We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiwi Paka Waitomo

Kiwi Paka Waitomo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kiwi Paka Waitomo to your Saves list
Kiwi Paka Waitomo
School Road, PO BOX 26, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good hostel and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Like many other reviewers have said, this is a nice hostel and in a good location if you are heading to the Waitomo black water rafting caves. Many tour buses stay here, but it's quiet. Fairly clean bathrooms, decent kitchen (though we ate at Curly's), and beds way too soft, but okay for a night. The layout is a little confusing--hard to find the office, kitchen, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    27
    13
    19
See reviews for
7
27
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed here for one night as part of a tour in January 2012.
The hotel is located in such a nice place, so quiet and peaceful. Not much else around.
I stayed in a room with 3 other girls; the room was located over 2 levels. 2 single beds on the upper level and 2 single beds with toilet and shower on the lower level. The accommodation was very basic but had everything you need.
There is a snack bar on-site, prices were average. Wi-fi is available but isn't free.

Curly's Bar is a 30second walk from the hotel and our group visited here as this was the only thing near-by. Jukebox and cheap drinks meant for a great night! Staff were brilliant and friendly!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Very well run accommodation. My wife and I arrived with Kiwi bus and stayed one night in a chalet which had a nice clean room and comfortable bed. A little more regimented in having to hire plates and cutlery but with the deposit returned on leaving. The kitchen was well equipped and clean. It is on the expensive side of budget accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

This is on the expensive end of budget accommodation but you get what you pay for. We booked a double room which was impeccably clean with a nice bright bathroom and tea & coffee facilities. The staff were friendly, incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about the local tourist attractions and even took care of our bookings and pickups for us.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here as the Waitomo Hotel had "lost our booking" grrrr. Obviously we weren't expecting too much as this isn't what we had booked but we apologise Kiwi Paka, you were excellent! Our Chalet and the site facilites were all very clean and modern and the onsite Pizzeria had great food/coffee and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you Hotel for losing our booking as we very much enjoyed our alternative and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed here for one night with the Kiwi bus. We had a great time, the lodge was friendly, clean, centrally located (well, Waitomo is VERY small) and we slept quite well. Would recommend grabbing a drink at Curly's, the bar just across the grass. Nice place, would recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

this hostel was great has everything you needed, the kitchen was good, had its own bar and food, rooms were nice, bthrooms really good, everything was really clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiwi Paka Waitomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Paka Waitomo

Address: School Road, PO BOX 26, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kiwi Paka Waitomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Paka Waitomo Hotel Waitomo Caves
Kiwi Paka Waitomo North Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwi Paka Waitomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.