We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation at Abseil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abseil Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitomo Caves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abseil Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Abseil Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
709 Waitomo Caves Road, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free NZ Gold
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good accommodation at Abseil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

A very nice place to stay with stunning views. Lovely friendly, homely atomosphere, with lots of nice little extra touches.
Breakfast was the best we've had on our trip around New Zealand. Choice of several cereals, fresh fruit, with choice of cooked breakfast etc., not to mention a huge tray brought to us with the most fab choices of jams and 13 jars of honey to choose from!!! had to stop after the fourth. Also several choices of tea. Was amazed to be served leaf breakfast tea..... v.nice.
Helen and her husband were very friently towards us, wish we could have stayed longer. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
67
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We were very impressed by the beatiful views and the room decoration upon arrival. The whole atmosphere was very nice. However, as we stayed some more time all positive feelings turned into disappointment. The whole house was horribly noisy in the morning and the female host was rude and not very friendly. Did not feel comfortable at all. There was also a problem with the sewerage which resulted in bad smell coming out of the bathroom.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We have a on site underground green treatment plant. Whilst this can cause the occasional whiff outside on the driveway when the associated section is spray irrigated, we have not had any complaints of this moving all the way back up the pipes. While noise was an initial factor in our reviews, we had subsequently had the upstairs floors replaced and extra insulation installed in the gap between floors.

We were closed over Xmas due to family staying with us, and had to turn some potential visitors away. If you can contact us directly it would help us better understand the problem and how we could remedy it.

Thanks
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt completely at home and comfortable. Helen was such a great host, we felt like she was an instant friend and loved chatting with her. She's hilarious! We'd arrived in Waitomo earlier than we expected without anything to do and her suggestions of a nearby bush walk and dinner at HuHu made our night! She drew us a map and everything.

And let's me honest, tales of "John's Big Breakfast" were the selling point for this Inn and we weren't disappointed! Everything was delicious and I particularly enjoyed the variety of local honey and jam to try. Yum!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Though the driveway was a little intimidating, and we thought our old rental car would not make it up the driveway (it did by the way, just put it in 1st!), this was a great place to stay. Beautiful views of the surrounding countryside, really close to Waitomo caves and Blackwater rafting.

The room we stayed in was the Cave room. It was delightful. I believe it is the cheapest room available and we were not disappointed. Very clean, the bathroom was small but who cares? And the bed was nicely decorated. Each room has a door to the porch and outside and their own key so you can come and go as you please. They have quite a collection of movies to choose from and we ended up watching one in the evening. Black Sheep - great sheep zombie movie!

The breakfast in the morning was superb. I had the french toast with berries and fresh cream and it was possibly the best homemade meal I have ever had. With the toast we got a multitude of honeys to choose from, and some other spreads (we liked the passionfruit urd so much, we went to the grocery and bought some to take home!). Plentiful coffee and teas whenever you like, and there are always biscuits available.

The only thing I would mention was that our hosts didn't necessarily chat us up during our stay like the website promised (with stories etc.), but I suppose the hostess was sick and wanted to leave us be.

Great place nonetheless, all rooms worth it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Sorry you felt you missed out on what the hostess has to offer,but I did not think anyone would want what I had! Was tempted to take to overloaded sinuses with the power drill for a while there. Finally coming right now....Glad you enjoyed "Black Sheep", it is a hoot of a documentary.
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We arrived unannounced late in the day, and fortunately there were rooms available. We were made very welcome - Helen is a great hostess - a real character. Our room was comfortable and cosy, thanks to the fan-heater and electric blanket - both very necessary on freezing Waitomo winter nights. A menu is provided for your choice of breakfast the following morning, and we had a choice of at least 14 different honeys to try on our toast, most of them local - delicious. The Abseil is situated about 600m from Waitomo village - easy walking distance to restaurants. And yes, the drive is steep, but only when you're going up. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, CA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Wonderful start to our New Zealand vacation. Helen does a incredible job making sure your stay at Waitomo Caves will be a memorable experience. Our room was very nicely done, clean, and comfortable. Found Helen's advice to activities and dinner were right on mark. Delightful couple to visit with, then there's the breakfast......amazing! Think my wife tried all of the honey's in Helen's collection. Yes, the driveway might be a bit of a challenge, but needed some good exercise after the wonderful meals we had. Abseil Breakfast Inn is the perfect pairing to your "Waitomo Cave" experience in our view!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

There are a lot of positives about this place - great views from the bedrooms, a delicious breakfast, and friendly hosts. We were however disappointed by the noise level in the morning and the bathroom, which although clean was a little dated. A nice place to stay but not the best in terms of value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abseil, Owner at Abseil Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Thanks for the comments.

Reviews of our Inn obviously vary. If want an establishment with great views, a great breakfast, a great hosting experience and rooms with X factor, and you like hanging around with other guests then that's us.

However we have a limitation. We are a small wooden establishment with floors of recycled native timber and other features which may cause problems, especially as other guests arise, for light sleepers as has been noted here and in 2 other reviews. We have received a report on mitigation of the noise problem and will be implementing it. However there are likely to be residual issues; so if you are quite sensitive to noise then we may not be the best place.

We have four rooms at different prices. We are confident that one of those rooms will be of exceptional value, whether it is the cave room - dubbed the "fun" room by many guests at $140, the farm room at $150 ( quieter with awesome views) or the romantic swamp room with its bath for two, at the Trip Advisor discounted price of $150 until October 2011.

Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abseil Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abseil Breakfast Inn

Address: 709 Waitomo Caves Road, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Abseil Hotel Waitomo Caves

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abseil Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.