We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for people who are in a wheelchair” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruakuri Cave

Ruakuri Cave
585 Waitomo Caves Road, Waitomo Caves 3977, New Zealand
+64 7 878 6219
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Tours, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spectacular Ruakuri Cave is a cave experience like no other. Combine with the Waitomo Glowworm Caves for a unique and magical Waitomo experience. The crystal tapestries and glowworms up close will amaze you. To book, ring 0800 782 5874
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent for people who are in a wheelchair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This cave is well worth the visit. It is specially set up for people who are in a wheelchair with a ramp, pathway running right from the entrance via a spiral ramp down to the ground and all through the cave is accessible on the specially built walkway. The entrance to the cave reminded my husband and I of Get Smart with the special double doors that opened and closed automatically. The natural formations are spectacular, but you must remember not to touch any of the formations because a possible fine of $2,000 for damages could result. The guide we had was very informative of the local knowledge as well.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    48
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We did the 10am session which i was grateful for as we met up with the next group which had a lot more people than ours. We had 7 people which was a good size. The entrance to the caves has a real James Bond feel and is well done. The cave is extensive, varied and beautiful and our guide was very up beat and knowledgeable. I thought it was worth very cent. ps. wear warm clothes!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful caves some glow worms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was a good tour for people with average mobility. We took this tour because my 84 year old mother was with us in a wheelchair. Once in the caves it was fairly flat with some fairly steep ramps. The formations were beautiful but there were not a huge amount of glow worms. The one thing that you should know is that there is a steep circular ramp going down several stories that also mustt be climbed on the way out. This was a challenge to walk for those with limited mobility and pushing the wheelchair up was difficult. However, I am glad that we went and it was the most accessible cave for us. It is a lovely drive from Auckland and easy to find.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We did this tour at the end of June. The cave is spectacular. Tons of different formations coming from the walls and glow worms too. Our guide was knowledgable and interesting. We got to see some of the people doing the black water rafting and I was thankful for being dry, though it was a bit warmer in the cave than outside. We booked this tour in combination with the glow worm cave and I recommend you avoid the glow worm cave at all costs. That was a terrible tour, way overbooked (they seem to allow anyone that shows up to join the tour), couldnt hear anything, and what should have been the best part, the tour on the boat looking up at glow worms was ruined by having to wait 20 minutes in the cave as there were far too many people to all fit in one boat and only one guide. Thankfully the ruakuri cave salvaged what would have been a ruined day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Exceeded all expectations.
We were lucky enough to have a small group and a couple of guides that really engaged us and allowed our kids to feel involved in the experience.
A must-see if you're visiting Waitomo.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruakuri Cave also viewed

 

Been to Ruakuri Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruakuri Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.