We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and Amazing Accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlyn Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woodlyn Park to your Saves list
Woodlyn Park
1177 Waitomo Valley Road, RD7, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF RAFTING & CAVING!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Quirky and Amazing Accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Woodlyn Park is home to the very innovative Billy Black, who out of sheer genius has come up with accommodation that is quirky and fun to stay in.

You can stay in a converted, Train, Plane, a Boat which was being built while we were there, but as far as i know it has since been completed and last but not least a Hobbit Motel.

We stayed in the Hobbit Motel for one night, this place was amazing, it really looked like the house where Frodo from Lord of the Rings lived. It was beautifully decorated throughout. It had an open plan living area with a small kitchen, double bed, a seperate bathroom, a sitting area with tv, a seperate bedroom that had 2 sets of bunk beds.

Billy black gave us a map of the area and torches to go and see some Glo Worms. Check in was smooth and quick, i would really recommend staying here, you can always say you slept at a hobbit motel. It is about 2 miles from Waitomo caves, where there is a bar/ coffee shop.

  • Liked — The uniqueness of the place
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    42
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
53
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

An excellent but different kind of accomodation, there are only four or five units on site - soon to be more as they were adapting a boat whilst we were there. We stayed in one of the hobbit holes, which was very clean, with one of the most comfortable beds we slept in whilst in New Zealand. There is no-one on site in the evening or overnight,but they provide you with torches and a leaflet detailing how to get to the glowworm walk - a must -do, once it gets dark.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

What a find! Woodlyn Park is home to Billy Black's kiwi culture show but also has three types of very unusual self-catering accommodation. We stayed in one of the two hobbit units which are built into the ground and have lots of round windows. Very tastefully furnished with big beds so you feel like a small hobbit! There's one double bed in the main lounge/dining/kitchen area and two bunks in a separate bedroom. The kitchen is well-equipped with cooking gadgets and crockery and the bathroom has a whole wicker basket full of towels. Obviously a lot of thought gone into the rustic curtains and wall decor. The whole place is spacious and clean. It was lovely sitting outside on our terrace admiring the view and peace and quiet - apart from the occasional noise from the resident wild boar, donkey and sheep! At Woodlyn Park you can also stay in a 1950s plane either in the tail end or cockpit or in a railway carriage. They are currently building an extra unit from an old boat which looks interesting. Excellent value for money. Woodlyn Park is also less than five minutes drive from famous Waitomo Caves. I've never read The Hobbit but I still loved my stay in a hobbit hole!

  • Liked — Unusual theming
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

What an experience. We stayed in the train carriage which was great, a bit chilly on a cold night but worth it. The grounds themselves are fantastic, you can see the plane and hobbit motels from the train and also the surrounding countryside is so peaceful. Must warn you if you go out to eat to give yourself plenty of time as restaurants can get busy, else buy some food in and cook in your train. The Billy Black Show is the best ever and really out of this world, a must see. Would definitely visit again. Maybe when he gets the boat in (which is due hopefully).

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlyn Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlyn Park

Address: 1177 Waitomo Valley Road, RD7, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodlyn Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlyn Park North Island
Woodlyn Park Hotel North Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlyn Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.