We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable life-time experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waitomo Adventures - Lost World 7 Hr Epic

Waitomo Adventures - Lost World 7 Hr Epic
654 Waitomo Caves Road | Waitomo Adventure Centre, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
+64 7-878 7788
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Abseil 100m into this amazing cavern (like the 4hr option), but wearing a wetsuit - you're heading off to explore the Mangapu river passage. The freehanging descent will astound you but in this option that's only the beginning. Spend the day walking, wading and swimming through the cavernous passages. See giant fossil oysters and whalebones; flowstone, spiders & glowworms. Do jumps, climbs and optional challenges. Includes comprehensive packed lunch underground & BBQ steak dinner. Min age 15yrs. No experience required. Local family owned & operated for over 27years. Qualmark & Outdoorsmark endorsed. FREE PHOTOS OF YOUR TRIP SENT BY INTERNET
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable life-time experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

It was indeed an amazing experience! Incredible views and exciting thrills. You do need to be physically fit and open to new challenges to fully enjoy the trip. For those who prefer to take it easy a few go arounds are available and guides are there to help you out at any time.
My husband and I took the trip in June 2014. In spite of winter time the water did not seem to be very cold. Wet suits make a huge difference and keep you warm. The big advantage of going on the trip this time of year is that level of water is higher so there is more splashing fun!
We want to say special thanks to our guides Flyn and Craig. Attentive guides, tolerable sportsmen/ supermen, great cooks, knowledgeable nature admirers and good guys!
What a way to celebrate a Birthday. Underground!
This was my best Birthday ever! Highly recommended.
Jim and Maria

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    4
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome but challenging experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was the best experience of our two week vacation to Australia and New Zealand. The 7-hr Lost World Adventure is everything it's advertised to be. Our guides (Scott, Gareth and Mr. Scott) we're extremely knowledgable, fun and attentive to everyone's differing needs. This trip is not cheap, but you get two good meals and the adventure of a lifetime. You should also be aware that this trip is not for the faint of heart. The 100 meter abseil is exhilarating but a tad scary if you don't like heights. After you reach the cave bottom you have a long up river hike that includes some rock climbing and challenging maneuvers over the next several hours. You don't have to be in top shape, but you should be prepared for a challenge. Oh yeah and the glow worms are absolutely breathtaking. The bottom line is if you're going to the north island in New Zealand and you want a great adventure and a lasting memory then the lost world adventure is a must do!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is up there as one of the best things i've ever done - TWICE!
The abseil is spectacular, the lunches scrummy and the caving with waterfalls,caldrons,squeeze holes and if you're up for it cave climbs is awesome fun. The guys are great and it's not hard, if you're not claustrophobic and can over come heights for the first part then this is for you! Wade in water, squeeze under large rocks, climb waterfalls and drop 100metre into the earth, what could be more fun?

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We reworked our schedule in New Zealand, and skipped Rotorua altogether so that we could do the 7 hr epic trip. I am so glad we did! We had an amazing time. I myself am claustrophobic and slightly afraid of heights. Still loved it - every minute. If you have the time and money to do the 7 hr instead of the 4 hr - do it. We also hiked the Tongariro the day before, but it didn't effect our day in the caves. The guides, Scott and Allen were great, and got some great pictures. The quality of the lunch and evening BBQ were way better than one would expect. Do not miss this experience!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Surely the best adventure activity in NZ??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The day my partner & I spent doing this amazing trip is a day we will never forget. It certainly was physically challenging & we are both fit - this isn't for people who don't exercise or the faint-hearted!
The 100m abseil was out of this world - scary yes, but utterly thrilling. The guides were so professional and friendly and I did not feel unsafe at any moment. They both checked and rechecked our ropes & harnesses to make sure all was in order and helped make everyone feel confident. The food provided was great, and I particularly liked that they provided a snack half-way through the cave (in addition to the lunch we had after we had abseiled at the beginning) just when energy started to flag.
The caves were outstanding - an added extra was 'Aggro' the eel, who hangs out just inside the cave entrance. He was pretty friendly for an eel! The glow-worms were amazing - we stopped for 10 minutes and all turned off our head-torches, and the ceiling and walls of the caves were just covered in thousands and thousands of these little tiny lights. Beautiful.
I can't recommend this enough; it is without doubt worth the money - I would do the trip again tomorrow if given the opportunity!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waitomo Adventures - Lost World 7 Hr Epic also viewed

 

Been to Waitomo Adventures - Lost World 7 Hr Epic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waitomo Adventures - Lost World 7 Hr Epic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.