We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
7 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Midlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on the 8/9 november 2012. Colin and Janet are excellent hosts, friendly, welcoming and helpful on activities or things to do in the area. The rooms are spread out over a few separate buildings, we had a room with a double bed and a single bed on the top level of one of those buildings. The room had tea/coffee facilities and lovely homemade biscuits (they didnt last long in our room!), had a little table and chairs and we had our own terrace overlooking the countryside. There are shared fridge and laundry facilities, and a laptop for guest use which is free for checking emails etc. Colin and Janet even loan out towels for use if your trip involves getting wet which is really thoughtful and saves travelling with damp towels. Breakfast is in the dining room, is plentiful and there is lots of choice for everyone. The b&b is opposite the Huhu restaurant which we can recommend eating at, and next to the shop and visitor information centre. I would recommend this b&b, thank you Colin and Janet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for the review. It Is nice to know that guests appreciate what we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    100
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
187
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, England
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a really friendly place to stay. The rooms are arranged on the side of a hill and are all a little bit different. Ours had a small (very) terrace overlooking the road with nice views over the surrounding countryside. There were tea/coffee making facilities provided plus excellent biscuits.
There's no fridge in the room but a communal one in the laundry area. A good quality continental breakfast is included. This is one of the places we would definitely stay at again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thanks for the review. Hopefully we'll see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just like many others I spent only 1 night in Waitomo to visit the caves. The B&B is perfectly located next to the office of Spellbound where I booked my trip and opposite the Huhu restaurant that was on my list to visit for a dinner. My room was quite small with 2 small single beds, but very clean and all you need is there including some home-made cookies. The owners are friendly and welcoming and will give you some tips to enjoy your stay to the fullest. The breakfast is for all guests in same area and is sufficient to start the day with and it is nice to have a chat with other guests. There was a good internet connection that was free for normal use. Waitomo was the only location where I had troubles finding a proper place to stay, and I think this is one of the better options and a good solution for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thanks for the review. I find it hard to accept the 3/5 for value. The room, though small has TV, tea/coffee and ensuite and the cost of $80/single or $105/double including breakfast, would have to be excellent value compared to almost anywhere in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We really enjoyed the stay here and would quickly recommend it to others. My family of 5 were accommodated in 2 adjoining rooms - kids at one end and parents at the other end (perfect). The hosts were very warm and kind, providing everything we needed for a relaxed few nights. Their advice on local activities was perfect - helping us choose the best 'glowworm' option for our family.
Colin and Janet present the place beautifully, inside and out. Rooms were not to be faulted. We were busy exploring the local walks and caves but could have easily sat in the garden and just enjoyed the atmosphere.
Thank you Colin and Janet

Room Tip: Ring them and chat - it's like ringing a friend and they will listen to your needs and help deci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in Waitomo. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Absolutely lovely hosts who gave us some great information about what to do around Waitomo. The place is located really close to the Information centre and Huhu, the best restaurant in town. Stay here. It's nice and homey and you get to wake up to breakfast and nice conversations. We had such a relaxing stay here and would defo stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks for the review. We are central to all activities and eateries in our small village. It is great having guests from all over the world sharing the dining room in the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Firstly, Janet and Colin (and Gypsy the Dog) were great hosts, very friendly and very helpful on Waitomo attractions. The lodge locates next to Spellbound Waitomo Glow worm Cave tour (one of the best in town). There are a few local eating places nearby with very reasonable prices.
Our room was one of the smallest of the lot but the sleep was quite comfortable. The continental breakfast was great. It was like eating at your friend's home.

It was a very good stay at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge.

Room Tip: There are different types of room, just ask Janet and Colin for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks for the review. It is good to hear positives about our smallest, cheapest room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I’ve stayed in the Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge twice this year and absolutely loved it! Colin and Janet are absolutely lovely and made my stay so relaxing and comfortable. What’s not to love about clean rooms, homemade biscuits and marmalade and great company!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks for the great review. It is always nice to welcome returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Address: 7 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Waitomo Caves village, opposite the award winning Huhu Café and just a short walk to the Waitomo i-Site/Discovery Centre, the Waitomo Glowworm Caves, cave adventure tourist operators, the tavern and pizzeria. 8 quality ensuite studio units in a beautiful, peaceful, garden setting, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Caves Guest Hotel Waitomo Caves

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.