We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The surprise of finding a mammoth on your bed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abseil Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitomo Caves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abseil Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Abseil Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
709 Waitomo Caves Road, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free NZ Gold
Arnhem
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The surprise of finding a mammoth on your bed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

"Approve with enthusiasm", the sign tells you. Heed the advice, and put your car in first gear! Once you're up there, you'll find the lovely house of Helen and John.

Helen is a very bubbly and lively spirit, and a busy bee as well. The accommodation is great, inside and out. We had a great time sitting outside chatting up with other guests. That was very pleasant, and we stayed up way too long.

The room was the cutest room we ever had, and the bathroom was clean. In the morning you might find the B&B a bit noisy. It's all woodwork, and the flapping door in the kitchen isn't very quiet either. It didn't bother us though, we were awake anyway.

Breakfast is amazing! Do try the French toast, and try the huge variety of local honeys too!

We had a lovely stay here, and dearly recommend it. Make sure to ask for the cave room, if you want to meet the lovely mammoth that lives there! It's priceless!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
67
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Abseil Breakfast Inn. Helen was quite helpful. She provided me with a towel, bath products and carry bag to use after my cave tour. It was great because immediately after the cave tour I showered up at the facility. In addition she recommended a great dinner spot (Huhu) which I loved. The next morning all the guests were treated to a wonderful breakfast. I stayed a bit longer and Helen and I talked about New Zealand and her life. It was very nice to visit with a local. I was traveling solo so I enjoyed the company. Others said the rooms are loud but there is so much to do in New Zealand I wasn't expecting to sleep in anyway!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Wonderfully appointed rooms, great shared living areas with magazines, DVD's, cookies and honesty bar (with good beers and wines). Very nice view over the valley which can be viewed from the table and chairs outside each room, although I think all guests do worry if their old rentals will make it up the very steep driveway (they all do!).

Breakfast is truly awesome with enough options (and portions) to suit even the fussiest eaters/drinkers.

Only downside is the swinging door to the kitchen (v loud!) and the noise from walking on the timber floorboards limit your ability to sleep in late as its just a bit too noisy but we'd gone to bed early after taking up the hosts recommendation of dinner at HuHu so we weren't too bothered.

Hosts were very helpful with advice on which cave tours would best suit our needs.

All in all, a very nice stay but perhaps not the right place if you want to sleep in til late!

Room Tip: Something away from the kitchen is probably best if you want to sleep late on a Sunday morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thanks for the review - captures well our good points and the noise echo as guests get up in the morning and traverse our native timber floor in the corridor and the dreaded fire door in the kitchen. No one hates the door more then me but my builder keeps insisting that we have to have it. He has plans to solidify the door between the guest lounge and the corridor which should cut down the noise drift from the kitchen door - but in the main our clientele do like to be up and into the adventures that Waitomo has to offer. Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

A very nice place to stay with stunning views. Lovely friendly, homely atomosphere, with lots of nice little extra touches.
Breakfast was the best we've had on our trip around New Zealand. Choice of several cereals, fresh fruit, with choice of cooked breakfast etc., not to mention a huge tray brought to us with the most fab choices of jams and 13 jars of honey to choose from!!! had to stop after the fourth. Also several choices of tea. Was amazed to be served leaf breakfast tea..... v.nice.
Helen and her husband were very friently towards us, wish we could have stayed longer. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We were very impressed by the beatiful views and the room decoration upon arrival. The whole atmosphere was very nice. However, as we stayed some more time all positive feelings turned into disappointment. The whole house was horribly noisy in the morning and the female host was rude and not very friendly. Did not feel comfortable at all. There was also a problem with the sewerage which resulted in bad smell coming out of the bathroom.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We have a on site underground green treatment plant. Whilst this can cause the occasional whiff outside on the driveway when the associated section is spray irrigated, we have not had any complaints of this moving all the way back up the pipes. While noise was an initial factor in our reviews, we had subsequently had the upstairs floors replaced and extra insulation installed in the gap between floors.

We were closed over Xmas due to family staying with us, and had to turn some potential visitors away. If you can contact us directly it would help us better understand the problem and how we could remedy it.

Thanks
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt completely at home and comfortable. Helen was such a great host, we felt like she was an instant friend and loved chatting with her. She's hilarious! We'd arrived in Waitomo earlier than we expected without anything to do and her suggestions of a nearby bush walk and dinner at HuHu made our night! She drew us a map and everything.

And let's me honest, tales of "John's Big Breakfast" were the selling point for this Inn and we weren't disappointed! Everything was delicious and I particularly enjoyed the variety of local honey and jam to try. Yum!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Though the driveway was a little intimidating, and we thought our old rental car would not make it up the driveway (it did by the way, just put it in 1st!), this was a great place to stay. Beautiful views of the surrounding countryside, really close to Waitomo caves and Blackwater rafting.

The room we stayed in was the Cave room. It was delightful. I believe it is the cheapest room available and we were not disappointed. Very clean, the bathroom was small but who cares? And the bed was nicely decorated. Each room has a door to the porch and outside and their own key so you can come and go as you please. They have quite a collection of movies to choose from and we ended up watching one in the evening. Black Sheep - great sheep zombie movie!

The breakfast in the morning was superb. I had the french toast with berries and fresh cream and it was possibly the best homemade meal I have ever had. With the toast we got a multitude of honeys to choose from, and some other spreads (we liked the passionfruit urd so much, we went to the grocery and bought some to take home!). Plentiful coffee and teas whenever you like, and there are always biscuits available.

The only thing I would mention was that our hosts didn't necessarily chat us up during our stay like the website promised (with stories etc.), but I suppose the hostess was sick and wanted to leave us be.

Great place nonetheless, all rooms worth it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Sorry you felt you missed out on what the hostess has to offer,but I did not think anyone would want what I had! Was tempted to take to overloaded sinuses with the power drill for a while there. Finally coming right now....Glad you enjoyed "Black Sheep", it is a hoot of a documentary.
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abseil Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abseil Breakfast Inn

Address: 709 Waitomo Caves Road, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Abseil Hotel Waitomo Caves

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abseil Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.