We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
7 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
kent uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“well recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

This bed & breakfast came recommended by friends who were there last January, and it did not dissapoint.
The room had all requirements plus a great view. Not a huge room but great for a night or two. Janet and Colin made us very welcome in a relaxed and friendly manner. They gave great tips for getting the best out of our stay and were chatty but not intrusive.
Very convenient for the caves and lots of on site parking.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    101
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
188
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

I had read many reviews on here about this guest lodge and I'm glad to say it was every bit as good as I expected it to be! Colin and Janet are two of the nicest people I've ver met-they are like walking tourist information boards and nothing is too much trouble!!! The rooms are lovely, very clean and the one we stayed in had a lovely view. Little touches like Colin's homemade biscuits being put in the room for you arriving make this place a true gem. Breakfast was lovely and there was plenty to choose from. I would highly recommend this guest lodge and would love to go back if we didn't live so far away!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed at this warm and inviting b and b on Christmas and Boxing Day. We found this b and b to be extremely hospitable and accommodating. The hosts, Colin and Jean, were very warm and enjoyable. We had a fantastic little room with a little bistro patio. It had more than enough room for the 3 of us. The room was clean and private and overall welcoming. The complimentary tea and coffee and homemade cookies available in the room upon arrival was a nice touch.
As we were there over Christmas, Colin and Jean invited us to their delicious and plentiful Christmas dinner that was all homemade! It was totally unexpected, but a wonderful surprise after our long drive.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

The Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge was just what we needed. Colin and Janet were great hosts. The breakfast was wonderful, and all the flowers were an added bonus. Although the room was not large for a family of 3, we enjoyed our stay and would go back for a much longer stay. The Lodge is within walking distance of three good Pubs-eateries, and close to the caves.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

This place really exceeded our expectations. We got a really cute room with magnificent views of the beautiful countryside. The hosts were really friendly and they had the most beautiful flowers growing everywhere. This place also offers a pay washing machine/dryer for guests which was a godsend as we were down to our last few clean clothes.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

I have just stayed two nights here and it was fantastic. The rooms are neat and tidy. The bed was very comfortable with nice plump pillows. The "welcome book" has fantastic ideas for activities, food places and personal recommendations on each. The hosts, Colin and Janet are wonderful people and felt very comfortable talking with them. I would definately stay here again. Had a great time and would highly recommend others to stay here too.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver co
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

This was a great location for a visit to Waitomo caves. Room was clean, owners were nice and volunteered good info for the area. Across the street from Huhu's, an exceptional restaurant. Good price and perfect for what I wanted.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Address: 7 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Waitomo Caves village, opposite the award winning Huhu Café and just a short walk to the Waitomo i-Site/Discovery Centre, the Waitomo Glowworm Caves, cave adventure tourist operators, the tavern and pizzeria. 8 quality ensuite studio units in a beautiful, peaceful, garden setting, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Caves Guest Hotel Waitomo Caves

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.