We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spellbound Glowworm & Cave Tours

Spellbound Glowworm & Cave Tours
Spellbound Tower | 6 Te Anga Rd, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
0800 773 552 (NZ only)
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our tours are friendly, informative and fun. With no more than 12 people on board, you will see Waitomo's fabulous glowworms at their very best. We visit private caves away from the regular, more commercial tours. Our caves are on a beautiful hill country farm and your guide is also your host, so expect a really enjoyable and memorable tour of our two magical caves.
Pinconning, Michigan
1 review
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is definitely a great tour. We chose it originally because of good reviews and the fact that we would not get wet .Our B&B hosts also recommended it. It did not disappoint! The group was small and the guide knowledgeable. A winner in every way!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    52
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Well organised tour, cave's guide was good in his commentaries and very funny, just beautiful to go on a boat through the cave to see the glowworms in silence.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great small group tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We chose this tour over the 'main' Waitomo caves in the village and were not disappointed. Only 10 people on the tour and a friendly and knowledgable guide. Our two boys loved it - especially getting to wear the helmet and lamp in the 'wet' cave visit. Watching the glowworms whilst gliding along the underground river is an experience I will not forget for a longtime.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small group - good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Ordered when we arrived. We like that they have one-price-policy, so you do not need to go looking for discount-coupons. Our (local) guide was quite hilarious, but sometimes his kiwi dialect can be hard to understand (English is not our first language). With a van we got near the location. Since the weather was rather good, the guide let us walk the last 5-10min in a very beautiful environment with green hills, cliffs, sheeps, cows and a little river. The glowworm cave was very beautiful as expected; was fun to walk in total darkness with only the glowworms lightening like the sky in the night. The 2nd cave with limestone was also very good to experience. The guide was very knowledgeable all the way through and gave us plenty of time to take pictures. We can recommend Spellbound 100%.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Easy trip, with lots of history and cave information. Although we've explored caves before, and visited Waitomo main caves in the past, this was really intimate. Relaxed commentary, and we never felt hurried. Certainly not on a 'production line' like many tours. A wonderful trip suitable for any age.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spellbound Glowworm & Cave Tours also viewed

 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 

Been to Spellbound Glowworm & Cave Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spellbound Glowworm & Cave Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.