We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waitomo Caves Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Waitomo Caves Hotel to your Saves list
Waitomo Caves Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lemon Point Road | RD7, Waitomo Caves 9999, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A fun experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Recently, my husband and I organized a mystery trip for 4 couples and our destination was Waitomo Caves Hotel.
First impressions was "you poor old thing" but hey the atmosphere was amazing and we all enjoyed a wonderful night here.
The staff were great and were happy to take us on a tour of the hotel and relaying stories about the place.
Our rooms were great really considering how old the place is and how run down it had become. It had everything we required, hot shower, comfortable bed and tea making facility.
The hotel is now under new management and they are in the process of trying to restore this lovely old place to some of it's former glory.
Great evening meal from the Restaurant.
So come on everyone call in here and have a night or two. The caves are just around the corner so it is just an easy distance to them.
This great old place needs your support.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    79
    59
    32
    30
See reviews for
51
114
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

There is a lovely old - fashioned air about this hotel, the decor is beautiful and complete with touches like the four poster bed, if a little run down. The new manager and her team have been doing wonders with the place, and you wont find friendlier people anywhere - they go to great lengths to help visitors with advice, a meal or anything else you could possibly think of.

The family room (no 5?) was more like a 2 bedroom apartment and had plenty of space for everyone, and had alot of charm. The price was excellent, especially as breakfast was included.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who values something out of the ordinary, history or likes to be among friendly people.

There are no lifts, so I wouldnt recommend to anyone who cant carry luggage, wants modern facilities, or who cant handle a little disrepair (yet).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We hesitated after reading some poor reviews, but forget them. This hotel gave us the best hotel experience ever. It is being brought back to its original splendour by the wonderful Anna and her staff. They could not do enough for us and we can only say that if you enjoy old-world charm, a hotel manager who is up there with the very best, great staff and superb young cook, then stay here. We will certainly be back. We now regard Anna as a dear friend and know that her endeavours will be rewarded. Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

1st time in NZ and we loved our stay, the house has such old world character, the service was wonderful and the food was great. Anna the manager could not be more accommodating including a personal nighttime tour of the buildings and sharing of stories of the supposed ghosts (friendly of course) from the old days, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, yes, its a work in progress to restore this beautiful structure and rooms...and we're glad we stayed before its all changed... we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Watch this space! My fiance and I love Historical Hotels and have just stayed at the recent tired Waitomo caves Hotel.It has beautiful bones and fantastic potential an an amazing fireplace.
The lovely new manager Anna has already started putting her mark on the place and we will be watching this place evolve and come back to life.
It has a great potential and the friendliness of her team is delightful.
If you like rediscovering old gems look out for this.
I see it as a great break away, a potential conference venue and a tourist icon.
I would support this place while it has a refurb and go take a look.
It is not ready for large groups just yet but if you get a chance check it out in the near future it will be a potential diamond of a place.!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

My wief and i recently had our second stay at this remote old hotel and what a difference a few months makes !! we were welcomed back by the staff and greeted by the new manager . the manager ANNA had a new energy about the hotel that Reverberated into every part of the hotel. The addition of a new chief has improved the food and the rest of the hotel is noticeably cleaner. We will definitely stay there again and are looking forward to seeing the next round of improvements .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

We returned for our second stay, this time for two nights (we wished it could have been more) and were greeted with a smile and a welcome back :) Now under new management, the new manager Anna came and chatted with us when we went down to the restaurant to eat - what an awesome lady !!! The log fire had been made up in the lounge area - a very relaxing spot !! The new chef served beautifully cooked meals with great presentation and good value. Next day, as we were there just to relax after my husbands business trip to Auckland, we just strolled around the grounds, and chatted with the staff, then relaxed on the balcony from our room. The wireless internet connection was good and reasonably priced. The whole place was noticeably cleaner and tidier since our last visit, the windows were gleaming, and the gardens being tended. We are looking forward to our next visit, am sure Anna has great plans for this wonderful old hotel - we will be back for sure !!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waitomo Caves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Hotel

Address: Lemon Point Road | RD7, Waitomo Caves 9999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo Caves Hotel has now upgraded rooms, with Super King Beds, new linen, carpets, curtains, furniture and more. Make the most of a 100 year old hotel with amazing views, comfortable rooms and a charm you won't find anywhere else in New Zealand. With a fine dinning restaurant you can relax and enjoy the peace and quiet at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Waitomo Caves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waitomo Caves
Waitomo Caves Otorohanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waitomo Caves Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.