We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitomo Caves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Save
You added Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge to your Saves list
7 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Palm Springs, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved this Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

This was a very friendly and comfortable Bed and Breakfast. The owners, Janet and Colin, were very helpful with giving information about the local attractions and were interested in hearing about each of their guest's experiences. We enjoyed Colin's homemade cookies which were in our rooms each day. The breakfast was excellent with Colin's wonderful marmalade.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    110
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
52
209
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We consider the NZ$120 we paid for this B&B well worthwhile. They were very anxious to share their knowledge of places to go and see, even providing flashlights (torches) to see the glowworms. The setting is near anything you want to see in the area. They must have a Green Thumb, because the grapes, flowers, and gardening around was stunning. They even had a microwave and refrigerator/frig (with ice) for the guests to use. Free and good internet use. Too bad we did not stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the accommodation to be simple and comfortable. The location was excellent although the stairs proved to wear us out. The room was clean and simple but the lack of a small fridge in the room and the "outdoor" setting inside was a little dissappointing considering the price we paid.
Breakfast was adequate in the beautiful sunroom. A morning paper would have been nice but we were advised that they didnt arrive until 10am and "theres not much in it anyway".
Colin is a fountain of information but overall found our experience to be a little smothering.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We only stayed for one night, but would have been very happy staying longer.

When I checked in, Colin showed me around a couple of rooms, including one cheaper but with great views out the back door.

As many others have already commented, I got a lot of great information from Colin about the surrounding area.

Great breakfast, nice big fridge for guests - I'd definitely stay there again.

One request - Colin, please warn people if you biscuits have tree nuts!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

This is probably the best accommodations when visiting the Waitomo Caves. The location is perfect and the rooms more than adequate. Colin and Janet are a fund of information and we really enjoyed the less touristic cave tour - Spellbound - that Colin booked for us. It is also reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

This is a clean, friendly and functional hotel in the heart of Waitomo Caves, with the Huhu cafe across the street for somewhere great to eat.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

We stayed here one night after a tour in the Waitomo Caves. This bed & breakfast is a charming and cozy place. The owners (Colin and Janet) were very welcoming and gave us tips on trails to walk and where to go for dinner. Colin even bakes his own yummy cookies and puts some in every guest's room. Our room was comfortable and clean. We had our own private patio right outside our room. Value was ok, we paid $120 NZD/night. Location was right in the centre of town and across the street from Huhu Cafe (gourmet gem in a small town!).

The only downside was that there was no air conditioning so it got a quite hot at night when we were sleeping. We opened the windows and also used the fan that was provided, which cooled us down a bit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Address: 7 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Waitomo Caves village, opposite the award winning Huhu Café and just a short walk to the Waitomo i-Site/Discovery Centre, the Waitomo Glowworm Caves, cave adventure tourist operators, the tavern and pizzeria. 8 quality ensuite studio units in a beautiful, peaceful, garden setting, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waitomo Caves Guest Hotel Waitomo Caves

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.