We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful night away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Tiro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitomo Caves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Te Tiro
Save
You added Te Tiro to your Saves list
970 Caves-Te Anga Rd, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful night away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Sitting on the deck at sunset, you can hear cows and sheep you think to yourself, does life get much better than this?...Nope. Absolutely stunning location, amazing view, beautiful self contained little cabin, you get everything you need, including breakfast. The drive out is worth it for the isolation and absolute serenity. At night you can wander 3minutes up the path to see a bunch of glowworms up close. Would highly recommend, especially for couples.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The setting alone is worth it. Spend the night on the farm w a delicious breakfast. Hear the sheep bleat in the morning. The bed was comfortable. There is a large bed downstairs an two singles in the lift accessed by a ladder. The glow worm grotto is worth the 1-2 min walk at night. They are kind enough to have head lanterns on the back of the door. Close to the Waitomo caves and also the fall and natural bridge, which are also worth a visit. Totally worth the stop, I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I had a choice.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

a group of 4 of us stayed in the cabins. a little crampy for 4 pax but still acceptable. The location of the place were a little out of the way but definitely private and cosy. We first drove to the neighbour (with beautiful plantations and flowers) thinking that that was the place and was directed by the kind neighbour to drive further up the road (curving up) to Te Tiro. Upon reaching, Rachel and daughter received us and were extremely helpful and friendly. there was a hyper dog that greeted us when we reached. there was also two other cats in the premises and love hanging out at the cabins in the late evening. We were running a little late for our black water rafting tour and Rachel helped called the operator to ask them to wait for us.
the view from the cabins were amazing and they have their glow worm area which the cat lead us the way late in the night! though we didn't managed to see much of the glow worms but the walk into the grotto was quite an experience. Especially with the friendly cat that lead the way! breakfast was a spread. There were bread, cereals, juices, yogurts, milk, peaches. This is truly a great place to stay and if not for the time constraint, i would definitely stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The cabins are nestled on top of a 1600-acre farm with some of the most majestic Waitomo views one could imagine. We were looking for a place away from tourist and man did we get it. Since there are only two cabins on the property privacy, tranquility, and personal service were definitely not an issue. Have you ever stayed in accommodations where the people running them seem like they recently moved to the location, so that you feel like they’re the tourists? Well this isn’t that type of place. Our host, Angus, grew up on this farm and has explored every inch of it since he was a little boy. He can tell you about everything you could possibly want to know about Waitomo and can help guide you to all the secret gems in the area. You’ll tour Waitomo paying to see glowworms, but only footsteps from the cabin door will bring you to your own romantic glowworm grotto. Our biggest regret is that we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Not too much to look at but very nice and cosy place with great view. I can see sunrise without walking out of room into the cold and a great place for looking at night stars

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was a great place to stay near Waitomo! The cabin was perfect for star-gazing and catching some unforgettable sunrises. Angus helped us arrange for Black Water Rafting while we were there and that is a must - other worldly!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Rachel was really great to communicate with and the day before we were set to stay she sent an email letting us know they wouldn't be there, but gave me great directions and told us to make ourselves at home and that her sister in law would be by to check on us in the evening. Her directions were perfect, we found the place without any problem, the lights and heaters were on and waiting for us. We had taken her advice and stopped at the store to get food for dinner beforehand, but when we arrived we realized we had been a bit too ambitious with our cooking plans. There is a microwave and a hot plate with a couple of pots and pans - we made do but it was a bit tricky to prepare our lamb chops and yams :) The evening we stayed it was raining pretty heavily and there was an All Blacks game on, so we were excited to tuck in and watch, and luckily that was one of the channels that came in on the TV! We were the only guests that night, but as soon as we got settled we realized we were definitely not alone, the two cheeky cats that I had read about are cheeky for sure! They came in and made themselves right at home with us, but as soon as we started cooking we learned they were only interested in our food! They were both really sweet cats, I felt really bad putting them outside for the evening, but they kept trying to get in the trash! Rachel's sister in law came by and helped us figure out the few details we hadn't yet, and then we were alone with the kitties on this crazy property. It was a bit of an eerie feeling with the stormy night, but it was truly amazing. We got the rain gear and the torch and walked down to the glowworm grotto, which was unbelievable. Even though it was a very chilly night, we were really warm with all of the blankets and heaters. The bathroom got chilly, but fortunately there is a heater in there too! We were more than satisfied with the breakfast that had been left for us as well, there was so much food! Watching the sunrise from this property was absolutely stunning. I wish we had stayed here for more than one night, it is an amazing place to unplug and unwind.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Te Tiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Tiro

Address: 970 Caves-Te Anga Rd, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Waitomo Caves
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Tiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.