members it was their memberships will be cancelled. Many thanks for pointing this out to me. Sorry the receptionist didn't know much about the internet, we are in the baby boom generation so our techno savvy intelligence is very limited. We are very proud that we have been able to provide internet service to our guest, Wireless and also an internet kiosk. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I had a self contain unit. The unit was very clean and had everything I needed. Lovely tidy and well set out grounds, and very friendly hosts. Although I didn't have any kids with me, this would be a great place for the kids as there is plenty of safe space for them to run around. Thanks to Kelvin and Billie for having such a lovely park. The only downside would be if you are a smoker as they prefer smoking only within a particular area rather than outside your unit (however from a family (with kids) holiday point of view, I can also totally understand this). If you do stay here, you wont be disappointed. It's one of the tidiest I have been to. The trains never bothered me at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billie-AnnG, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi, Great to read you enjoyed your stay at our park. Many thanks for your review.
Cheers Billie & Kelvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We camped here in our tent for several days, as a base to explore the many attractions in the wider area. We had intended to move on after 3 days but enjoyed the place so much we stayed for 6. Have to say that this is one of the best camping grounds I have stayed at in NZ. Excellent facilities, with 2 kitchens plus a bbq, and a covered outdoor seating area. In addition to separate toilets, there are several unisex showers each with own toilet and handbasin, which was really convenient. The showers are free with plenty of hot water. The camp was moderately busy while we were there, however the grounds and the facilities never felt crowded. The whole place was kept really clean and tidy and as a result visitors treated it the same way. It's close to the main trunk railway line - we turned this into a point of interest and rhythm, and got to enjoy the trains in all their variations. We loved the local Kiwi House, which cares for a wide range of NZ wildlife - we particularly liked the tuatara. The Station just across from the camping ground serves great coffee, and the Thirsty Weta just a block further on is a great place for a meal or other refreshment. Plus the kiwiana theme throughout Otorohanga is great fun. I highly recommend Otorohanga Holiday Park as a great place to camp. Also a great place for kids as there are a couple of play areas

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billie-AnnG, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi Allberta. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our park and you liked our facilities. Otorohanga certainly is a great little town with great resturants, cafes and the kiwi house native bird park. Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

With the main intention of visiting the Waitomo caves, we decided to stay here for a couple of nights and instantly felt so comfortable and relaxed by the beautiful park situated in an ideal location 5 minutes walk into the lovely town of Otorohanga and 10 minutes walk along the road to a huge countdown supermarket, this turned out to be the perfect place to relax in so we ended up staying an extra couple of nights! The park has 2 excellent large kitchen with all required facilities and are cleaned daily. Also a few nice private shower rooms to choose from and plenty areas to sit outside or inside and relax with a cup of tea and book if you like. There's also a large gym which you can use for only $5 for your whole stay - bargain!! The owner is also lovely and very helpful for tour info and tips for the town. If you go, we also highly recommend a visit to the local Indian restaurant in Otorohanga called Castle 91 - the best Chicken Tikka Masala I've ever had!!! The thirsty weta bar is also great in town!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billie-AnnG, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi Laura, Really pleased you had a great stay with us. Nice to know that our local restaurants looked after you. I will let them know you enjoyed your meals with them. Many thanks for your review. All the best for your travels. Cheers Billie & Kelvin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed in a holiday park in Waitomo the last time I went to the Caves, but this was far better. Super clean, nice facilities and mega friendly staff. Unlimited hot water in a really clean shower! The only thing that wasn't the best was the trains passing at night, but no biggie. We'd still choose this one for sure if we were staying in the Waitomo area again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billie-AnnG, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hi Michelle. Please you had an enjoyable stay with us and thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.
Kind Regards Billie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed over night on route to Te Kauwhata, the cabin was basic; but comfortable. As a pet friendly venue it was perfect with a puclic green space near by and only a block or two away from the main eateries in town. Service was polite and pleasent. The only down fall was the location near the main railway line, but hardly the fault of the owners. Would recommend as a no fuss stop if you've got family or pets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billie-AnnG, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi Dean
Thank you for your review. Pleased to hear you had a good stay at our park and it suited you with your pet. We are lucky we have the lake reserve next door to us and it is ideal for walking dogs.
Regards Billie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Otorohanga Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otorohanga Holiday Park

Address: 20 Huiputea Drive, Otorohanga 3900, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Otorohanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Otorohanga Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a friendly stay at the newest holiday park in the King Country / Waitomo region. Located in the centre of Otorohanga, the kiwiana town of New Zealand. Stroll to the towns many unique shops, restaurants and bars, view our native bird the Kiwi at Otorohanga’s nocturnal Kiwi house and native bird park. Otorohanga Holiday park is only a 15 minutes drive to the World Famous Waitomo Glowworm Caves and Black Water Rafting adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Otorohanga Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otorohanga Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.