We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance from Waitomo Caves Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curly's Bar

Curly's Bar
School Road, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Walking distance from Waitomo Caves Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Kitchen open late which was handy as we arrived in town late & very late! Food arrived quickly, good portion-sizes and hot.
Staff were helpful & quick service despite the establishment being really busy.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“curlys bar is O - for AWSOME !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

waitomo is such a small village, but streaming with lovely locals. I went to the curlys bar with a bunch of friends we ordererd beers from the bar and got served by the owner curly himself, he was a lovely man and very humorous. the beer prices were brilliant, we then ordered food the service was great the food was awesome !! the burgers were so ginormous and filling the fries were amazing the atmosphere was spactacular and the view was breath taking. Sitting outside in the sun breathing in the fresh air with a good cold beer PRICELESS ! Maybe other people arn't impressed but this is a great example of fine rural bar hospitality i thoroughly reccomend it !!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“It's a pub”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

We were staying in Waitomo for a couple of nights and chose to go to Curlys Bar for simple pub food. You get good sized portions but you def get what you pay for. Fish and chips were good sized portions but typical fast food fayre rather than anything special. Overall, if you want plenty of food at reasonable prices this would be ok.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“did not taste the food, but service was terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

The caveat top this review is that it was a public holiday and they were the only restaurant open in Waitomo. However, I do not think that excuses them for their horrendous service. My husband and I showed up at around 7pm and order food, we were given a umber and no indication as to how long it would take. There was a lighted number sign that alerted you when your food was ready, when we arrived it was on 8 or 9 and we were 32. So we figure it would be a while. An hour and a half later, the number it on 21 and we hear the waitress telling other customers that they ran out of food and had left to get more. Apparently they didn't feel the need to inform those of us waiting (and starving). After another 1/2 hr we decided to get our money back and leave. When my husband went up to do so the guy was totally UNapologetic and complained that they were slammed because no one else bother to open today. Fortunately we had some pasta we were able to make at our hostel, but I feel bad for those people who had no other choice. I wonder how long they had to wait for their food...
So obviously I cannot comment on the food, but given this experience I would not recommend the place, go to Huhu cafe instead! That place was awesome (went there for lunch the next day).

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Generously Large Portion of Hot Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We ordered fish & chips for 1 person. It was good enough to be shared by two persons. Food portion was large and the restaurant was very airy. Good for family dining in a casual environment. Food tasted good as well.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curly's Bar also viewed

Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 

Been to Curly's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curly's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.