We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huhu

Huhu
10 Waitomo Caves Rd, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
64 07 878 6674
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: HUHU Cafe offers visitors to Waitomo the opportunity to sample great New Zealand cuisine in a beautiful setting. We offer a delicious evening menu, perfect for enjoying with a cold one on the sunny deck after a hard day's caving or glow-worm spotting! You can enjoy delicious treats such as Caramelised Garlic & Goats Cheese Tart, Wild Rabbit Hotpot, Organic Rib-Eye, Dark Chocolate Souffle & Poached Tamarillos to name but a few (please note that our menu changes on a regular basis, depending on what we can source from our suppliers). Wherever possible, we use local providers - our lamb comes from farms around Te Kuiti, our cheese from Putaruru & our berries (when in season) are from Piopio. Our wine list consists of a number of great New Zealand wine varieties and our beer list features a selection of boutique beers to whet the whistle! Cosy up by our woodburner during the winter months or chill out on our deck over summer... Have we tempted your tastebuds? Well then, we look forward to seeing you at HUHU sometime soon!
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were so tired, just wanted to eat anything without having to drive, just walk somewhere near to our camp site. We felt so lucky when we sat down and read the menu, so wonderfull things! And then, as the food came: It looked so good! But the best of all was the taste. Delicious. We had slowly cooked lamb with kumara and yoghourt sauce. The desert wine (Lake Hayes "Noble") was also excellent. This meal belongs is one of our best culinary memories from New Zealand.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    124
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reviving Tomato soup after an energetic 4 hours caving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just hit the spot - a late lunch but no problems for the friendly staff. tasty soup and hot coffee. my daughter and I had just been on a 4 hour trip adventuring in the tomos and we had a decent drive ahead of us so didn't want to have anything too stodgy or to wait too long. We enjoyed the ambience of the cafe and the chatty staff. Would definitely return on my next visit to this area. the menu looked very inviting and the view was great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice cozy place and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Went for dinner after the black water caving trip. Nice cozy place with great views. indoor decoration were also unique with art pieces on the wall for sale. We ordered Lamb Shank, Steak and pork. food was great and service staff were polite. they have a nice area for outdoor dining as well however weather was a bit chilling so we decided to stay indoor.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous food; worth the price; everything was good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Everything was delicious. We had five in our party and all had delicious meals and shared bites all around. Go just before or after a glow worm excursion, but it is also worth a special trip. The view is lovely; sit on the deck during pleasant weather.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting for meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had dinner at sunset on the balcony overlooking beautiful scenery and our campsite. Not an extensive menu, but adequate. What they do offer is great quality food and friendly and professional service from the staff in a lovely setting.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huhu also viewed

Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 

Been to Huhu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huhu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.