We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Kiwi Paka!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiwi Paka Waitomo

Kiwi Paka Waitomo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kiwi Paka Waitomo to your Saves list
Kiwi Paka Waitomo
School Road, PO BOX 26, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay at Kiwi Paka!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hostel was just superb. Friendly staff, good food they have their own pizza's which are stone baked and they're lovely. The barman 'Crusty' was a nice guy. The rooms were lovely we had a double room was comfortable and it meant me and my boyfriend could have time to ourselves rather than sharing a dorm. They even have Rugby balls to hire, they sell post cards and things too and they have their own special iced coffees and bacon sandwiches. This was one of my favorite hostels to stay in so thank you Kiwi Paka!

Room Tip: Just stay here you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    27
    13
    18
See reviews for
7
27
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Truly one of the best accommodations I have stayed at during my few months in the country. The rooms are good enough, 2 toilets and showers were ok as I timed it well with the big kiwi bus in town. The bar and restaurant is fun if people are in town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We arrived in Waitomo on the Intercity bus. Kiwi Paka was just a 5 minute walk up a road. The reception staff were prompt and friendly. They checked us in to a twin room when we had booked a dorm as it was quiet :) the room was a good size with small desk and wardrobe space. The beds were comfortable. The shared bathroom was down the hallway and had toilet cubicles and shower cubicles. The showers were good but not too powerful. There was a shared kitchen and living area which we didn't really use. We used luggage store which was good and right by reception.

We also ate in the cafe which was tasty with good service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The property sits on a perfect location, very convenient to the bus stop, hiking trail and to the Waitomo caves. The kitchen is very spacious and clean, the patio has nice view. We booked a private twin. The beds were so bad that my husband could sink in. We asked for a different room. The beds were little better but not comfy. I had to place the towel on the bed or my back will be poked by the coils of the mattress. This property has every thing good except for the beds. .

Room Tip: make sure you check the bed before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Expecting to get a dorm at $30, I was pleasantly surprised to get a twin room. It was very small and basic, but comfortable. Shared bathrooms were clean and warm, and kitchen a good size. Pub next attached was an ok size, and reasonable. Location was nice - within walkable distance of the Waitomo caves. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

One day I got dropped into the Kiwi Paka around noon. The receptionist was not very welcoming and quite unfriendly. I still couldn’t get into my room and had to return after 1pm and had to dump my baggage into a smelly room. Minutes later a Kiwi Experience bus left and about an hour later another Kiwi Experience bus arrived and it was absolutely packed with loud and squirrely backpackers. I then had to wait until I got the key for my room and found a bed which wasn’t that comfy. Also there was only one power box in a bed-dorm of 4 beds. The door in the bathroom banged shut and it was able to hear that in the bed room at the other end of the building. The kitchen was a total mess the evening and of course the next morning as well. Those guys just can’t clean up after themselves or the guide just doesn’t care what is happening to the property and that there are other people who would like to cook or enjoy a meal in a less messy and loud kitchen facility. Therefore I had a cold meal in the room to at least have it reasonably quiet. I won’t stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent 1 night here in a twin room - a nice surprise after expecting to be in a dorm.

The room was OK, very simple but what you expect. We didnt use the bar so can't comment on this.

The kitchen was spacious clean and had lots of utensils to use.

We'd return again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiwi Paka Waitomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Paka Waitomo

Address: School Road, PO BOX 26, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Kiwi Paka Waitomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Paka Waitomo Hotel Waitomo Caves
Kiwi Paka Waitomo North Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwi Paka Waitomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.